We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CABIN D”

The Cabins at Nantahala
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bryson City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Cabins at Nantahala
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“CABIN D”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We stayed in Cabin D. Cabin D has no Kitchen in it. It's like a hostel, there are a bunch of rooms and restrooms. Everyone is assigned their own restroom to share. In the room I was given , my restroom was in my room. My room also had a small little patio. My room had two queen sized beds and it had a ladder that led to a smaller bed near the ceiling. Hikers come and go and every one is very friendly. I will be visiting again with my family for sure. The outdoor center is beautiful and well worth the money.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaclyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Naples, FL
Level Contributor
267 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed here with a group of 14 guys. We spent several days hiking, tubing and rafting. The cabins are a few minutes from NOC and a convenient drive to GSMNP. The manager Joe was very helpful in making rafting reservations and suggestions.

The cabins were clean and secluded, although the driveway up was a bit intimidating for a bunch of Florida boys. :-)

I will definitely stay here on my next visit to the Smokeys!

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

Perfect place to stay! So close to the noc.. And just a short trip to bryson city. We had the whole grounds to ourselves and loved spending time outside cooking and enjoying a fire every night. Wonderful vacation and I highly recommend. They have options for every size group and budget!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rocknreconstruct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edenton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
151 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

About a month before Thanksgiving, my wife decided she wanted to go to the mountians for the holiday rather than stay home. So, it was a mad scramble to find a place that we could afford that still had room. I searched all over the web, and finally I found these cabins. The price was still a bit steep, but with the 15% discount for staying 4 consecutive nights 10% discount for signing up for their mailing list, it came to only $85/night. We stayed in the 1 BR Chatooga. It was a nice cabin with enough room for the 3 of us. My son slept in the loft. The cabins are actually small mobile homes that have been covered with wood siding and a better roof. The bed was comfortable, the heat worked well, as did all of the appliances (gas stove/oven, microwave, toaster, fridge, coffee maker), except the TV. They had sattelite, but it was quirky and took forever to fix after I screwed it up somehow. There are dishes and silverware and a few cooking utensils, but I recommend bringing a frying pan and any other special utensils you need. The drawbacks-no chest of drawers for the bedroom or upstairs (they could put one in the living room since there is no room in the loft), TINY hot water heater-only one medium length shower before it gives out of hot water, and the "visitors" that came when it got really cold. I am not sure if they were mice or squirrels, but they were having a party in the walls one night.

There is a decent store at the corner of US 19 and Wesser Creek Rd. NOC is just a few miles up the road, and Bryson City is about 20 minutes east. Great location for rafting, hiking, biking, geocaching, or train riding. Limited dining choices in the winter, but we'd rather cook our own, so that didn't bother us. The surrounding neighborhood is mixed. What do they say about the mountains? Rich enough to get there or too poor to leave. Mean dogs up Dills Mill Rd. However, if you go up Wesser Creek Rd., it dead ends at a Forest Service parking lot where you can access the Wesser Creek Trail. Plan at least 6 hours to get to the top and back.

These cabins are not fancy, but were very good for what we wanted-a reasonably priced family getaway to the mountains.

Room Tip: The Chatooga is close to the road, which means more traffic, but it is more accessible in inclement...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fourester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We spent three days here and it was excellent! It didn't cost much and they give you a nice discount for all the rafting attraction near it. The cabins are nice and have all the required things for a long stay. The owner is quite friendly too and provides charcoal and such for fires and BBQ's.

Main Points
+ Great cabins, nicely furnished with plenty of room
+ Low price and discount at some attractions
+ Friendly owner and Great place for campfires
+ Great location too with lots of trails and attractions near it
- No cover outside the houses (Can't stay outside while raining)
- Lots of bugs and mosquitos got in the cabin

Room Tip: Choose one of the cabins that has a bathroom and shower as not all of them have one and public showe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marius333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grayson, Georgia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

My family has stayed at NOC three different times in the last several years and had a wonderful time on each visit. It is very reasonably priced, can accommodate any size group an is set just off the scenic Appalachian Trail. Amazing and affordable retreat!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GBWeible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bryson City
10.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Bryson City
9.8 mi away
Sleep Inn Bryson City - Cherokee Area
13.7 mi away
Lloyds on the River Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Two Rivers Lodge
Two Rivers Lodge
#3 of 10 in Bryson City
207 reviews
22.0 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
644 reviews
12.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Robbinsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cabins at Nantahala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cabins at Nantahala

Property: The Cabins at Nantahala
Address: 299 Dills Rd, Bryson City, NC 28713-8168
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Bryson City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Bryson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the lush forest of the Nantahala Gorge, The Cabins at Nantahala are close to everything you want to see and do in the North Carolina mountains. Enjoy whitewater rafting, hiking, mountain biking and fishing. Visit Great Smokies National Park or take your motorcycle for ride on The Dragons Tail. Ideally located one mile from the Appalachian Trail and the Nantahala River. Make The Cabins at Nantahala your vacation retreat at the Nantahala Gorge! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing