We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing vacation home in the mountains”
other travellers have booked this property
A freshly cleaned deck and new chairs await your arrival.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A freshly cleaned deck and new chairs await your arrival.
Autumn view of the home from below.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
A freshly cleaned deck and new chairs await your arrival.
Autumn view of the home from below.
Floral room bedroom. Queen bed. Walk-in closet
2nd view of floral bedroom
Handmade tiles above the kitchen sink.
Close up of the tiles.
2nd view
Twin bed bedroom aka 'Jungle room' with adjoining bath and no deck access.
3rd view of floral bedroom.
3rd view of the Master/Mistress bedroom
Master/Mistress bedroom with Queen bed. Adjoining bath with jacuzzi tub and separate shower
Kitchen and laundry area.
2nd view of Master/Mistress bedroom
View from the Master/Mistress bedroom. All rooms except the twin bed jungle room have great views!
Barred owls. deer and a variety of birds can be seen. We've even seen a bobcat.
The skies provide added enjoyment.
Winter view of the pond from the deck. Open 12 months a  year.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Burnsville, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ranjay J
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing vacation home in the mountains”
Reviewed 20 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and I decided to go on an impromptu weekend vacation to the mountains, and found that this place had a vacancy-- we did not regret quickly booking our stay! The home itself is huge and spacious and could easily sleep 6. It was very well-maintained and clean. The view from the back porch was amazing. We definitely enjoyed our trip and would come back again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2015
Thank you! We're so glad you had an enjoyable stay at the Yummy Mud Puddle this Fall. Please let us know if there's anything more we can do to make your next visit even more fun. We look forward to your return. Have a wonderful Fall and Holiday season.
Claudia and John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARG1220
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great, quiet vacation home on the mountain”
Reviewed 15 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Very comfortable for our family of 5. Saw wildlife and lovely view of Black Mountain. Nice people in a small town environment. Would definitely go back. Some décor is a little dated, but that only made the place more comfortable. Quick responses from owner and very accommodating with dates and booking. Enjoy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2015
Thank you for your comments and great review! We hope you will return to the Yummy Mud Puddle soon. Please let us know if there's anything we do to make your next visit even more enjoyable. Have a wonderful Fall and Holiday season.
Claudia and John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcie S
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Eclectic Wonderful Fun!”
Reviewed 31 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Yummy Mud Puddle was just what we needed for our first "new normal" Christmas. It's funky art deco is great. The owners John & Claudia are wonderful artists with their works all through out the house. Our girls loved the jungle room with a handmade lamp. The kitchen is stocked with handmade plates, cups & bowls made by Claudia. The location is very close to town but secluded on the side of a
mountain. The movie collection is great as well.
If you're looking for a beautiful funky get away, then Yummy Mud Puddle is the place.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CassieJoh...
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Serene, Beautiful....No Words to Describe it.”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have been coming down to Yancey/Mitchell counties for a number of years and used a different site to rent a home for a week. Yummy Mud Puddle is a keeper! No more looking for another place for me.
The vacation home is spacious, well stocked, clean and the view is out of this world. If you want peace, quiet and nature this is a great place.

John and Claudia have their studio's at their home on the property so bring some cash too!! Their art is awesome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, Mountain Views, Cleanliness, Critters
Liked least: Not one thing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jan 2015
Thank you for your kind words! We look forward to your return to the Yummy Mud Puddle.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Reviewed 19 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Jan 2015
Thank you for your review of the Yummy Mud Puddle. We work to make improvements every year to ensure the best visit possible. With the completion of the new road to Burnsville, the Puddle is easier than ever to reach. We look forward to your return. Thank you, again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KenCookie
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Wonderful & Comfortable Vacation Spot”
Reviewed 10 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012
2
people found this review helpful

This is a three bedroom, two bath home with an open kitchen, separate dining room, and comfortable living room. There is a huge deck (the full length of the home) facing a postcard view of the mountains. There are two TVs and a huge library of movies. Yummy Mud Puddle is a rental home which shares the land of the home of the owners, all on 10 very private acres. The owners are an artist couple, totally charming and delightful people. There is plenty to do in and around Burnsville itself, and it's only a 35-minute drive into downtown Asheville.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: A true home away from home
Liked least: Portion of the road to the property is unpaved
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2012
Thank you, Karen and Peter, for being our guests at the Puddle. It's always a joy to see you each year for the Toe River Studio Tours. We look forward to seeing you again in 2013!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayden
Reviewed 9 February 2012 for a stay in October 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Feb 2012
Thank you Bob and Betty! We really enjoyed your enthusiasm for all the events that happened that weekend. We look forward to your return to Burnsville and the Yummy Mud Puddle.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing