We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inviting and Peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Calhoun House Inn & Suites
Ranked #4 of 10 Bryson City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gaffney, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Inviting and Peaceful”
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Bryson City has an attractive downtown area with unique shopping opportunities and great restaurants. Although this was our third overnight visit to Bryson City, it was our first stay at The Calhoun House Inn. Ed greeted us upon arrival and kindly offered to assist us with any needs we may have during our stay. The suite was exceptional. Furnishings were attractive, comfortable, and most importantly clean, creating a very warm and welcoming environment. Snacks, breakfast foods and beverages were available in the kitchen area making our stay even more enjoyable. We were pleasantly surprised that "extras" like a hair dryer, soap, and several sets of towels were available for our use. No detail had been overlooked. Each suite also had its own sitting area on the wrap around porch. Our three year old granddaughter was thrilled that some of the porch furniture was "just her size." After visiting Bryson City last year to ride the Polar Express for the first time, we decided we would like to make the holiday excursion an annual tradition. After staying at the Calhoun House Inn, we have decided this will be our "home" whenever we may visit Bryson City. Anyone choosing to stay here will be very satisfied and content. The Calhoun House Inn is a great place to relax and enjoy a peaceful get-away.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lori864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    15
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
42
67
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 December 2012

Calhoun House Inn was the perfect place to stay in Bryson City! Everything in our suite was just as clean as it could be. Our suite was the Prairie Edge Suite. The decor was perfect! We had the opportunity to view the other suites, and each of them was decorated just as beautifully and according to theme. Ed and his wife Shirley provided drinks, bagels, milk, cereal, etc in our room, which was perfect for us. The inn is right in the heart of everything, within walking distance to the best restaurants and the train depot. I just cannot recommend this inn enough! Thank you Ed and Shirley for a great stay!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lwb0317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalhounHouse, Owner at Calhoun House Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 27 December 2012
I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the kind words.
Ed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Litchfield, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

The Calhoun House has modern amenities but maintains the historical inn feel with hardwood floors and woven rugs. Each suite was nicely decorated and the fully equipped kitchen made it easy to prepare our own meals. The scenic train, downtown shopping and restaurants are within blocks. Ed and Shirley made us feel very welcome, even providing snacks and items for our first morning breakfast. Will definitely be back. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank notcarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheaton, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

This was our 4th visit to the Inn. Ed & Shirley have provided Bryson City with the cleanest, most relaxing stay in town. We really enjoy the Prairie Edge Suite with it's gas fireplace. We like to take advantage of the kitchen for some of our meal's, you can stock up on organic foods at the Engle's in town. If your into bicycling you can ride right out of the Inn up the Road to Nowhere, 18 miles round trip, or mountain bike over to the Deep Creek Trails, bring your climbing legs. If your looking for serious single track check out the trails at the Tsali Recreation Area just a short drive away. Andy and Diane at Bryson City Bicycle have trail maps and can hook you up with rental bikes. Already looking forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: All suites are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We stayed for a weekend in the Prairie Suite, and we couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. It was so relaxing and Ed was very accommodating. We went hiking in Deep Creek and enjoyed dinner at Jimmy Mac's. The Calhoun House is very close to downtown Bryson City, so we enjoyed being able to walk to the downtown area and explore the town. The suite was excellent, Very comfortable bed, big suite for a great price, and we were able to bring our dog with us, which can be a difficult combination to find. We would love to come back and stay here again!

Room Tip: Prairie Suite has a fireplace :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Movie Gallery Suite for three nights in mid October, and it was just beyond wonderful! The suite is so comfortable, and the owners stocked it with cereal, milk, hot cocoa, and other snacks and treats making it feel extra home-y. It is a historic building that has been beautifully restored and furnished with an obvious sense of care and love. It was immaculately clean. The location is perfect - the porch has a beautiful mountain view you can enjoy from rocking chairs, and it's an easy walk to restaurants and stores in Bryson City. While we were there, we did the "raft n' rail adventure" on the Great Smoky Mountain Railroad, which I highly recommend. We also did some hiking in the Deep Creek area of the National Park; it was lovely and uncrowded. We drove the Road to Nowhere and hiked some of the trails and explored the tunnel, which was also fun. Overall, Calhoun House Inn & Suites is a perfect place to relax and have fun!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happy_bunny02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalhounHouse, Owner at Calhoun House Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Thank you for the great review. I enjoyed meeting you both while you were here. I hope your home was unaffected by the terrible storm that just came through your area. If we can be of any help, please let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mebane, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Tucked away on a hillside in Bryson City, it is within easy (5-10 min) walking distance of the Great Smoky Mountains Railroad, shopping, and eating. It also makes a nice base for traveling in that region (Cherokee, Blue Ridge Parkway, ect.) The Hosts were helpful and pleasant, and we would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyaskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalhounHouse, Owner at Calhoun House Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Thank you for the nice review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here. Please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bryson City
1.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Bryson City
0.8 mi away
Sleep Inn Bryson City - Cherokee Area
21.0 mi away
Fontana Village Resort
Fontana Village Resort
#1 of 1 in Fontana Dam
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rosewood Inn
Rosewood Inn
#10 of 10 in Bryson City
88 reviews
9.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cherokee Smoky Mountains
7.8 mi away
Nantahala Village
Nantahala Village
#4 of 22 in Bryson City
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calhoun House Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calhoun House Inn & Suites

Property: Calhoun House Inn & Suites
Address: 110 Bryson Ave, PO Box 2, Bryson City, NC 28713-7726
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Bryson City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Bryson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Calhoun House Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious, Affordable, Condo Style, Vacation Rental Suites featuring Private Entrances, Private Baths with Jacuzzi tubs, Fully Equipped Kitchens, King or Queen pillow top beds, long range mountain views, A/C, Fireplace, 2 blocks from the Great Smoky Mountains Railroad train depot and downtown Bryson City, NC and 2 miles from the Great Smoky Mountains National Park entrance. Each Suite is exquisitely decorated in a unique theme with 4 separate rooms; Living Room, Bedroom, Kitchen and Bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Calhoun House Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing