We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Italian slop.....not even real Parmesan cheese”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Pregos

Pregos
Ranked #5 of 219 Restaurants in Burlington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New York
Level Contributor
199 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Italian slop.....not even real Parmesan cheese”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

This restaurant is kind of the only game in town...there isn't much around....Food is mediocre at best.....but really Mozzarella was not Buffalo.....tasted like rubber.....but the real bummer was the Parmesan that...well....I'm not really sure what it was...but it was white cardboard....inexcusible!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Snowbunny91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    47
    9
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“The smiles win the day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Restaurant has a solid menu and provides daily specials that are exceptional. The wine list is acceptable, medium priced. Food, service and prices are a good value. The owner is a chef, delightful fellow... I think from Ecuador. You are greeted with his smile at the door and you can look forward to great experience with each visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just rude”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Food is pretty good. Owner just rude.....called for reservation and accidentally dropped my phone and lost connection. I called back and was read the riot act for hanging up on him. I tried to explain but was rebuffed and would not accept my reservation. I have never been back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, North Carolina
2 reviews
“The best restaurant in Birlington. Our favorite.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

The menu selection is always tasty and changes often. We feel at home. The staff is very attentive and courteous.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Italian Food in Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Excellent food and service. The soft shell crabs (when in season) are the best I've ever eaten. All fish dishes are cooked to perfection and the pasta dishes that are on the specials board have always amazing.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MertzSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Pregos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing