We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort in the country”
Review of Folkestone Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Folkestone Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Bryson City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Comfort in the country”
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We stayed here as a base for exploring the Smokies and it was the highlight of our week long holiday to North Carolina. The owners were really friendly, the hotel was very well equipped with everything from a computer for guest use to corkscrews and the breakfasts started with a dessert! The B and B had plenty of rocking chairs and stoves and a great Halloween display so it felt cosy yet had all the comfort of a chain hotel. It was very well situated for walks in the Smokies, the Great Smoky Mountain Express and Dollywood.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Light and Shade room at the front overlooking the garden and it was lovely to wake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katyajv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    23
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
26
166
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harlingen, Texas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2012

This was our first time at Folkestone Inn, but we have known Steve & Eva for years. Loved our room and the breakfasts were fantastic. We were able to get a four day weekend over the Labor Day weekend 2012,and we had a wonderful stay. The pictures do not show all the beauty of Folkestone Inn, and the grounds. The front porch was our favorite place to just sit and relax. Being from South Texas the weather was beautiful Western North Carolina is such a beautiful location for this Inn. We will be back for another stay in the near future. Thanks Steve and Eva.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Kentucky, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We were traveling through Bryson City on our way to Cherokee, NC and just happened upon Folkestone Inn. Didn't have a reservation but were so fortunate Steve & Eva had a vacancy! What a beautiful place. Our room was so comfortable, the breakfast delicious, the grounds and front porch so inviting, and Steve & Eva felt just like family! We had planned to stay only one night but ended up staying THREE nights! Probably the most relaxing place we have ever stayed. Everything was perfect....we will be back!

Room Tip: All rooms on the main and 2nd floor are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoschton, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
321 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Stayed at this B&B for two nights. We were fortunate to get the only bedroom with a king-size bed which is also on the main level of the inn. This room is spacious with a private bath and entrance plus a Celeste fireplace. It has a sitting area with 2 wing-backed chairs. Bathroom has a claw-foot tub with shower. Grounds are lovely and spacious and the setting is quiet. Hosts are very gracious. Breakfasts are yummy and plentiful and served table-side.

Room Tip: The claw-foot tub may be difficult for some elderly folks to get into because of the high sides. Sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Saint Joe, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Earlier this month about 14 of us reunited at Folkestone Inn. When we used to spend our summers, as children & young adults with our grandparents, it was in that home, long before anyone ever thought of making it an Inn. The memories were so special, as were our hosts, Steve & Eva, along with Robin. We brought our old photos & they also had some to share. They were extremely accommodating & helped make us really & truly feel "at home". Our breakfasts were varied & delicious...their Texas hospitality really did shine through. If you're ever in Bryson City area, please plan to spend a night or two with them...you'll really enjoy it!! Will send a photo later. Sharon & Mick

Room Tip: If you love nature, a room with a spacious balcony would be ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We just spent 5 beautiful days at the Folkestone Inn. The inn is at a great location for hiking, white water rafting, driving into the mountains and is even a short hour & a half drive to Ashville. Then there are the delicious breakfasts! We ended up staying an extra day we were having such a relaxing time. Eva & Steve are wonderful hosts and made us feel at home. We can't wait to go back!
Katie & Ray Woods

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parrish, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

I've written about 90 tripadvisor reviews, and even with the places I like alot, I usually find something I don't like. I couldn't find anything that I didn't like about Folkestone Inn. The setting is perfect. Quiet, pastoral and scenic, but only a few minutes from Bryson City or the Smokey Mountain park. The place looks like a vey nice old farm house, perfect for a B&B. Our room was large, well decorated, clean, comfortable and had a private deck. Steve and Eva are mostly out of sight, so you feel like you have the place to yourselves. Eva cooks a wicked breakfast. We had a banana turnover this morning that was wonderful. Good thing I can't have those every day.

There's a lot do do in the area. Tubing, rafting, hiking, shopping... I know that we will visit Bryson City again, and we'll be staying at the Folkestone when we do.

Room Tip: Only one room with a king bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ParrishGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bryson City
2.3 mi away
Sleep Inn Bryson City - Cherokee Area
2.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Bryson City
21.3 mi away
Fontana Village Resort
Fontana Village Resort
#1 of 1 in Fontana Dam
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cherokee Smoky Mountains
6.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Cherokee
Hampton Inn Cherokee
#3 of 28 in Cherokee
674 reviews
1.6 mi away
Calhoun House Inn & Suites
Calhoun House Inn & Suites
#4 of 10 in Bryson City
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Folkestone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Folkestone Inn

Property: Folkestone Inn
Address: 101 Folkestone Rd, Bryson City, NC 28713-7891
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Bryson City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Bryson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Folkestone Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Folkestone Inn is a quiet, tranquil setting for guests seeking solitude and peace. Our beautiful, rural location, a quarter mile from an entrance to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park is a gateway to some of the most beautiful hiking trails, waterfalls, flora and fauna in the Southern Appalachians. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Folkestone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Folkestone Hotel Bryson City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing