We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go Somewhere Else”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lloyds on the River Country Inn
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Bryson City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2012

This is the worse place I have ever been.
The carpet is filthy, the rooms smell, looks nothing like the pictures( the river does) they should really send the photographer a tip. I really do not believe the comforter was washed....ever.
We went with a group and every room had a bad odor. The maid walked in on people never knocking. Had to knock on doors to find someone to check us in.
Just a really bad place to stay! page says restaurant but its not there.

Room Tip: not available at this location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beth631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCarolinaSeminoleFan, Owner at Lloyds on the River Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2012

We are sorry this guest was not happy with her stay. It's unfortunate she did not take the time to bring to our attention her concerns. We would have fixed the problem, moved her to a different room to her liking, or let her check out with no charges to her card. A hotel can not satisfy a guest if they don't communicate their concerns before they check out.

We will say, we shampoo our carpets on a regular basis, wash our bedspreads and check for odors. Our rooms have consistently been ranked as being exceptionaly clean on Trip Advisor. If you stay with us, you will be satisfied with the price, amenities, maintenance, friendliness of staff, landscaping, and how clean our rooms are. Our housekeeper Glenda, our maintenace man Tim, my wife Debbie and myself, Larry, will make sure you are satisfied or we will not charge you.

Thank You !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2012

I take my son to summer camp every June, and this year we chose Lloyds because of it's great location. It's very close to Bryson City, NOC, and Cherokee. The owner, Larry, was very nice and accomodating, and gave us great suggestions on restaurants in the area. Our room was spacious, clean, and opened up to a very pretty creek/river in the back. If you are on a budget and are looking for a clean, safe place to stay in the mountains, this is it. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cbk1622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Larry at the front desk was very nice. The place is a bit old but kept very clean for the money. I would def stay again....

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank toomuchtravel81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

After our worst night in a camping cabin in Townsed Tn. we drove to Byson City and found this place between Cherokee and Bryson City. It was clean, the owner was friendly and the place was nice sitting on the river. Its not the Hilton, so if your looking for that don't stay here, but it was quiet and had a feeling of home the way it was decorated. It was nice just to sit out back and enjoy thr river flowing. It had grills and picnic tables outside by the river and all you would need for a cozy quiet night and the price was right. I would stay here again. I thanked the owner the next mourning explaining our vacation camping cabin was a nightmare.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank treatert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

My husband was hiking the Appalachian Trail and one of the places we were able to meet up was where Nantahala Outdoor Center has a portion of the trail crossover. We met there and then found Lloyds to stay in while my husband healed up and regained his strength. The Inn keepers were very, very kind. We kept extending our stay and Larry never seemed to mind. It was so peaceful to be able to sit on the rockers on the back porch, listening to the rolling brook going by. Watching people float by on their tubes and watching people wade in the water fly fishing. We were even visited by a beautiful flock of geese that stopped by to feed. I am glad to see that this place is listed on the internet and I wanted to make sure I place a good comment. It's a MUST stay place. Very reasonably priced and in the middle of lots of things to see and do. Cherokee is 5 miles up the road and Bryson City 5 miles the opposite direction. Thumbs up 10 times to this wonderful place. A little piece of heaven on earth.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Constance1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2011

just so wonderful my room was cozy and clean, oh and the back porch with rocking chairs a great veiw on the river could not ask for nicer people that own the place they have the best ice machine, and i cant say enough about the pool one of those old concrete pools that has been taken very good care of very very clean and refreshing just a nice place good location close to town but yet you seem like you are in the mountains cant beat this place for the price i would visit again and agian. very very very nice place

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank keeyma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2011

We stayed at Lloyds in July and found it to be a nice clean hotel.

Reservations are a little shaky as they are a small hotel managed by a husband/wife and can't always answer the phone. We prob had to call 5 times before we got them. They gave us a discounted rate of about $65/night which we thought was an appropriate rate for the room we got. Some other people staying there were paying $89/night. Not sure this hotel is worth that (in my opinion).

Check in was easy. The man at the desk was very nice.

The room was nice and clean. The furnishings were a little dated, but it was nice and relaxing. Our room had two double or queen beds, a TV, a mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker. The bathroom was was a little small and outdated, but it was clean. Don't forget to bring your own shampoo's and hair dryer.

The rooms at the back of the hotel all had porches on them that overlooked the creek. lots of folks back here were using the grills for cookouts. The only negatives of the porches were that none of them had steps that went down to the creek area. You had to go back through the room and walk around the building to get down there. Sure would have been nice just to step off the porch.

They had a nice small old style pool in the parking lot, but we didn't use it.

Verizon cell service was good inside the room here.

The only thing I wished this hotel had was internet access for our laptop. In today's age, most travelers have a laptop or wifi enabled cell phone and would like to use it to look up restaurants, etc or check email real quick. This is a solution that can be added for a few hundred bucks and something every hotel now days should have.


Would we stay here again? Yes. But not for $90/night.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank michael_210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bryson City
4 mi away
Sleep Inn Bryson City - Cherokee Area
0.1 mi away
Two Rivers Lodge
Two Rivers Lodge
#3 of 10 in Bryson City
218 reviews
3.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Bryson City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Rosewood Inn
Rosewood Inn
#9 of 10 in Bryson City
94 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cherokee Grand Hotel
Cherokee Grand Hotel
#23 of 28 in Cherokee
288 reviews
5.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cherokee Smoky Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lloyds on the River Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lloyds on the River Country Inn

Address: 5370 Ela Rd, Bryson City, NC 28713-7871
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Bryson City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Bryson City
Price Range: £50 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lloyds on the River Country Inn has 25 rooms, 15 are directly on the Oconaluftee River with back porches and rocking chairs. All rooms have a unique decor and most are furnished with real handmade beds, dressers and tables made of cherry wood. There are four kitchennettes with the rest having small refrigerators and microwaves. Wi-Fi, in-room coffee service and full cable are provided. An outdoor pool, grills, picnic tables and fishing from our river bank round out the guest experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Lloyds on the River Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lloyds On The River Country Hotel Bryson City
Country Inn Bryson City
Bryson City Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing