We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a Great time!”
Review of Ela Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bryson City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ela Campground
North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Had a Great time!”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We rented a cabin. It had a full size bed and a set of bunks, A/C, mini fridge, microwave, and a cable TV. The TV went out, we let Garth know and when we came back from our day there was a new one in place. Garth was extremely nice and gave us a few tips of where to fish, we didn't catch any, but the place he suggested was great for exploring and we went there two days just to play in the water. Another Host gave us some advice to go to the old farm and we enjoyed another day there. Everyone that we met was friendly and helpful. We were out and about during the day going rafting and exploring and it was about a 15 -20 minute drive to Paddle Inn and to Cherokee. Our son made friends with some of the other boys and they played most evenings. The laundry room and bathrooms were clean. We will definitely go again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaiseyRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    13
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
30
14
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wake Forest, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My family and friends stayed during the 4th of July weekend. We had a party of 13, all of our cabins right next to each other. First, let me start by saying that the cabins were great. They had Tv,AC,Microwave and a small frig. A huge grill is provided for everyone to share. This was a huge plus for us since we like to grill. The picnic area is right next to the pool and there are several tables and chairs for everyone to enjoy. The bathrooms were always cleaned, I personally saw the crew cleaning the bathrooms at least twice a day. My kids enjoyed playing basketball, swimming in the river and jumping in the pool. The staff was very nice to us. We wanted to watch a soccer game during the day and we were allowed to use their TV room, which included a big screen tv, chairs and tables. The owner said we could also use their indoor kitchen if we wanted. Location,staff,cabins,restrooms,activities, were all great. I recommend this campgroun and will definately consider staying next time I am in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnton, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My families experience with this place was very disappointing because the website is not all true. theres no cable no game room ants all over cabin. the owners or mangement kids was very rude to younger kids and was bullys toward them that upset my kids because they hate bullies. The tv in the room that didnt work the channels would change back and forth so we couldnt watch tv. Everyone has to share a grill not enless you bring your own you dont have a charcoal one.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tosha Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula B, Owner at Ela Campground, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
These guest never spoke to us or our employees about anything being wrong the entire time they were here and wait until they left to complain on the web. All I can say is that not everyone is going to be happy all the time but our goal is to correct any problems when and if they are brought to our attention. The guest never even said a word when they turned in the key and left, so I wonder why they would wait until they leave to be so negative and complain, The most difficult complaint to understand is about the children of the management or owners, my employees and my children were gone this entire time of their visit, it is untrue and so disrespectful to speak about children on the web in complaining about a business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I need a quick get away! We had so much fun. We rented a RV on the river. It was very clean and everything in working order. We had so much fun fishing off our deck. We love how friendly the staff was... A great place to have some fun!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deltona, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This was an excellent place to stay, We rented a cabin that was on the river, what a beautiful view we had every day. We would open the window and fall asleep to the rushing sound of the river!!

The owners were very helpful and very nice! we plan on coming back in October
for another mini- vacation, very reasonable prices also.
Thank you Paula for making our trip even more enjoyable!!!!

Room Tip: We highly recommend the cabins overlooking the river!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherryd665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

If you are expecting to commune with nature and enjoy an outdoor experience, forget this "campground." The website is very misleading. This is not a campground, but a trailer park. As the permanent trailers move out, the empty spaces left are rented for short term campers. The sites are packed together very closely so that there is absolutely no privacy, not even 4 feet between each site. POSITIVES about our experience: our site had a deck overlooking the beautiful river; there were trout in the river and we didn't need a fishing license; we could rent tubes for $5 for 24 hours to tube in the river; the bath house had hot water for showers; the campground was relatively quiet; the permanent residents were very friendly; the pool was clean; there was a large gas grill under the pavilion for campers to use, along with rocking chairs and a swing; there was a well stocked camp store; and the campground location was very convenient to Cherokee, Bryson City, and Nantahala Gorge.

Room Tip: Definitely pay the extra to get a site on the river with a deck. The river is the best part of this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The property is located on a beautiful river. However about 90 percent of the Riverside campsites are taken up by permanent rv's covered by carport style building. This would be okay if the sites were farther apart. But the river side sites are so tiny we were literally 4 feet from the "RV" home on one side and the camper on the other. No privacy at
all.
The owners were friendly and responsive. The scores of permanent campers were friendly; lots of kids for our children to make friends with. The $5 all day tubing was great.
On Sunday the bathrooms were dirty. I applaud the owners for going to church on Sunday, but if you're going to take my $$ on Sunday, then please pay someone to clean the bathhouse.
Great piece of property close to Cherokee but not sure I'll ever stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bryson City
0.3 mi away
Lloyds on the River Country Inn
0.2 mi away
Two Rivers Lodge
Two Rivers Lodge
#4 of 10 in Bryson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
3.8 mi away
Sleep Inn Bryson City - Cherokee Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 28 in Cherokee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
5.7 mi away
Great Smokies Inn
Great Smokies Inn
#14 of 28 in Cherokee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
3.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Bryson City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ela Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ela Campground

Property: Ela Campground
Address: 5100 Ela Rd, Bryson City, NC 28713-7869
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Bryson City
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Bryson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a great place to go camping in the Smoky Mountains? Whether you are traveling with a tent or in a motor home, you'll love the quiet, shady Ela Campground & RV Park beside the Tuckasegee River, midway between Bryson City & Cherokee NC on US 19. We offer Year round camping, cabins, primitive camping sites, tent sites, motorcycle friendly campground, RV Rentals, Group Rates. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing