We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For fans of motorcourts...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Carolina Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burnsville
Certificate of Excellence
Oak Island, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“For fans of motorcourts...”
Reviewed 5 September 2012

I would love to say something other than charming because that is how every reviewer has described this little gem but the truth of the matter is that is the first word that comes to mind. Built in an earlier era of local stone and terraced, it is beautifully landscaped and in a walkable distance to the shops of Burnsville. Your host are lovely and warm and will see to your every need and recommend wonderful places to eat and shop. The rooms are tastefully decorated and updated but no coffeemaker. I understand they have coffee in the office but we didn't know. We were in an end unit which was nice and quiet and our beds were comfy and clean. If I ever venture this way again I hope they have an empty room.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MiMi50010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    24
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
35
13
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Black Mountain, North Carolina
Level Contributor
196 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

This hotel has been remodeled and is totally delightful. The room was impeccably clean and the hosts were charming. The rates were reasonable and listen to the suggestions for restaurants. The beds are comfortable and the location is very close to town.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gypsyred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

This remodeled property is a gem! Immaculately clean, modern, tiled bath, comfortable mattress, mini-fridge, microwave, and air conditioning! (No in-room coffee maker....morning coffee in the office.) The rates are incredibly reasonable! The husband-wife owners (originally from Zimbabwe) are very friendly and welcoming, but not intrusive. They have updated and remodeled over the past 12 years, and the property is very attractive in a great WNC small town. Check out Parkway Playhouse productions while visiting Burnsville!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Smalltownexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Burnsville is a small mountain town in western North Carolina near the Blue Ridge Parkway and Mount Mitchell State Park. There are very few motel or hotel accommodations in the town and in the surrounding Yancy County. Luckily, however, there is one excellent motel. The basic structure of this facility is very old but it has been completely renovated on the interior and is lovely in every respect. Apparently, a young British couple bought the motel several years ago. They did the renovation and decoration and today they also manage the motel. They are friendly and helpful, and provide some language accent diversity from the rest of us mountain folk. Rooms include a small but quite nice bathroom, a state-of-the-art flat screen TV mounted on the wall, a comfortable king-sized bed with lovely quilt coverings, and other unique room-to-room folksy decor. The rooms, though small, are extremely clean and well kept. Each room has a refrigerator and microwave. The rates are reasonable. Reservations are recommended, especially during the summer and fall.

Room Tip: Don't be put off by the 1930s appearance of the exterior of this motel. The structure is old...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FireballNashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Tired of cookie cutter motels, blank stares at the front desk and rooms out of a box? When in Burnsville, NC you need to put your head down at the Carolina Country Inn. I've stayed here for years and always feel like I'm home when I walk into the front office and the inn keepers come out with a big smile. It's like family here. The rooms are clean, comfortable and well appointed. The beds are outstanding and the landscaping out front is always beautiful. Where else does the inn keeper ask if you want to walk to the town square and on the way you catch up on everyone's family, the weather, etc. I strongly recommend this property for a day or a week. Sitting out front at dawn or dusk, talking with other lodgers or sharing a story with inn keepers Maureen or Trevor are moments to savor in beautiful Burnsville.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
71 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Sayed at this motel for 2 nights the room was very clean had wifi,microwave refrig. Reasonable prices. The host were very friedly and helpful. Will return when i can.

Room Tip: Price location comfort and lots of beautiful flowers
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TN
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

There aren't many choices in Burnsville, but now I won't need to look anywhere else. This motel is run by a very welcoming couple who succeeded in making our stay enjoyable. We had the king room; the furnishings are simple and the bed was very comfortable. The microwave and refrig are nice to have. The motel is one block from the main street so it is quiet to sit outside. It even has a friendly kitty. It's not a four-star hotel, it's a very nicely run local motel with everything you need to relax and unwind.
Because we have family in the area, we definitely will choose them again.

Room Tip: My husband didn't care for the new thick plush mattress in our room (I loved it!); Maureen said...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nancy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnsville
15.0 mi away
Skyline Village Inn
Skyline Village Inn
#2 of 2 in Little Switzerland
197 reviews
14.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Mars Hills
Comfort Inn Mars Hills
#1 of 2 in Mars Hill
191 reviews
21.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 5 in Marion
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Mountain Inn & Suites
20.4 mi away
Super 8 Black Mountain
Super 8 Black Mountain
#4 of 4 in Black Mountain
499 reviews
21.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 4 in Black Mountain
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carolina Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolina Country Inn

Property: Carolina Country Inn
Address: 600 W Main St, Burnsville, NC 28714-2738
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Burnsville
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burnsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Carolina Country Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Carolina Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Burnsville
Burnsville Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing