We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical Surprise”

Alamance Battleground State Historic Site
Ranked #3 of 27 things to do in Burlington
Attraction details
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Historical Surprise”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The battleground and museum were a very pleasant surprise. Sitting on a country road, some 4 miles outside of Burlington, I anticipated a civil war site with some form of memorial. Much to my surprise, the battleground precedes the revolutionary war and is famous for the "Battle of the Regulators". The grounds are well maintained and the small museum had an excellent video program depicting the significance of the sit and battle. It was well worth the stop and time.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank 60somethinghiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    11
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
139 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nice park, great staff and a wealth of knowledge”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Looking for a rainy day activity for my family and visiting sister and brother-in-law, we decided to visit Alamance Battleground State Historic Site. We went expecting to learn about a minor Revolutionary War battle. After 20 years in North Carolina, you would think I knew more about our history. The Battle of Alamance occurred in 1771 between militia loyal to the Governor and the Regulators. Some argue it was the first true battle of the Revolution (I'll let historians debate that one).
The park is small, only about 40 acres, but accounts for the entire battlefield. The small visitor center houses a few displays, a small gift shop and a theater that allows visitors to learn about the events leading up to and the battle. The film was made by PBS and is well done. The site also includes a country cabin/house from 1780 that was relocated to the site in the 1960's. The staff opened the house for our visit and allowed us to see the kitchen garden growing out side. There is also a self guided tour with signage to explain the locations.
The best part of our visit was the staff. They were friendly and knowledgeable. They took the time to answer all our questions and to explain the historical significance of the site. We truly enjoyed our visit and appreciate that these sites remain free for visitors.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Dmaerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The pages of history come alive”
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We visited the historic battleground of the Battle of Alamance which took place in 1771. My fourth g. grandfather was one of the Regulators who stood against the corruption and unfair taxation of Governor Tyron. We had a great time and the curators were very helpful. We saw a movie depicting the battle, toured a cabin from the 1800's and took a lot of photos. Burlington, N.C. is a very beautiful area!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Bonnie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“This is amazing”
Reviewed 2 December 2012

I love to visit here, the video/slide presentation is very informative, they have re-enactors on the site, and when they have the battle re-enaction weekend it is great watching the battle, the cannons and the army camp. TRY to go yearly, seldom miss it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Alona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
824 reviews
224 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Nice Film at visitor's center”
Reviewed 28 October 2012

The battlefield itself is a nice walk on a sunny day, but there isn't that much to see. But the history is interesting, and it's worth learning a bit about this relatively obscure part of American history. Very nice visitor's center staff too. I'd certainly drive 25 miles out of my way for this site, but not much more.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank jxx9595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alamance Battleground State Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Alamance Battleground State Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing