We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“"Tranquility and peace with splendid mountain...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Bryson City, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
michigan1...
Deltona, Florida
1 review
“"Tranquility and peace with splendid mountain views."”
Reviewed 15 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

The cabin was clean, nicely decorated, the beds were very comfortable. All of my guests loved their sleeping areas, as well as the appearance of the cabin and its ammenities. We felt right at home and I loved how when you stood out on the balcony, you heard nothing. Just felt the breeze of the mountain air, and it was so relaxing. Barely watched TV, didn't need to.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That we had a nice porch area with views of nothing but mountains.
Liked least: We had to leave. Would have loved about 2 more days to just hang around the cabin., and not be so rushed.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review Sun Eagle Lodge. We're so glad you enjoyed the view and decor, and that the beds were comfortable. It sounds like you had a very relaxing getaway. We hope you'll stay with us again, and when you do as a VIP Repeat Guest you will receive a 10% discount off any of our cabins.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofiaJara...
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing View”
Reviewed 1 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had so much fun at Sun Eagle; the cabin was just like in the photos, and everything was as advertised. Because it was our first time going to the mountains, we were scared driving there. But then you get used to being up in the mountain. Do not drive at nights because there are no lights in the road.
I enjoyed waking up early, and having my coffee in the upper deck while everyone was still sleeping. Also, I ate every meal outside. The kids loved sleeping ad playing in the loft. I walked every day in the mountain. I even got to see from the deck a deer family going down the mountain.
We called the office in our second day for a small issue in the bathtub, and someone came later and fixed. Wi-fi was very slow, but I was too busy relaxing in the cabin that I didn’t care.
I am coming back, and I’ll request the same cabin.

To do:
• Walk every day in the mountain
• Deep Creek Trail
• Cherokee Town
• River’s End Restaurant
• Asheville, NC (Biltmore Estate)
• Fontana Dam

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amazing view
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2015
Thank you for sharing your memories with us. It sounds like you enjoyed Sun Eagle Lodge very much and are glad to hear it. Mountain roads can be quite an experience! We do recommend that at least the first night guests try to arrive in daylight. There aren't many street lights here, so it can be difficult to find a cabin for the first time. We have an after hours emergency number in case guests are lost, and we provide turn by turn directions from the area to the cabin.

We're so glad we were able to take care of the issue you reported with the bath tub. We would rather take care of any issues as they arise, then not hear from guests and have them endure problems during their stay.

Internet in the mountains is probably much slower than what you're used to at home. It's good for checking email and social media, but not for streaming video or remote desktop access. Some cabins have better internet access than others, so if internet is very important for you then just let us know and we can recommend the cabins with the best internet providers.

We do hope you'll keep us in mind for future vacations. As a VIP repeat guest you'll receive a 10% discount when you call to book.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amy0872
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Spectacular”
Reviewed 11 January 2015 for a stay in November 2014

The cabin meet our needs & more. Sun Eagle was furnished with everything you would need. The fireplace ran out of propane, called the office before heading out for the day & on the way down the mountain we passed the propane truck. Staff called to check on things & we're super sufficient. It even snowed while we were there which made our views even more spectacular. We will be staying there again! Thank you for a wonderful family vacation.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review Sun Eagle Lodge. We appreciate your feedback.

We're glad you enjoyed your stay and that we could "meet your needs and more".
The mountains are breathtaking in Snow, so we're glad you were able to enjoy winter beauty. One of the nice things about this area is that snow typically melts pretty rapidly so we aren't as inconvenienced as other areas might be.

Spring flowers, Lush Summer, and Fall Colors are beautiful too. We do hope you come back and the next time you stay with us you will b ea VIP and receive a 10% discount and expedited booking process when you call to book.
If booking online is easier for you, just let us know and we'll give you a special coupon code to receive the discount online.

If you need help planning your trip, as locals we would be happy to make suggestions for things to do.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
20-years...
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This rental was ideal for our family of 4 with 2 teenagers. We all had a bedroom and bath and the location was ideal. It was quiet, secluded and 10 minutes from town. Would consider renting again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Editorial...
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A piece of heaven in the mountains”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We rented this beautiful cabin for five nights and had one of the most relaxing vacations ever. My husband, his father and our daughter loved the spacious, clean and well-stocked cabin on top of Baines Mountain. The cabin is secluded but not too far from town, and the road is a pretty easy drive, although with no streetlights I wouldn't recommend driving it at night (or in icy weather unless you have a four-wheel drive). There are several other cabins on the mountain but we couldn't see any of them from our cabin, which has a scenic mountain view. Nice amenities, including two master suites -- one downstairs and one in the loft -- as well as a queen bedroom on the main floor, and a kitchen that is stocked to cook basic meals. (A grater would have been nice, but other than that it had sufficient utensils for our needs.) The wi-fi can be a little slow, and some reviewers have noted it is intermittent, but my daughter was quite pleased that she was able to stay connected the whole time. We didn't use the Wii, but it was nice that it was available. If you have kids and plan to spend much of the time in the cabin (and why wouldn't you, with this view?), I would suggest bringing board or card games -- the selection was limited and pieces were missing.
Hot tub was clean and nice, and the gas grill worked fine. The only concern was that a one of the rails on the main deck had a piece that had been broken and was held together with screws at the bottom. It wasn't rickety, but I wouldn't advise leaning on it, and I hope the owners eventually replace that piece.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful cabin with a beautiful view
Liked least: Toilets bubble randomly (septic system);
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Sun Eagle Lodge.

We agree with you that driving at night can be a different experience since there are very few streetlights in the area. We try to prepare our guests with very specific directions and recommend that you arrive during daylight.

During icy weather, these roads are very well maintained. The owner of our company lives nearby on Baines Mountain and helps ensure that the roads are maintained.

Because Internet access is limited in the mountains, speeds are typically slower than other areas and sufficient for light use only.

We appreciate your feedback about the rail, board games and kitchen grater --we've relayed this to the Property Manager so this can be addressed.

Please keep us in mind for your future vacations -- as a repeat guest you will receive a 10% discount when you call to book.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carryon78
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful vacation spot with the family”
Reviewed 5 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We had a wonderful time. Even our teenager without service, which was a blessing. On our second day it snowed and the kids (being from Florida) had a blast!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Apr 2014
Thank you, Gabywily, for taking the time to review Sun Eagle Lodge. We're glad that you had a wonderful family vacation and were able to enjoy the snow.

Please keep us in mind for future vacations-- summer here is a great way to escape FL heat! As a repeat guest you will receive a 10% discount when you call to book.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FL
Reviewed 23 January 2014 for a stay in December 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Jan 2014
We are delighted you had a great time at Sun Eagle Lodge. We hope to see you again very soon. As a repeat guest you will receive a 10% discount on any of our cabins.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing