We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved our stay!”
Review of Folkestone Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bryson City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Folkestone Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Bryson City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Augusta, Ga
1 review
“loved our stay!”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This was our first b&b experience and we absolutely loved it. We stayed in the Stems and Petals room. It was lovely and the porch was so peaceful. Breakfast was very good. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The innkeepers couldn't have done a better job. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eandrews2203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    22
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
23
149
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed for 3 nights to do some day hikes, both right next to the Inn that is about 10 minutes walking distance to the Deep Creek Trails, and plenty of beautiful hikes along the AT within about 45 minutes. We stayed on the main floor, in the Backroads & Overlooks room that has a small shared, private porch onto the gardens. Most of the time we ended up on the beautiful spacious front porch. The top floor rooms have balconies and are very nicely decorated. We loved the friendliness, quiet, and good breakfast in the morning.

Room Tip: Stay on Main or Top Floor. Ground Floor rooms have low ceilings and are not as inviting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sancho L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We called at the last minute to make a reservation, after we changed our traveling plans. Steve graciously provided a room for us, and a delicious breakfast the next morning. We stayed in one of the lower bedrooms, and the ceiling was very low. If you are over six feet tall, don't choose one of the lower rooms! The grounds are lovely.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower level have very low ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conniethemagni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2014

A peaceful B&B with owners who understand the right balance of taking great care of you but respecting your privacy and not being intrusive. Steve and Eva were gracious hosts, our room was very clean and comfortable, and the breakfast each morning was amazing! Very convenient to hiking, biking, the Nantahala River, and the awesome little town of Bryson City. Before this weekend trip, I told my wife that I was not a big B&B kinda guy. That has now changed!

Well done Steve and Eva.........we'll be back!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Barry Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randleman, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2013

This trip was very special to us since it was our honeymoon. The husband and wife team were extremely friendly, curtious and helpful. The food each morning was excellent and we had such a great time. The weather was awesome and the rooms were clean and comfortable. We will stay again in the near future. Thanks again

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsport, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This inn, in the quaint little town of Bryson City, NC, is the perfect getaway. Our room was spotless, our bed was very comfortable, and breakfast was "WOW" every morning. The proprietor, Steve, anticipated our every need, but was also unobtrusive and we felt relaxed in this home. The grounds are lovely and we look forward to returning when we can sit outside and enjoy the gorgeous scenery. Absolutely no complaints. Stay at Folkstone, you won't regret it.

Room Tip: There are no televisions so the inn is quiet. Our room was very close to the common area and still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2pickytravelers1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The rooms were clean, the food was average...great location..that is about all I can say. The Innkeepers covered the basics but nothing above. A husband and wife team are the Innkeepers. We met the husband upon arrival and only again to ensure payment the day before our departure. We never met the wife...nor did we get a "thank you, come again, hope you enjoyed your stay..etc." upon leaving. We inquired about activities in the area and the Innkeeper had nothing to offer..not having done any of the activities we asked about he really could not comment.
Breakfast was offered at 9:00 a.m. with no accommodations for early risers...unless of course you told them a day in advance. During breakfast they ran out of coffee and had to make a 2nd pot...really??? during breakfast you don't have a 2nd pot ready?!?! Then when the coffee was ready they did not even bring it to us...they just said..'coffee is ready..go help your self'.
It is ALL about the details...and they just don't get it. They did not even know we left when we did and we do not think they even cared. they received their money, filled a room for 2 nights and made their guests feel as though the Innkeepers were the customers. They need a bit of help with the details.

Room Tip: if you want a B&B experience don't go to Folkestone Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve C, Owner at Folkestone Inn, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review. We are sorry that you were not happy with your stay at Folkestone Inn. We provide you with a clean, comfortable room, a hot table side breakfast, complimentary hot tea, coffee, hot chocolate, various snacks, bottled water, bathroom amenities, robes, free Wi-Fi, computer for guests use, guests refrigerator with ice, concierge service, two libraries. These are not "basic" services and are above and beyond. Someone will greet you upon check-in and give you a tour of the house and show you where everything is including show you to your room. As far as collecting the balance on your stay, you are asked if you want to take care of it then or at time of departure. These women came in the day before their departure and offered to settle their balance.
When we are full, we are very busy cleaning the kitchen after breakfast and prepping for the next morning which usually takes about 3 - 4 hours. We are also trying to check people out and getting ready for the other people to check-in. Plus cleaning rooms and fluffing stay-over rooms. Unfortunately, sometimes we do not have time to go out and entertain or talk to the guests until that evening. One evening, I did hear my wife ask these two women if they were comfortable with their room or if they needed anything. And their response was they were fine.
The majority of our guests prefer the 9:00 breakfast, coffee is set up on the buffet between 7 7:30 a.m. My wife does all the cooking and if anyone wants an earlier breakfast we make other arrangements for them,and, yes we do need to know in advance. As far as a 2nd pot of coffee(!!???)... we had 14 other guests that morning and that was probably the 5th or 6th pot of coffee during breakfast. We don't usually make another pot after breakfast unless someone request it. We most definitely do not have a problem making a "2nd" or 7th pot of coffee, for that matter. Yes, the coffee station is self-service.
As far as activities in the area, we are familiar with most but, no, we usually do not have time to do everything. We have brochures on all the activities in the area and will offer what information on the activities we are familiar with.
Most of our guests usually leave right after breakfast and they will ask the server to come get us or they come to the kitchen. As far as a saying "thank you and come again" we didn't know they were leaving until we saw them driving off. They left without a word to anyone. .
Regardless, we stand by the other 99.7% satisfied guests. It is our job to make certain that you are comfortable and have everything you need and that you enjoy your stay. We are here to provide you with a service and we want you to make "yourselves at home". We do not like to make anyone uncomfortable by "hovering" over them. We are available at ANYTIME and we will do whatever we can, for any reasonable request. Most of our guests understand that as innkeepers we are not always available to "entertain" but are available at anytime for anything else. The majority of our guests enjoy their privacy or the camaraderie of the other guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bryson City
2.3 mi away
Sleep Inn Bryson City - Cherokee Area
3.6 mi away
Lloyds on the River Country Inn
3.5 mi away
Two Rivers Lodge
Two Rivers Lodge
#4 of 10 in Bryson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Bryson City
1.8 mi away
Rosewood Inn
Rosewood Inn
#9 of 10 in Bryson City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
8.2 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Folkestone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Folkestone Inn

Property: Folkestone Inn
Address: 101 Folkestone Rd, Bryson City, NC 28713-7891
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Bryson City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Bryson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Folkestone Inn is a quiet, tranquil setting for guests seeking solitude and peace. Our beautiful, rural location, a quarter mile from an entrance to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park is a gateway to some of the most beautiful hiking trails, waterfalls, flora and fauna in the Southern Appalachians. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Folkestone Hotel Bryson City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing