We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, cozy Mom and Pop place. *Biker Friendly!!*”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lloyds on the River Country Inn
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Bryson City
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice, cozy Mom and Pop place. *Biker Friendly!!*”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My friend and I came to Bryson City by motorcycle from Jacksonville, FL. I picked this place on reviews AND price. It is in an excellent location for ALL the great motorcycle rides; like the Blue Ridge Pkwy, The Dragon and Moonshiner's Hwy.
This Inn was built in the 1920's, so it has an interesting but fun demeanor. It is in a nice quiet area about 5 miles from downtown.
The beds had quilts and matching shams and were VERY comfortable. We had a table, two chairs, small fridge, microwave and coffee maker. There are grills outside and rockers on the back porch with a great view of the river. The window unit kept us warm and cool as needed, along with ceiling fans. It is too bad the old fireplaces are boarded up, adding an electric one in the rooms would be nice.
The owners are an amiable couple, Larry was on duty and he is full of info about eateries, shopping and events. He also gave me a better deal than the online booking agencies, so worth calling them yourself. Anything you want, just ask. We got old towels from the laundry to dry the bike with, also for use while mining. He gave us directions to town and lots of suggestions for restaurants.
There was NO closet in our room, lots of dresser space, though. The shower was touchy, the hot water seemed to get hotter without warning. The Wi-Fi was sporadic, but they have loads of routers so if one doesn't work, well just try another!!
I enjoyed sitting on the back porch watching the birds and pets across the river after a day of riding.
Quirky charm, but I would stay there again...we had a lot of fun. I like this kind of place, the sterility and poor service at the big chain hotels is such a turn-off for me now.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a view of the river. The porch was awesome, very relaxing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    55
    16
    6
    12
See reviews for
65
70
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I found this place through word of mouth. It is a great little place to stay. No frills but that's how we like it. The back porch, rocking chairs, the river and the geese. Harrahs had a great seafood buffet. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MUNYAJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayce, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Recently my wife of 41yrs. and I took alittle time off from the everyday life in the big city and cme to this quiet little motel ooutside Bryson City,NC. I found this place on the web and it was as good if not better than descibed. The gentleman at the front desk gave us some places to dine and they were great. This place is quiet, peaceful. The back deck with the rocking chairs and the river view is most pleasing. when your in this area. spend a few days that Lloyds on the River.

Room Tip: get a room on the river side...the back porch/deck is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We spent Easter weekend at Lloyd's. Our adult son went with us, our main intention was to fish. OK-we aren't the best fishermen (son did get a good size trout), but this place was super. As others have posted-rocking chairs on (shared) deck are so neat to just sit and enjoy the stream. Also as others have said, it's old but clean. If you want the Ritz-go to the Ritz and pay their prices and enjoy everything they have to offer. If you want a cozy, relaxing no frills place, this is that place you'll want to check out.

Room Tip: We cooked our own meals, so the corner room with full kitchen, lower floor worked well for us. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarInNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Ga.
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We spent 3 nights here to celebrate our 30th anniversary. We will go back for any excuse we can find! Sit down in a rocking chair on the back deck, look at the river and listen to the nature sounds, feel the stress drain away! Very basic, very simple, very clean, and very comfortable!
Great value.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank awdrey2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Love the rocking chairs on the front and back deck. We went to get away with no kids and loved it. Great price and only 4 miles just 2 towns. Owners told us great places to see and a great place to eat called jimmy macs

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pfranklin6144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morganton, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

If you are looking for a nice affordable location you should pick Lloyds on the River Country Inn. Our room was comfortable, clean with reminders from the past. A deck just feet from the mountain stream, grills and picnic tables. Gracious, friendly owners/managers willing to listen and help if asked. Location is half way between Cherokee and Bryson City. No restaurant or hair dryers or phones in the room. We will stay there again, soon I hope. Lee

Room Tip: two floors, I'd choose downstairs with children and for convenience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bryson City
0.1 mi away
Two Rivers Lodge
Two Rivers Lodge
#3 of 10 in Bryson City
210 reviews
4.0 mi away
Sleep Inn Bryson City - Cherokee Area
3.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Bryson City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Riverbend Lodging
Riverbend Lodging
#5 of 10 in Bryson City
34 reviews
4.2 mi away
Ridge Top Motel & Campground
Ridge Top Motel & Campground
#9 of 10 in Bryson City
130 reviews
4.8 mi away
River's Edge Motel
River's Edge Motel
#5 of 28 in Cherokee
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lloyds on the River Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lloyds on the River Country Inn

Property: Lloyds on the River Country Inn
Address: 5370 Ela Rd, Bryson City, NC 28713-7871
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Bryson City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Bryson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lloyds on the River Country Inn has 25 rooms, 15 are directly on the Oconaluftee River with back porches and rocking chairs. All rooms have a unique decor and most are furnished with real handmade beds, dressers and tables made of cherry wood. There are four kitchennettes with the rest having small refrigerators and microwaves. Wi-Fi, in-room coffee service and full cable are provided. An outdoor pool, grills, picnic tables and fishing from our river bank round out the guest experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lloyds on the River Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lloyds On The River Country Hotel Bryson City
Country Inn Bryson City
Bryson City Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing