We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved The Service and Entertainment!”

Great Smoky Mountains Railroad
Ranked #2 of 30 things to do in Bryson City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A 52-mile rail journey through valleys, inside winding tunnels and across spectacular gorges of the Great Smoky Mountains.
Mebane, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved The Service and Entertainment!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My husband and I decided to take the train ride to Dillsboro.....Since we had Crown Class, we were allowed to go to the open cars, which I'm glad because it was freezing In crown class....There wasn't much in Dillsboro, not what I was looking forward to....our attendant Vince was awesome...We enjoyed talking to him on the train and when we arrived back in Byrson City....I can't remember the guys name that sang and played the guitar, but he was great!! Very nice and very entertaining...I would take another train ride, but probably the Gorge....I do wish there was another route back to the depot....it did get boring on the way back....

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,051
    498
    270
    162
    120
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunnellon, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Dream Train Trip for Kids”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We have been on many trains, but this was our first long trip. Beautiful scenery into the Nantahala Gorge. We had a gondola- open air car and could stand up, walk around to both sides. Great for kids who can't sit still. The closed cars didn't seem to have our boisterous friendly atmosphere. Get their BBQ lunch ad-on cause you can eat on the train and it's cheaper than the captive-audience eating areas on the stop-over in the Gorge. Great Trip!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank adventuresofmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing and enjoyable but not for Teenagers”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We did the Nantahala Gorge excursion and enjoyed the scenery but kind of boring for the teenagers. We upgraded to first class with the meal and it was just mediocre. Bill and Shana were our attendants and they were both very friendly and very informative.

Helpful?
Thank Kari K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
110 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Smokey Mountain Railroad”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I took the Carolina Shine train that went to the Nantahala Gorge along side the big gorgeous river. We sampled 7 different moonshine flavors ate a good portioned bbq lunch which included slaw, baked apples, cornbread and a big slice of pie. Non alcohol drinks are include in the price of about $98.00. We also received a large embroidered tote bag, a shot glass and a travel coffee cup. The conductor told us information about the train and scenes as we rode. We stopped for about an hour where you can watch people in kayaks, shop an outdoor shop, and eat at a restaurant or get a quick bite. Bathrooms are available. It was an enjoyable activity. I would do it again but ride another train on a different route.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank TripMember06172016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle Rock, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Great Experience back in time Turned Sour in an instant”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We rode aboard the Moonshine Car and began with the perfect host, classy and professional conductor, John. We saw great views, awesome food...then on an instant it was gone.
A tattooed young man named Kyle strummed a song or two, told off-colored jokes, then seemed frustrated when no one had a birthday he could sing for...then sung a song about genitalia.
Another employee then entered and asked everyone something to the effect of whether or not we enjoyed (the genitalia song). We said NO.
We don't usually complain but we were advised to take this trip after a nice Dillsboro excursion aboard the same railway.

Make sure everyone at a classy establishment is on the same Page and has some class.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Tessa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMR, Manager at Great Smoky Mountains Railroad, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
We sincerely apologize for the experience that you had on our train ride. The actions of these employees is being addressed and it does not reflect our standard of performance.
In regards to your trip, our General Manager will be in touch via your contact information that is listed in our reservation system. We are taking this incident very seriously and again apologize for the behavior.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Great Smoky Mountains Railroad also viewed

Bryson City, North Carolina Mountains
Bryson City, North Carolina Mountains
 
Bryson City, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Great Smoky Mountains Railroad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing