We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY NICE CAMPGROUND”
Review of Ela Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bryson City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ela Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We have been coming to Ela campground, this is the 8th year. The management and staff have gone out of their way to make my stay pleasant.
I have no complaints at all, I just love it there. The park is clean, the grounds are kept up, the showers & bath house is clean.
Everyone is ready to help if you need them. Management and staff are always working to improve the park.
If you want to enjoy a vacation or just 1 or 2 days this is the place to come, young and old alike.
This is our favorite place in the mountains.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay on river.
Country style family camping,
Which was safe, comfortable,
A few miles from gas, convenience stores and eight miles from restaurants. We will be back. Nice tubing down from
Campsites to end of campground. Friendly staff and clean restrooms.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cmccac2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We rented a cabin. It had a full size bed and a set of bunks, A/C, mini fridge, microwave, and a cable TV. The TV went out, we let Garth know and when we came back from our day there was a new one in place. Garth was extremely nice and gave us a few tips of where to fish, we didn't catch any, but the place he suggested was great for exploring and we went there two days just to play in the water. Another Host gave us some advice to go to the old farm and we enjoyed another day there. Everyone that we met was friendly and helpful. We were out and about during the day going rafting and exploring and it was about a 15 -20 minute drive to Paddle Inn and to Cherokee. Our son made friends with some of the other boys and they played most evenings. The laundry room and bathrooms were clean. We will definitely go again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank DaiseyRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My family and friends stayed during the 4th of July weekend. We had a party of 13, all of our cabins right next to each other. First, let me start by saying that the cabins were great. They had Tv,AC,Microwave and a small frig. A huge grill is provided for everyone to share. This was a huge plus for us since we like to grill. The picnic area is right next to the pool and there are several tables and chairs for everyone to enjoy. The bathrooms were always cleaned, I personally saw the crew cleaning the bathrooms at least twice a day. My kids enjoyed playing basketball, swimming in the river and jumping in the pool. The staff was very nice to us. We wanted to watch a soccer game during the day and we were allowed to use their TV room, which included a big screen tv, chairs and tables. The owner said we could also use their indoor kitchen if we wanted. Location,staff,cabins,restrooms,activities, were all great. I recommend this campgroun and will definately consider staying next time I am in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My families experience with this place was very disappointing because the website is not all true. theres no cable no game room ants all over cabin. the owners or mangement kids was very rude to younger kids and was bullys toward them that upset my kids because they hate bullies. The tv in the room that didnt work the channels would change back and forth so we couldnt watch tv. Everyone has to share a grill not enless you bring your own you dont have a charcoal one.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tosha Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula B, Owner at Ela Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

These guest never spoke to us or our employees about anything being wrong the entire time they were here and wait until they left to complain on the web. All I can say is that not everyone is going to be happy all the time but our goal is to correct any problems when and if they are brought to our attention. The guest never even said a word when they turned in the key and left, so I wonder why they would wait until they leave to be so negative and complain, The most difficult complaint to understand is about the children of the management or owners, my employees and my children were gone this entire time of their visit, it is untrue and so disrespectful to speak about children on the web in complaining about a business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I need a quick get away! We had so much fun. We rented a RV on the river. It was very clean and everything in working order. We had so much fun fishing off our deck. We love how friendly the staff was... A great place to have some fun!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This was an excellent place to stay, We rented a cabin that was on the river, what a beautiful view we had every day. We would open the window and fall asleep to the rushing sound of the river!!

The owners were very helpful and very nice! we plan on coming back in October
for another mini- vacation, very reasonable prices also.
Thank you Paula for making our trip even more enjoyable!!!!

Room Tip: We highly recommend the cabins overlooking the river!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sherryd665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bryson City hotels
3.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Bryson City
3.8 mi away
Sleep Inn Bryson City - Cherokee Area
3.8 mi away
Relax Inn
Relax Inn
#7 of 10 in Bryson City
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Rosewood Inn
Rosewood Inn
#9 of 10 in Bryson City
96 reviews
0.2 mi away
Two Rivers Lodge
Two Rivers Lodge
#4 of 10 in Bryson City
219 reviews
9 mi away
Lakeview at Fontana
Lakeview at Fontana
#2 of 10 in Bryson City
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ela Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ela Campground

Address: 5100 Ela Rd, Bryson City, NC 28713-7869
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Bryson City
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Bryson City
Price Range: £14 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a great place to go camping in the Smoky Mountains? Whether you are traveling with a tent or in a motor home, you'll love the quiet, shady Ela Campground & RV Park beside the Tuckasegee River, midway between Bryson City & Cherokee NC on US 19. We offer Year round camping, cabins, primitive camping sites, tent sites, motorcycle friendly campground, RV Rentals, Group Rates. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing