We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you need anything... don't ask for it at Folkestone!”
Review of Folkestone Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Folkestone Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Bryson City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The server, Robin was very unaccommodating and so were the owners (I later spoke to Eva also)... I asked for milk to drink with my breakfast. It was just "No we don't serve or keep milk". When I asked if milk would be available the next day for breakfast, both owner and server said no. There is a sign in the bedroom that says, "If you need anything... please let us know"... it should add, this way we can just say "NO". I was asked when making reservations if there were dietary restrictions, I indicated I could not eat peppers. When breakfast was served the second day, I smelled peppers and asked Robin what was served for breakfast, she indicated Western Omelet which included peppers. I asked if I could get it without peppers and she said no as it was already mixed. Finally, I had to insist that I had told them about the peppers and she said she would check in the kitchen, she came back saying they would fry me two eggs. You don't pay those prices for a supposed good B & B, that should have special breakfasts and get two fried eggs. They could have made one omelet using all other ingredients leaving out the peppers. It was almost... too bad, you can't eat what everyone else eats... so eat this! Not like the attitude I have seen at any other B & B.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PattiGiraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve C, Owner at Folkestone Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. In the first place, Robin has been with us for 5 years and not one person has ever said that she was anything BUT extremely accommodating and helpful I, Eva, never spoke to this woman. Our website clearly states that we serve a hot beverage and juice with breakfast. We do not normally keep milk because we mostly use real cream and half n half. Most people that drink milk bring their own. We do not use 2% milk. This person made her reservation online and did not speak to us. She did not put anything under "Special Needs" where most people tell us if they are allergic to anything or do not eat certain things when making a reservation online. (She was also asked at check-in about food restrictions and said nothing) She told us that morning as she was being served that she did not eat bell peppers. She DID NOT get two fried eggs as she stated. She asked for two scrambled eggs, well-done and that is what she was served, along with the starter, sides, bread and breakfast meat, and, she ate everything. Regardless, we stand by our ratings and all our other reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
There are newer reviews for Folkestone Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2013

This Inn is truly a gem! Steve and Eva were wonderful hosts during our stay and were very helpful with information for the area. Our room (Tunnels & Trestles) was so cozy and comfortable. The Inn was very quiet and the meals were fantastic. Very centrally located to downtown and the entrance to the National Park as well as a tubing facility. We will definitely be returning again. Thanks for a wonderful 4 day stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

What a wonderful four-day-weekend! We went away for our Anniversary and my birthday with some of our dearest friends; What a blessing it was! We stayed at the Folkestone Inn, looking for a reprieve from the daily grind of technology, work and worries. All I can say is we found it! Clean, Classy and Quaint Sophistication, with gourmet breakfasts is what this B&B is all about! Whether your visit is for a 'couples' stay or friends who want to get away, this is the place to go! We reserved the 'Stems & Petals' room and our friends stayed in the 'Backroads & Overlooks' room. We loved the attention to detail how the owners related each rooms theme to the name. Clawfoot bathtubs, comfy robes in each, and or our rooms had it's own personal porch... a wonderful place to enjoy a cup of coffee or tea (available at the serving station located near the breakfast room) to help you wake up as the sun crests over the trees and shines on the front lawn. The owners, Eva and Steve are wonderful hosts and Robin, their hired genius, made our stay even more enjoyable. We are so blessed to have been able to do this 'once in a lifetime' trip, and so delighted we picked the perfect place to stay! Thank you, Folkestone Inn for being our weekend haven and sanctuary on earth. Thank you, Lord for all you do for us! HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the 'Stems & Petals' room and our friends stayed in the 'Backroads &...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

Steve and Eva are great. They catered to the finest detail and that made our stay special. The breakfasts' were
excellent. The room was well themed and i enjoyed coming back to a made bed and clean room. The views were amazing.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whitcalgal15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

My wife and I have stayed here on several occasions. We have experienced the grand hospitality of the owners and staff on each and every occasion. The rooms are delightful, not haughty. The food is excellent and this mountain gem is nestled at the trail-head of a georgious mountain park. If you like nature, need to relax, or just want a break from the real world, this is the place that will fit the bill. We higly recommend. Our next stay is booked for a Thanksgiving feast, see you there!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony for lots of fresh air and a good view
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LakeNormanTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We were met at the door by the owner and given a tour of the Inn, he is very nice and the place is very clean and looks beautiful. Its in a nice quiet place out in the country, overall a beautiful setting for a B&B. Our only complaints were very low water pressure and no AC. We had a good breakfast and met some very nice folks staying at the Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Patiodadio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve C, Owner at Folkestone Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

We thank this guest for this review. We admit that there was an issue with the water pressure when this guest stayed with us. Our water comes from a deep well. Our pressure tank was faulty and a new one was on order. It arrived the following day and the problem was resolved.

As far as NO AC, all of our rooms have individually-controlled central air conditioning and heating. Perhaps the guest did not turn the switch to the ON position. We had a full house that night and there were no other complaints.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

What a great five-night stay at the Folkestone. Steve and Eva thought of everything to make our visit a wonderful and memorable experience. A clean and cozy room with attention to every detail.
And did we mention the breakfast? The best we have experienced at ANY B and B to date. Green, lush surroundings and quiet evenings to unwind from the day's activities.

Very close to downtown Bryson City, with a great variety of shops, restaurants and coffee houses to explore along with the Great Smoky Mountains National Park literally right up the road.

Thanks again Steve, Eva and Robin for making our vacation the best.

Vickie and Bryon Wine

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bryon w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bryson City
2.3 mi away
Sleep Inn Bryson City - Cherokee Area
2.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Bryson City
3.5 mi away
Two Rivers Lodge
Two Rivers Lodge
#3 of 10 in Bryson City
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Lloyds on the River Country Inn
6.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Cherokee
Hampton Inn Cherokee
#3 of 28 in Cherokee
698 reviews
8.2 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Folkestone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Folkestone Inn

Address: 101 Folkestone Rd, Bryson City, NC 28713-7891
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Bryson City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Bryson City
Price Range: £98 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Folkestone Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Folkestone Inn is a quiet, tranquil setting for guests seeking solitude and peace. Our beautiful, rural location, a quarter mile from an entrance to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park is a gateway to some of the most beautiful hiking trails, waterfalls, flora and fauna in the Southern Appalachians. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Folkestone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Folkestone Hotel Bryson City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing