We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Wonderful Retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
Rustic Mountain Living
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rustic Mountain Living
Map of Location & Surrounding Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
Rustic Mountain Living
Map of Location & Surrounding Area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Burnsville, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sherryhed...
Ellijay, Georgia
2 reviews
“A Wonderful Retreat”
Reviewed 7 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We were looking for a retreat and we found it!! We had all the comforts we could want in a beautiful setting! Sunday we traveled to Roan Mountain and found a very friendly Church of Christ. Then we hiked a little and drove around the beautiful mountains. We ended the day on the back porch watching 4 deer graze on the far hillside. Our Plott Hound, Heath, loved running around the yard and drinking in the clear spring behind the homestead. We highly recommend this very clean property and plan to return.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2016
Eric , thank you for your kind words and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Rick & Annette King
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jberkey91...
Boca Raton, Florida
2 reviews
“A very relaxing and comfortable week.”
Reviewed 7 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Living in a large city...Yancey Palace was just what the doctor ordered. Peaceful, relaxing, beautiful area...you could not ask for more. It was well kept and clean. We had a wonderful time and the owners are very lovely and kind folks. Highly recommend Yancey Palace as a wonderful place to get away from all the "busyness" of our world.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2016
June, thank you for taking the time to give us your thoughts. So glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again.

Rick & Annette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Very cozy and comfortable.”
Reviewed 5 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

A good place to get out in the country. Beautiful scenery and lots of room for our two dogs to run around. The owners live nearby and were available if we needed anything.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and scenery
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2016
Dwight , thank you for taking the time to give us your thoughts. Glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you back.
Rick & Annette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigBlue-4
1 review
“Great place to stay with awesome views.”
Reviewed 4 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Great views, wonderful area to be in with nice inviting people. The cabin is cozy and rustic. We were a little surprised that the bedrooms did not have doors on them. They have curtains instead. It was only an issue of privacy for us. The furniture in living room is worn but everything else is nice. We had a great time in the area. One morning when leaving my truck's batteries were dead, I called Rick and he came right over and gave me a jump and got us going. Very nice man! I'm not sure what we would've done with out him! He also helped us
find some good fishing spots. If you want a secluded, quiet and beautiful place to stay, this is it! We loved our
stay!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2016
Jeremy, appreciate your taking the time to give us your thoughts. Enjoyed meeting you and your family and glad you had a a good stay and hope you will come see us again.
Rick & Annette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
233billie...
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrific place to stay”
Reviewed 29 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This place was great. We were within an hour of hiking and Asheville. The cabin was clean and the surroundings are serene. There were deer all over the property (until they figured out we had dogs). The tall grasses in the back were loaded with flowers and butterflies. Just for further clarification (because I have occasionally taken work-vacation trips) "internet access" means that you have wi-fi access toward the front of the house which I assume is connected to the owner's access. Google maps works fine to find the place. The owners are extremely responsive by email. If there was one suggestion I could make (and there aren't many because the place is pretty darn terrific)... it is that the mattresses are due for an overhaul. Additionally- 7 people in this cabin would be very tight!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: mattresses
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2016
Billie, thank you so much for taking the time to review you stay with us. Glad that you enjoyed yourselves and hate we did not have a opportunity to speak face to face but know we were all busy that week.
The mattress replacement are on our schedule to get done and we appreciate your feedback.
Thanks again for staying with us.
Rick @ Annette King
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna K
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place for a get-away”
Reviewed 13 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Loved Yancey Palace. We stayed for a weekend, hiking in multiple places at the end of June. The cabin is great, tucked away up the mountain. Its rustic, clean, and has the basic amenities.

The view is amazing. At night there are thousands of fireflies in the surrounding trees. It was amazing. And the view of the stars is spectacular.

My kids (8 and 10) had a blast in the creek, as did my dog!

Can't say enough good things about Yancey Palace. The only concern I had was there is no bar on the top bunk. My girls move a lot in their sleep so we didn't use the top. I wish I'd taken paper plates, etc, just because I'm lazy. :-) but there is a dishwasher if you need it.

Thanks so much for such a precious space.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2016
Joanna, thank you so much for taking the time to respond and give us your thoughts and opinion. I will look into installing a railing on the top bunk. Certainly a good idea where little ones are concerned.
We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Rick @ Annette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Lil' Piece of Heaven”
Reviewed 4 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Yancey Palace is a cute little cabin in a beautiful, peaceful location. It was homey and comfortable with loads of charm, and super clean as well. Though it had all the modern amenities, I felt like I stepped back in time with all the beautiful antiques inside and what appeared to be the original wood floors. I loved sitting on the back porch looking at the forest, rolling hills and gorgeous long range view and listening to the soothing sound of the little creek flowing across the backyard. It was the perfect place to drink your morning coffee or have a glass of wine in the evening and watch the thousands of fireflies. I could have stayed forever and I can't wait to go back! I've already recommended it to all my friends & family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us you thoughts and opinion. We look forward to seeing you again.
Rick & Annette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing