We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surperb location, great experience and excellent accommodations”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bryson City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
West Oak Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 10 Bryson City B&B and Inns
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Surperb location, great experience and excellent accommodations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed at West Oak for the second straight year. The mountain location is convenient to all the various activities such as the Great Smokey Mountain Railroad, whitewater rafting on the Nantahala River, zip lines, the Cherokee Indian Reservation and Harrah's Casino, antiques shopping and great restaurants. West Oak provides enjoyable accommodations at a reasonable price with a central lodge and adjacent cabins. A great family place or one for a quiet getaway.

Room Tip: The cabins offer a relaxing mountain feel, with patios, fireplaces, tree-caniopied flora along with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben2957, Public Relations Manager at West Oak Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for leaving a review! We always enjoy seeing you here at West Oak and we look forward to your next stay!

Thank you from all of us at West Oak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    4
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
8
8
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hope Mills, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

Went to Bryson City to go on The Polar Express with my grandachildren. Made reservations to stay at West Oak BandB. We had two rooms 4 and 5. My daughter and grandchildren stayed in room 4, it had a queen size bed plus a bunk bed that was in the wall, the kiddos loved it plus it had a full kitchen and a washer and dryer. My husband and I were in room 5, we had 2 queen beds. We could just walk down the hill, a fifteen minute walk, and be at the GRSMR. Mercedith was not there when we arrived but did have everything ready. Would stay again if we ever went back to Bryson City.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigdaddy314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben2957, Public Relations Manager at West Oak Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the rooms you had we perfect for you stay! We hope you do return to Bryson City, and we look forward to you staying with us again when you do!

Thank you,

- From all of us at West Oak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed here for 10 days for a kayaking competition.

Bit hard to find and parking a bit tricky till we found the area by the library about 3 minutes walk away.

We had room 4 which was really well equipped, outside under cover patio, comfy bedroom, fully equipped kitchen complete with washing machine and tumble dyer and a bathroom with a mega powerful shower. Breakfast offered in local cafe but we did our own thing as not too keen on US style breakfasts

Good wifi once we were given a booster (you may have to ask for this). Very pleased with our choice and if we visit Bryson City again this is where we will stay

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankcanoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben2957, Public Relations Manager at West Oak Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
We are glad that you chose West Oak for your stay during the kayaking event, and we hope you enjoyed watching the kayaking and being in the beautiful Nantahala Gorge. We hope to see you again someday, perhaps for another kayaking competition!

Thank you,

- From all of us at West Oak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

The location is fine, the parking lot a problem watch your fenders! The place reminded me of staying with an old Aunt, old things everywhere, shag carpet that looked a bit dingy and not sure just how clean it was! i wouldn't stay here again and I can't imagine why the reviews are so good unless they stayed in the cabin like units. Its an old place with a cool name.

Room Tip: Try a hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank laterbenj B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben2957, Public Relations Manager at West Oak Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us, and that you would not return in the future. We can assure you that the bed and breakfast is spotless, as we take pride in having clean rooms and common areas for our guests. As far as staying with an old aunt goes...we do not see anything wrong with staying with your aunt no matter if she is young or old, and the things that you call old we consider as charming (adding a comfortable home-like fell to our establishment). Again we are sorry that you were surprised by the way our bed and breakfast was set up, because we feel like the pictures on our website and on Tripadvisor give a great view of what our Bed and Breakfast looks like on the inside and out. Our parking situation can be a bit tricky when all accommodations are full, but it is not something that we can figure out a solution for if you have an issue with it.

Thank you,

- From all of us at West Oak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

We booked a room for 4 night stay during IFC World Kayak Championships. We were pleasantly surprised that Mercedith had upgraded us to cabin #3. The cabin was quaint with a very confortable bed and plenty of room for 2 people (it also has a doble bed pull out couch). Very quiet & nestled in the trees. Our only suggestion is to travelers that like to sleep in past dawn, bring eye shades as the cathedral windows are not covered.
Location was great, very close to the heart of downtown Bryson City but away from any traffic noise. We ate breakfast each day at the Everett Street Diner (included) and had great food, great choices & very warm service-by day 2 we felt like "regulars".

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben2957, Public Relations Manager at West Oak Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at West Oak and that you did not mind the upgrade! We hope you enjoyed watching the Kayaking Championships and visiting the surrounding area. The Everett Street Diner is a local hot-spot when is comes to breakfast and we are glad to be able to offer our guests the option of having breakfast there instead of cooking for them! We hope to see you in Bryson City again sometime!

Thank you,

- From all of us at West Oak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

We came across the West Oak B&B by chance for our accommodation in the Smokey Mountains. The owner Mercedith was incredibly kind and went above and beyond to make our stay pleasant. The rooms which our group stayed in, # 4 & # 5, were like cozy cabins.

Some amenities include the following: # 4 offered a kitchen, washer/dryer, a small bed perfect for a child, a queen bed, a private bath, heat & air conditioning, and a grill outside. # 5 offered two queen beds, private bath, small microwave, coffee/tea pot, and a private patio with a fire pit & grill outside.

Stepping outside of both rooms in the morning was a treat as we were greeted with views overlooking Bryson City and the Smokey Mountains. The B&B was within walking distance of downtown Bryson City and within close proximity to many hiking trails, rafting companies, and other attractions.

Highly recommended!

Jay

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

My husband and I loved staying here. We can't wait to come back! It was very clean. The owner was very friendly. It had everything that you needed in it. Including a full kitchen and it even had a washing machine and dryer.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jodiw1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bryson City hotels
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn Bryson City - Cherokee Area
0.2 mi away
Rosewood Inn
Rosewood Inn
#9 of 10 in Bryson City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
3.9 mi away
Lloyds on the River Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Two Rivers Lodge
Two Rivers Lodge
#4 of 10 in Bryson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riverbend Lodging
Riverbend Lodging
#5 of 10 in Bryson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gracey Manor
Gracey Manor
#9 of 10 in Bryson City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Oak Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Oak Bed & Breakfast

Property: West Oak Bed & Breakfast
Address: 101 Fryemont Rd, Bryson City, NC 28713-5668
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Bryson City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Bryson City
Number of rooms: 30

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing