We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”
Review of Folkestone Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Folkestone Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Bryson City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 13 November 2006

This was the first B&B stay for my wife and I. The property is immaculate and the Breakfast is gourmet quality. I noticed that they had achieved a 100% on the health dept. inspection certificate, which I very rarely see. There is a small library ,as well as snacks, beverages and a microwave and refrigerator for patron use . The inkeepers are very friendly and knowledgeable on the history of the area as well as hiking trails etc. The three basement level rooms are available for under $100 and were very nice.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Bronek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

257 - 262 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2006

Great location is only one of the attractions of this small and quaint B&B. We loved the room, tho it was a bit humid. The decor was fun, and the sofa bed a big plus since the queen bed is a bit cozy for us. The breakfast kept us going for miles on the Smokies. We loved the grounds, with so many places to relax and hang out. The owners, Peggy and Kay, are nice and helpful. We wish we had more time to spend in the Smokies! But we hope to be back.
One little problem for me was the clawfoot tub. It's a tall tub and for a short person it is not ideal.

Stayed: June 2006
2  Thank gunnercade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2006

My husband & I stayed in late October and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The accomodations were clean, and the breakfasts were great! We absolutely love the Smoky Mountains and this place is right there. The view from the front lawn is beautiful. Everyone was friendly and helpful, even the cat! We've stayed in one other B&B (in FL) that was larger (more rooms), but this one was more quaint & had a ton of information on day-hikes, and things to do in the area. We definately want to return!

Stayed: October 2005
3  Thank OuttaTheOffice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2005

The Folkstone Inn is a wonderful B&B located w/i walking distance of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. The staff are superb and the breakfasts are fancy enough for foodies but large enough for folks who plan to really hike in the park. Set on beautiful well-kept grounds the inn is a joy to come back to after a shopping trip through nearby Sylva, NC, or a full day of whitewater rafting down the Nantahala River about ten miles away..

Stayed: September 2005
3  Thank Christopher_Tabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2004

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed three nights at the Folkestone Inn. This was our first B&B experience, and we didn't want to leave! Some of the best things about the 1920s farmhouse were the banana French toast, Pat who made the chocolate chip cookies, Geri who served breakfast, Frankie the brown calico cat, hummingbirds feeding on the front porch, the majestic Norway spruce trees, playing Upwords in the game room, the very comfortable bed, friendly guests, and the cheery dining room. With the Deep Creek area of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park just a quarter-mile away, this is the perfect place to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life. We didn't even mind not having a TV. Can you tell we plan another visit?!

  • Stayed: October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank jblwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Rock Hill, SC
15
Reviewed 17 June 2004

This is the most excellent B&B my husband and I have ever stayed in. The innkeepers are exceptional - very friendly and helpful. So many extras - cookies, iced coffee, nuts and snacks all day long! Breakfasts are wonderful. And you feel like your room is so private - in your own little world. I loved it!!!

  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bryson City
2.3 mi away
Sleep Inn Bryson City - Cherokee Area
2.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Bryson City
3.5 mi away
Two Rivers Lodge
Two Rivers Lodge
#3 of 10 in Bryson City
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Lloyds on the River Country Inn
12.2 mi away
Best Western Plus River Escape Inn & Suites
9.2 mi away
Nantahala Village
Nantahala Village
#7 of 23 in Bryson City
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Folkestone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Folkestone Inn

Address: 101 Folkestone Rd, Bryson City, NC 28713-7891
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Bryson City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Bryson City
Price Range: £100 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Folkestone Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Folkestone Inn is a quiet, tranquil setting for guests seeking solitude and peace. Our beautiful, rural location, a quarter mile from an entrance to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park is a gateway to some of the most beautiful hiking trails, waterfalls, flora and fauna in the Southern Appalachians. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Folkestone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Folkestone Hotel Bryson City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing