We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow, wow, wow!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burnsville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Buck House Inn on Bald Mountain Creek
Ranked #1 of 6 Burnsville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
1 review
“Wow, wow, wow!”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Had a great getaway for our anniversary. This is the best B&B we have ever encountered and Sam and Debbie couldn't be better hosts. Not only is the inn phenomenal but the breakfast is amazing and every little detail was thought out in advance. We can't wait to come back and visit with our new friends!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mreynolds2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
149
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Spring Hope, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The welcoming website gave me a clue that this was not an ordinary inn... From the first phone call I knew I was in for a treat. Debbie answered the phone and we didn't just exchange information... We Visited!

When we arrived both Debbie and Sam were the epitome of hospitality; not only making us all feel at home, but sharing the history of the Buck House Inn and the culture of the area.

During the stay, too short, once again we were privileged to engage the company of the proprietors and more stories came to life as Debbie and Sam recounted their start and shared their love and passion for the industry.

Afternoon wine and cheese party on the porch was one of the highlights as we got to hear more stories about the area and walked the beautifully manicured, yet natural setting of the yard.

The rooms were exquisitely appointed and no a detail was left to chance, the linens, the robes, toiletries and coffee service were all on point.

I would be remiss if I didn't mention the sumptuous cookies... Wow!!! I only ate ONE... maybe I regret it a little now.

This was a short trip for us, planned around a bicycle ride, the next trip will be of more length so we may soak the hospitality that Debbie and Sam have mastered in such a short period of time.

In my thirty three years as a professional in the Hospitality Industry I am always amazed to find these kind of treasures!

Thank you Debbie and Sam... You are truly a joy and a gift to the industry!

Room Tip: All rooms were excellent!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmuzzolon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This is not your ordinary B&B.
The hosts Sam and Debbie quickly spoiled us into a time of the past. The inn is truly historical - mixed woods from floors to walls to ceilings, fireplaces , wraparound porch and peaceful sitting rooms. The property is preserved turn of the 20th century with Bald Mountain Creek running through it, an apple shed, water house and just up the hill riding stables . Peaceful sounds of the flowing stream, rustling leaves of the surrounding forest and the soft whinnies from the nearby stables took us back to simpler times. Debbie and Sam are hosts extraordinaire : all are welcomed and made to be individually special. The two were most attentive to our comfort and informative of the surrounding community activities and tourist attractions including the Appalachia Trail. Debbie is an artist - no continental breakfast here!!! My wife and I awakened each morning to the wondrous aromas wafting from her kitchen. Breakfast was an experience to the senses from aroma, to taste and to visual presentation of food, table setting and the warming fireplace .. We will be back and if my wife had her way it would be to move in to live a life of the past where the pace is slowed, the simple is enjoyed and friendships are easily made. Thanks Sam and Debbie

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Debbie and Sam were so accommodating! We rented the Dreamdale Suite for one night for a bachelorette party. It was the perfect size for the five of us. None of the other b&bs I priced around Asheville would accommodate a one night stay or a bachelorette party. It was perfectly relaxing and low key...exactly what we wanted! Breakfast was divine! They also accommodated for a member of our party with a gluten allergy. There is a stable just up the road where you can take a tour on horseback...beautiful views! The house is gorgeous! The service spectacular. It is off the beaten path, up a very curvy mountain road, but once you find it you will hate to leave!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ksimmonsdesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Back into time in this historic register house refurbished to highlight chestnut wall paneling while preserving small eccentricities like a well-worn staircase.
Up into the embrace of the original Buck House now inhabited and served through the bright smiles and cordiality of the Stebbinses--Debbie & Sam. I especially like the way they make the Inn feel inviting and usable, subtly luxury without the cloying atmosphere than can attend to some similar establishments.
Into an ambience that combines easy access into the beauty of the mountains with the promise of retreat into care-full attention to comfort and peacefulness.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephenmccollum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

On my second visit to this lovely inn (and my husband's first), we certainly couldn't have made a better choice for celebrating our first wedding anniversary. Not only did Debbie and Sam ensure that our anniversary was celebrated in style (from an adorable heart shaped rose wreath on our door to a "happy anniversary" announcement on the chalkboard), they treated us with the same level of hospitality and attention to detail I've come to expect from The Buck House. Breakfasts were not only spectacular to look at, but scrumptious to consume - we had creme brulee french toast the first day and eggs florentine the second. Fresh-baked cookies are available in the afternoon, and you can have a few glasses of wine in the evening. (Or coffee, hot chocolate or tea, if you prefer.) And then, as if that's not enough to lure you, the grounds are gorgeous and complete with swings and hammocks to relax in, the historical restoration and charm of the house are beautifully done, and the rooms are very well appointed and comfortable. We slept like babies in our bed - so comfy! Also, even though most people come here to get away, we happened to come on the first weekend of college football season, and we couldn't miss our game. Sam showed us to the sitting room, and the television reception was excellent for being so high up in the mountains - we didn't miss a second of the game! Needless to say, we'll make an effort to be back here as soon as we can possibly get away again!

Room Tip: This was my second time in the Chesnut room, and I still love it. The wood paneling seems so perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kthrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2013

An absolutely wonderful experience from the beginning to the end...if I close my eyes I can still hear the stream outside our bedroom window or smell the bacon which garnished the most delectable breakfasts.Sam and Debbie are truly inn keepers par excellence!! They are committed to making each guest feel like family as they provide all the comforts of home. Whether I was reading in the hammocks or hiking in the mountains, both were so refreshing.to my body mind and spirit. Carnot wait for our next visit even though we have to travel almost 1200 miles to get there!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Memaw1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnsville
24.9 mi away
Skyline Village Inn
Skyline Village Inn
#2 of 2 in Little Switzerland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
10.9 mi away
Mountain Inn & Suites
10.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Mars Hills
Comfort Inn Mars Hills
#1 of 2 in Mars Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Carnegie Hotel
Carnegie Hotel
#1 of 19 in Johnson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
9.9 mi away
Carolina Country Inn
Carolina Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Burnsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
23.1 mi away
The Reynolds Mansion
The Reynolds Mansion
#2 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Buck House Inn on Bald Mountain Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buck House Inn on Bald Mountain Creek

Property: The Buck House Inn on Bald Mountain Creek
Address: 5860 Bald Mountain Rd, Burnsville, NC 28714-6266
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Burnsville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Burnsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our inn near Asheville, NC is a wonderful choice whether you are looking to get away to enjoy life’s simple pleasures of seclusion and beautiful natural surroundings, or to experience the numerous cultural and tourist experiences in the area. The Inn is surrounded by the Blue Ridge Mountains along the banks of Bald Mountain Creek, which can be heard from most of the property’s eight acres, especially while relaxing on our wraparound porch. Located near Burnsville, NC, 27 miles north of Asheville, The Buck House Inn on Bald Mountain Creek is the perfect setting for a Romantic getaway, retreat, or a family reunion. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing