We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm hospitality in the Smokies”
Review of Folkestone Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Folkestone Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Bryson City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 23 June 2011

I was lucky enough to spend two nights at the Folkestone Inn over Father's Day Weekend. The room (Back Roads and Overlooks) was beautifully appointed, and small but very comfortable. I especially loved the comfy bed, the private porch with rocking chairs, and the claw-footed bathtub - great for a long soak after a whitewater raft trip. Breakfast was spectacular, with perfectly cooked eggs and bacon, and waffles with raspberries from the garden.

Steve and Eva Clayton are gracious hosts who anticipate just about any need a guest might have. For example, there is a large refrigerator for guests carrying food with them. They even rose to the occasion when a major storm knocked out their power at the front end of my stay. I had been scheduled to spend three nights there, but the inn was still closed and without power when I arrived. The Claytons were very apologetic, and quickly made a reservation for me at an inn across town. I was delighted when their power came back on, so that I was still able to spend two nights with them.

Room Tip: Lovely porch view in
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaRev1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
There are newer reviews for Folkestone Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2011

The Folkestone Inn was actually the best spot for exploring the Great Smokies we could have chosen and one of the best B&B's in the US and Canada we have been to so far. The innkeepers are very friendly and helpful, the house is gorgeous and very well appointed. Breakfast was delicious. Several trails of the Great Smokies start one mile ahead of the inn, so you skip driving to the overcrowded park entrance. For rainy days, a lot of board games are provided, internet, tea and coffee are at hand all during the day. We can only recommend this spot!!! Thank you again, Steve, Eva, and Robin, for three wonderful days! Bridget and Rene from Germany

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ziongirl73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

Hospitable innkeepers, Steve and Eva, plus attentive staff person, Robin - nice break from the everyday - country fresh air on our own private porch - pleasant beflowered grounds, sprinkled with places to sit awhile and watch nature - a nice beginning to each day, with home cooked breakfast items, like strawberry crepes - environs close to musical venues in Franklin and Stecoah.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoldTrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

The rooms are small, but nicely furnished with attention to detail. The grounds have a nice wooden swing in the yard, nice azaleas and iris, and a good view form the rocking chairs on the front porch. However, that is because there are very steep stairs to the front door, as well as a narrow steep staircase inside. The breakfast was nothing special; scrambled eggs with cheese, sausage, home fries and a grape salad. We came to hike and breakfast didn't start until 9 am They must have cooked for each table at a time, since it took a while after that to get our food. We couldn't leave to go hiking until about 9:45 am. Since we wanted to hike a long trail in the Park, this made for a late start. We explained this in person and asked to have breakfast earlier the next day, a Monday morning. The owner rather rudely turned us away. We asked if we could even have part of the breakfast, thinking we could AT LEAST have gotten juice. However, he said "NO, OUR STANDARD TIME FOR BREAKFAST IS 9:00. " He never even said he was sorry our schedule wouldn't work out. We see only 1 other car here in the parking lot, so it doesn't seem like he would be terribly inconvenienced by our request. The owners are not friendly, or

Room Tip: go somewhere else
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper44, Owner at Folkestone Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2011

Yes, we do have steps. The inn was a 1920's era farm house and there are 7 steps to the front porch. If you stay on the balcony level, there is a flight of normal steps to reach it. If you stay on the main level, there are no steps after you reach the front porch. Every guest chooses their own room where they want to stay, we do not choose for them. This particular couple chose a room on the BALCONY LEVEL, so, yes, they did have more steps.

As for the people asking for an early breakfast, the gentleman rang our night, emergency bell at 9:00PM. Said "I have a question, can we get an early breakfast tomorrow?" I said, "probably not, our standard time is 9:00AM." He did not say anything about just getting juice. The man turned and stormed off saying "we probably won't be there". Did not give me a chance to say anything.
I would like to say first and foremost that we can and have accommodated special requests if we can have some notice. This person wanted me to change course at 9:00PM for breakfast the very, next morning. My wife is the chef and she has certain things she has to take care of on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday mornings from 6:45AM until apx 7:30AM and she returns about 7:40 AM. That particular Monday morning, our assistant and Housekeeper was off for 2 days. She is our back-up cook if we need her. Had this person told us of their wish to have an early breakfast 24 hours or so in advance, we could have made other arrangements. BUT, WE WERE NOT INFORMED UNTIL 9:00PM THE PREVIOUS NIGHT.

We must point out that all of our reviews on Trip Advisor as well as other sites, are either EXCELLENT, or VERY GOOD as evidenced by others before this one.
Which goes to prove that you can't please everyone all of the time.

We are sorry for this unfortunate incident.

Steve and Eva Clayton
Owners/Innkeepers
Folkestone Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

We stayed here to do some walking in the Smoky Mountains and couldn't have been nearer - right next door to one of the National Park entrances. A beaurtiful lodge house with lovely gardens and very welcoming hosts. Everything you might have needed had already been thought of by the hosts Steve and Eva including freshly baked cookies every afternoon. And the breakfasts were fantastic! An excellent stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolmfalcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2010

My husband and I truly love going to different B&Bs when we travel. This year we had the good fortune to choose the Folkstone Inn. The surroundings were beautiful. Our room was spacious and well-appointed. We enjoyed the quiet atmosphere and the hosts were extremely accomodating. The breakfasts were yummy and suited the season well. We hope to make a return trip in the near future!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dealem1146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2010

We stayed here for a couple of days in the summer. It's within walking distance of the Great Smoky Mountain National Park with waterfalls, hiking trails, and minutes from many high adventure sports. It has a charming, provincial setting with pleasant farm-house rooms. The staff is cordial and the food is excellent! This spot is highly recommended for a one-night stay, a weekend getaway, or longer.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theonemule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bryson City
2.3 mi away
Sleep Inn Bryson City - Cherokee Area
2.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Bryson City
3.5 mi away
Two Rivers Lodge
Two Rivers Lodge
#3 of 10 in Bryson City
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Lloyds on the River Country Inn
6.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Cherokee
Hampton Inn Cherokee
#3 of 28 in Cherokee
698 reviews
8.2 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Folkestone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Folkestone Inn

Address: 101 Folkestone Rd, Bryson City, NC 28713-7891
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Bryson City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Bryson City
Price Range: £98 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Folkestone Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Folkestone Inn is a quiet, tranquil setting for guests seeking solitude and peace. Our beautiful, rural location, a quarter mile from an entrance to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park is a gateway to some of the most beautiful hiking trails, waterfalls, flora and fauna in the Southern Appalachians. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Folkestone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Folkestone Hotel Bryson City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing