We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Hospital: Overall good options with a few noted exceptions”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Burlington (Elon)
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Burlington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Indianapolis
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Close to Hospital: Overall good options with a few noted exceptions”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We were there due to a family member being in the hospital. The location of the hotel is very convenient to the hospital-- about 4 minutes drive away.

CON: The food in the breakfast is low quality even though the variety was high. Quality service of front desk varied from great to horrible -- inconsistent.

PRO:The housekeeping manager was friendly. Location to hospital. Several restaurants/eateries in the area. (Extra Tip: Mellow Mushroom is yummy.) We enjoyed the suites space and amenities and the beds were very comfortable!

My Experience: We experienced helpful service from Gretchen during our stay but did come upon a hiccup of rude service at the front desk with Nora. When we told her the hot water wasn't hot and asked her how to get hot water for some tea she told us she was busy and copped an attitude. When my mom apologized for upsetting her (which she really didn't need to apologize), Nora replied that she was very busy. I confronted her, telling her that if a hotel offers a service and it doesn't meet the expectations, no matter how busy you are, there is a way to speak to your guests. I offered that she could have at least told us that she would get right on it just as soon as she finished her tasks. We weren't unwilling to wait and our expectations were not prissy. Nora apologized to my mother but it really stuck in my mind that the hotel needs to know about her horrible service for coaching opportunities. I will say that she apologized but it still upset me because my family was in town because a family member was dying. This was an opportunity for compassion and empathy for a guest to be displayed to deliver WOW service-- but instead human compassion was zero and it was just salt in the wound.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountrySuites, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Burlington (Elon), responded to this review, 5 September 2013
We apologize for the disappointing service you received from an associate. Our team works hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and receive our best service. You can rest assured that the issue with the desk associate has been addressed. Should you have additional concerns, please contact the hotel, 336-584-1115, and ask for Michael.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    89
    23
    8
    3
See reviews for
189
45
27
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. It was very clean and the TV ware new. Best free breakfast ever! The room was outstanding. Staff was very professional. Worth the money. Top notch. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a road trip from South Carolina to Virginia. We received a warm welcome and had a very comfortable and spacious room for the night. Yes it is close to the traffic but it didn't really bother us. Plenty of eating options nearby, we chose to have food delivered to our room which came very quickly. The location meant that we were off and running on the next leg of our trip within minutes of checking out so all in all, very convenient.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Oh boy was I pleased to see a clean room and a shower with great water pressure! I asked for a room in the back away from the interstate and had a much needed restful nights sleep in a comfortable bed. The breakfast included scrambled eggs, sausage, potatos, fruit, all the standard continental style breads, cereals, and juices. I'd stay here again if I find myself back in Burlington. Added bonus- lots if shopping and restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FSUSeminole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Largo
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We stayed at this hotel from June 5-9. Check-in was simple and the staff was so friendly. This hotel was recommended by my daughter and was our first experience staying here. We could not have been happier. This two room suite enable both my husband and myself to each watch our own television program. There was plenty of room. The king bed was really comfortable. Breakfast was great each day and I so looked forward to the strawberries and cantaloupe. There was plenty of shopping nearby at Alamance Crossing and numerous restaurants. We enjoyed this so much we stayed at another Country Suites in Brunswick, GA. Will definitely recommend this hotel and plan to stay here again at our next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rtrdpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

All accommodations were suites. This hotel was older but very well kept and clean. The breakfast was upper scale continental. There were. A variety of choices. The beds here very comfortable. A very pleasant stay. Staff was very nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RossieWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I always stay at hotels in the Carlson group because I get points that I can use to pay for other stays. I've stayed in Country Inns and Suites all over. This one was the BEST of all! Nice little city near Greensboro, NC, nice quiet neighborhood, and a beautiful, immaculate hotel! This one only has suites...but the prices are the same as the others. I should have taken pictures. My room had a living room area with a pull out sofa bed and a nice flat screen TV...about 32in. Little kitchen area had a nice fridge and a microwave. Bedroom had a comfortable king bed with another flat screen! No noise at all.

Everything was so clean and smelling so good. Bathroom immaculate! I just can't emphasize that enough. Cleaning staff was polite and helpful. All front desk personnel were pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was waaay better than 'at home'! Bacon, eggs, waffles, juices, cereals, muffins, bagels. Not sure if there was sausage. Four kinds of coffee...just AWESOME!

I won't be staying here again because I'm visiting my friend--I'll be visiting my friend again so I can stay at this hotel!

Room Tip: I was in room 324 but I'm sure they are ALL superior!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamaicaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Burlington hotels
0.9 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Burlington
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Burlington
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Burlington
Courtyard Burlington
#4 of 15 in Burlington
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burlington
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Burlington
Best Western Plus Burlington
#5 of 15 in Burlington
439 reviews
3.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Burlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Burlington (Elon)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Burlington (Elon)

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Burlington (Elon)
Address: 3211 Wilson Dr, Burlington, NC 27215-9734
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Burlington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Burlington
#2 Business Hotel in Burlington
#2 Family Hotel in Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Burlington (Elon) 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Burlington (Elon) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Suites By Carlson, Burlington Hotel Burlington
Country Inn Burlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing