We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (760)
Filter reviews
760 results
Traveller rating
170
216
177
114
83
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
170
216
177
114
83
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was cleancontinental breakfastfront desk personfresh fruitstaff was very friendly and helpfulwould stay againthe breakfast areaa great staysmall towngreat smokeyannettemountainspetrailroadcherokeeratesfall
Filter
Updating list...
755 - 760 of 760 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 October 2013

My wife and I booked a weekend stay here for a short anniversary getaway and we WILL be going back. Brought her grandparents along (in their 80's) to enjoy the mountains and possibly see some fall colors. We booked through Expedia and requested a handicap accessible room about 4 weeks before the trip. No real problems with that. About a week before leaving we received an email advising us to contact the hotel directly to confirm we would get the accessible room, which we did and were told, "No problem". We arrived at the hotel about an hour before check in and thought we'd see if the room was ready maybe we could check in and unload the car. At first glance, the hotel (only 4 years old) looked dirty. Mold growing on the vinyl siding, spider webs in every corner and weeds growing in the rain gutters. Oh no #1! There was a guy pressure washing the entrance area, so it was fine as long as you didn't look up. We walked inside the lobby, which was spotless, to check on our room. The young man behind the counter was very polite and accommodating, but was struggling to get the computer to cooperate. He explained that it was his first day there and was still learning the program. Oh no #2! He finally found our reservation and we discovered the hotel had NOT reserved a handicap accessible room for us, and they were at capacity for the weekend. Oh no #3! A this point I began sweating my decision to stay at this place. But this was as bad as it got. The young man helping us, who's name is Scott, made a few changes and got us into the accessible room without a hitch. Ground floor and only a few doors from the lobby. An hour before check in time, no problem! The room is ready let me get you a key. We checked out the room before bringing in the grandparents and were again impressed with the cleanliness. No funny smells or sticky carpets, just a good, functional room. So we unload and stretch our legs before heading into Cherokee for the afternoon. While I was waiting I went to the lobby to ask for a few more bath towels. Again, Scott was very polite and accommodating when he told me they were still washing but would have them when we returned. This is when he told me "The Rest Of The Story".
As it turns out, it was Scott's first day at that hotel. His family had just purchased and taken possession of this property the night before(they own multiple hotels around the Asheville area). The previous owner new they were losing the place so did very little to keep up the exterior. No training was provided (or offered) to run the programs for check in, and to top it all off, they took EVERY towel out of the hotel before they left. Scott said they were getting linens and towels shuttled from their other hotels just so the could stay open. I was impressed to say the least! We got back in that night about 10:00 and he was still there taking care of things. I didn't even get past the front desk when he came out with the towels he'd promised earlier. By the time we checked out on Sunday, it seemed they had really gotten a solid grasp on what was going on. While settling up he told us they hoped to have the building cleaned within the next couple of weeks, and they already had a landscaper coming to start working on the grounds. Talk about stepping up to the challenge!
I assured Scott, as I can assure those who are taking the time to read this, I will be going back to Bryson City again and I plan to stay at this property when I go. The price was right, the rooms and lobby were very clean, and the staff was outstanding! I would recommend this hotel to anyone planning a stay in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

What a wonderful hotel! We have stayed here in the past and because of the wonderful staff and hotel experience from then, we chose to go back again. Judy, at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. Very knowledgeable about the surrounding area. Jean, who was working the continental breakfast was a pleasure to talk to! It is always a pleasure to meet such friendly people when you are so far from home. It's like making new friends! The rooms are clean and comfortable also.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAGGIE L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I stayed here for a last minute weekend away in Cherokee. When we arrived the mother and daughter duo at the front desk were very nice. They welcomed us warmly and although my reservation was listed wrong they were able to find it quickly due to the confirmation I printed out at home. (they had my first name as my last name and my last name as my first name). after being given directions to our room they mentioned that if we needed any recommendations for dinner to call down to the desk and they'd be more than happy to help. Well, being that Bryson city is about 15 min away from Cherokee and we had 3 hungry kids who just spent the day sight seeing, we opted to take them up on their offer for dining recommendations. My husband went to the front desk to find a long line of guests trying to check in. After waiting about 20 min he was finally able to get the info on some good eats and was surprised when the girl at the counter had nothing! She plainly and seemingly annoyed said, "there's a pizza place, and a steak place around here...its pretty good, " handed him a Chinese food menu and sent him on his way. She didn't give him phone numbers, locations, or anything you would expect a customer service rep would give a hotel guest. We ended up going back to Cherokee to eat. When we got back to our room we tried to rent a movie for the kids. As advertised they have directv and ordering capabilities. Well not this weekend! Apparently the hotel was between providers and even though we had limited cable, we couldn't rent a movie. The front desk told us they would be back up and running on Monday. Very helpful considering it was Saturday and we wouldn't be there on Monday. Both beds in our room had two very thin, sheet-like blankets, with no real comforter. We sent our son to the front desk to ask for another blanket and they sent him back with two actual sheets. And lastly, the Sunday morning of our checkout I was blow drying my hair (with the provided dryer) and it blew. My husband called down and was told they have no other blow dryers. This was the last straw. I got on the phone with the manager and he continued to tell me that they were at full capacity and had no extra blow dryers, and that some rooms don't even have blow dryers. He told me that they had recently done an inventory of the rooms and a lot of them were missing items due to the previous manager who took them when he/she left. Apparently the hotel was a recent short sale and their entire staff started between that Saturday evening and Sunday morning. This was obviously a fabrication. How could a hotel, at full capacity, switch management and staff in one night. They should not be taking reservations, at full cost, when they cannot provide the amenities or customer service listed.

Room Tip: bring your own EVERYTHING.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews