We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome cupcake”

La Dolce Vita Bakery
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in Bryson City
Certificate of Excellence
Description: New business, just opened up last week in the place of the old Bryson City Bakery that was in the building last year.
Restaurant details
Description: New business, just opened up last week in the place of the old Bryson City Bakery that was in the building last year.
WIlson NC
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Awesome cupcake”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Quaint lil bakery with delicious goodies! We stopped here before riding the train, then again after! ;) It was good enough for a second trip!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank kmfleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianna C, Owner at La Dolce Vita Bakery, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thanks so much for visiting (twice)! We hope you stop by next time you are in Bryson City!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    42
    14
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Bland and Overpriced Bakery Treats along with Poor Customer Service”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We visit NC and Bryson City a few times a year and we usually stay in a cabin for 5 - 8 days. We visited this bakery during our 2 and a half week trip to NC in April and we ordered $33.00 worth of bakery treats and specialty coffee drinks. We ordered inside and sat at a table outside, and when we were ready to leave, I asked the owner if I could use her bathroom. She told me that I could not (Their restroom was not for customers, apparently), and she sent me to a restroom that was next to the railroad station. This restroom facility was closed and one of the people who worked at the train station felt so badly for me, as he didn't have the key to open it. I had to drive to a Shell Service Station and use their facilities. Why would any bakery or restaurant that serves people food and beverages not allow their patrons to use their restrooms? I'm still shocked about this and we will not be back again. The food and coffee drinks are also bland and overpriced and not worth the price you pay for them. Try the Cork and Bean a few blocks away and you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelingshoesbecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianna C, Owner at La Dolce Vita Bakery, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
I am sorry that our lack of public restroom so drastically affected your bakery experience. We are located in a 90 year old building and our staff only restroom is located in a tiny room on the other side of the kitchen. We are not allowed to open it to the public. I am not sure why the town public restroom was closed. They are usually open. I am sorry, but I have no control of this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Delicious cookies but disappointing gelato!”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

We had cookies and gelato at La Dolce Vita. The chocolate chip cookies were big, crispy on the outside and loaded with chocolatey chip goodness. They are a winner! However, the Strawberry White Chocolate gelato was disappointing. I didn't taste much strawberry and the texture of the gelato was grainy, rather than smooth and creamy. Overall, We'll go back for the bakery items, but we'll pass on the gelato.

Helpful?
1 Thank cmpvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianna C, Owner at La Dolce Vita Bakery, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thanks so much for coming in, I am glad you enjoyed your cookies. We make the gelato, in house, with fresh local strawberries. The strawberry white chocolate gelato is one of our best sellers. We do offer free samples of any gelatos prior to purchase so be sure to ask for a sample next time so that you get what you are looking for...thanks and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“What a delight!”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This delightful bakery offers indoor and outdoor seating - that is if you can drag yourself away from the counter! The cupcakes are works of art which made choosing just one that much harder. I went with the triple chocolate cupcake. Yum-o. All the cupcakes are regular size - not the giant size you typically see - and priced reasonably. Along with the cupcake I tried the hazelnut vanilla gelato while my husband tried the salted caramel - both were excellent.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank lahord59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianna C, Owner at La Dolce Vita Bakery, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thanks so much for coming it! I am so glad you loved our little bakery. See you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danvers,IL
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious cupcakes”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The cupcakes were delicious. Very flavorful. We tried Triple Chocolate, Peanut Butter Chocolate, Oreo and Dark Chocolate with White chocolate chips.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IULynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianna C, Owner at La Dolce Vita Bakery, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thanks so much for coming in! It looks like you tried all of my favorite cupcakes! I am glad that you enjoyed them and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Dolce Vita Bakery also viewed

Bryson City, North Carolina Mountains
Bryson City, North Carolina Mountains
 
Bryson City, North Carolina Mountains
Bryson City, North Carolina Mountains
 
Bryson City, North Carolina Mountains
Bryson City, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to La Dolce Vita Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing