We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay at Deep Creek Cabin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Calhoun House Inn & Suites
Ranked #4 of 10 Bryson City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay at Deep Creek Cabin”
Reviewed 25 May 2013

caveat : this is a review of the cabin located about 2 miles from downtown Bryson City, bookable via the Calhoun House website, not of the Calhoun House Inn itself.

Bryson "City" is probably one of the best places from which to explore the Smoky Mountains area, and the Deep Creek Cabin is nicely located in a picturesque, peaceful area just 2 miles North of it. The only fault I can find with the cabin is that it is so beautiful that one does not feel like leaving it to go out and explore the many attractions this region has to offer!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bongtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    14
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
41
66
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

My wife and I spent a weekend in Bryson City to celebrate our anniversary. We wanted a quiet, peaceful weekend getaway. We found that, and then some, at the Calhoun House Deep Creek Cabin. While not obvious on the Calhoun House website, the Deep Creek Cabin is located a few miles outside of Bryson City, not in town like the inn. Nevertheless, it is a quick, five-minute drive from town. In exchange for that trip, the cabin is more secluded than the inn. We found that seclusion to be very appealing, since we don't like crowds at all.

The cabin is spacious, and fairly well appointed, with two bedrooms and two public areas for watching television or playing games. The upstairs loft has movies and a DVD player, too. The cabin has a very spacious kitchen (for a cabin), complete with full-size refrigerator, stove, oven, dishwasher and microwave. It has a separate laundry room for those extended visits. It also has a nice deck off the back and a spacious porch across the front. If you bring kids, the back yard is huge, and perfect for running around on. Best of all, it is located in a quiet valley with little traffic. We felt entirely alone while there, which is exactly what we wanted.

Gripes are minor. There is no wi-fi (which was fine with me on this occasion), though there is a wired internet router available. The downstairs sofa is a sleeper, while the upstares one is a futon. Neither are comfortable to sit on. Also, in other cabins we've rented, there is usually a selection of games or books. We didn't find any here, aside from some old magazines. We bought a deck of playing cards, and left them for the next family to enjoy. But again, those are pretty minor things overall. Also note that there is an extra cleaning fee for the cabin that doesn't appear until you make a reservation (at least I didn't see it). The cabin was very clean, so I can't complain too much. But it would have been nice to know it would be charged ahead of time. Again, maybe I just missed it.

While visiting, we rode the train in Bryson City, and made several trips for shopping and eating out. For us, the relative privacy of the cabin was well worth the short drive back and forth. One word of caution: be wary of GPS directions to and from the cabin when going east (to Cherokee, for example). Ours took us down a badly-rutted dirt road that paralleled the Tuckaseegee river for several miles, rather than directing us back through Bryson City before turning east. Follow the driving directions on the website, and you'll be fine.

Overall, we had a fantastic weekend. I would definately recommend the Deep Creek Cabin for couples or families. We plan to return one day.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank the_tool_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalhounHouse, Owner at Calhoun House Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Thank you for the cards and the kind words about your stay at our log home. There actually are some games and puzzles in the small closet at the end of the upstairs loft. In the future I will include that information in the welcome packet for future guests. The cleaning fee is disclosed on the log home's web site and in the confirmation box when you first book the home with the online reservation system. However, you bring up a valid point and I have added a description of the cleaning fee at the point where you can actually select the home online. Hopefully this will make it clearer for our future guests. Again, thank you for choosing the Deep Creek Log Cabin for your vacation. I am glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We stayed in the Toy Room Suite which was beautifully decorated, very clean and comfortable. Great jacuzzi tub! No question we would stay again. Just a short walk to the town that has nice restaurants and shops. Very close to the national park.

Room Tip: All rooms are great. Only difference is size and all except the least expensive have dishwasher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s0cialw0rk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock Hill, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We arrived on a Thursday and just as promised by Ed, our suite was ready for our arrival. We were greeted by Shirley, who made sure we had everything we needed. We only used our car once to go to the park because everything else was within walking distance. It snowed on Saturday and Ed made sure all walkways and drives were cleared and salted, and provided brushes and scrapers to clean off our car. The suite was clean and very comfortable. It was very peaceful and quiet. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay through Sunday, and highly recommend the Calhoun Inn. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalhounHouse, Owner at Calhoun House Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Hi Pat, Thank you for your kind words. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and got see some snow while you were here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnton, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We had the best time! Our suite was clean, cozy, comfortable and completely delightful. The view from the porch was beautiful. We were close to everything we wanted to do and left our car parked all weekend. Loved it and plan to return often.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalhounHouse, Owner at Calhoun House Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.-Ed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Ed Ciociola our host was very friendly and helpfull. He when out of his way to make sure the roads were clearn and safe for us to drive. He even check to find where we could find snow for my grandson to play in. Kitchen was fully stocks, best of all we all enjoyed the coco pot. On a cold night it was great to have a hot cup of coco.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grandma720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalhounHouse, Owner at Calhoun House Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 4 January 2013
Hi Liz,
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Please tell me how we might improve our service next time, as we always strive to get a perfect score in every category. Hope you have a happy new year.
Ed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaffney, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Bryson City has an attractive downtown area with unique shopping opportunities and great restaurants. Although this was our third overnight visit to Bryson City, it was our first stay at The Calhoun House Inn. Ed greeted us upon arrival and kindly offered to assist us with any needs we may have during our stay. The suite was exceptional. Furnishings were attractive, comfortable, and most importantly clean, creating a very warm and welcoming environment. Snacks, breakfast foods and beverages were available in the kitchen area making our stay even more enjoyable. We were pleasantly surprised that "extras" like a hair dryer, soap, and several sets of towels were available for our use. No detail had been overlooked. Each suite also had its own sitting area on the wrap around porch. Our three year old granddaughter was thrilled that some of the porch furniture was "just her size." After visiting Bryson City last year to ride the Polar Express for the first time, we decided we would like to make the holiday excursion an annual tradition. After staying at the Calhoun House Inn, we have decided this will be our "home" whenever we may visit Bryson City. Anyone choosing to stay here will be very satisfied and content. The Calhoun House Inn is a great place to relax and enjoy a peaceful get-away.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lori864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bryson City hotels
0.8 mi away
Sleep Inn Bryson City - Cherokee Area
1.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Bryson City
4.0 mi away
Lloyds on the River Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Two Rivers Lodge
Two Rivers Lodge
#4 of 10 in Bryson City
207 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rosewood Inn
Rosewood Inn
#10 of 10 in Bryson City
87 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riverbend Lodging
Riverbend Lodging
#5 of 10 in Bryson City
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calhoun House Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calhoun House Inn & Suites

Property: Calhoun House Inn & Suites
Address: 110 Bryson Ave, PO Box 2, Bryson City, NC 28713-7726
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Bryson City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Bryson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Calhoun House Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious, Affordable, Condo Style, Vacation Rental Suites featuring Private Entrances, Private Baths with Jacuzzi tubs, Fully Equipped Kitchens, King or Queen pillow top beds, long range mountain views, A/C, Fireplace, 2 blocks from the Great Smoky Mountains Railroad train depot and downtown Bryson City, NC and 2 miles from the Great Smoky Mountains National Park entrance. Each Suite is exquisitely decorated in a unique theme with 4 separate rooms; Living Room, Bedroom, Kitchen and Bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Calhoun House Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing