We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gloomy, old-fashioned motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Buxton
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Don't be fooled by the friendly-sounding "Inn" - this is a 70s-style very average American motel charging very high prices in the high season. With taxes, $170 for a room that you could get for $49 maximum in many parts of the States. Everything is very basic here - including the incredibly noisy in-wall air-conditioning units that, quite frankly, had a very bad smell. There is a small outside swimming pool, but that's about it - there are no other obvious amenities here, not even a breakfast room. We were very suspicious about whether or not the sheets had been changed - but in the end we gave them the benefit of the doubt. On the plus side, there was free wi-fi (although that was possibly the least I would have expected for that sort of money!)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CastawayKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2013

I'll start with the good on this review, but if you consider this place to stay, please read the rest so you are better informed than I was.

The location of this hotel was nice, it was very close to the Hatteras Lighthouse, and a small beach was within close walking distance of the hotel. The pool was small, but a good size in relation to the size of the hotel. There is a little grocery/supply store right across the street, which is very convenient, and there are a few good eating establishments nearby. The rate we paid for the room was very good compared to other local hotels.

I reserved our stay at this location for one night for our family vacationing in the area. The confirmation email I received said that check-in was at 3PM. When I arrived there at 3:30, my room was not ready because check-in is at 4PM. I showed them the email from their website, and they seemed surprised and uncaring. Even though there were other rooms available, they still wanted us to wait for "OUR" room, most liklely due to the rate we paid. When we finally were able to check in to our room upstairs, the cleaning ladies were loitering around upstairs smoking right next to our non-smoking room. We tried the room key, and apparently for "OUR" room, we needed to swipe the card twice and pull the handle up to get in the room. We unloaded all of our luggage and headed out to the beach. When we returned from the beach and pool, the cleaning ladies were STILL smoking in front of our room (2 hours later?) The reservation was clearly for 4 adults and one child in a room with a king size bed and a pull-out sofa, and we had to ask the housekeepers for the sheets for the sofabed. When we started making the bed, we noticed that they had not given us blankets as well. We picked up the phone to call the front desk, but the phone was broken, so we walked downstairs to the office to pick some up. The staff seemed bothered by our request for blankets. There was no breakfast in the morning, but I don't remember where I read that it was available, so I won't dock them for that, just make sure you are aware before booking this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't get the sleeper sofa... the matress will destroy your back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We made reservations online, however when we arrived the front desk didn't have the reservations, seems they were aware of the problem with reservations online, they did finally get us a room and honored the price $95.00 that I got online. The room was nice, large spacious, the bed was a king and was ok comfortable, bathroom was OK, The TV was older tube style, but worked fine....overall not a bad place to stay, I'd stay here again....very similar to a Motel 6....but they don't offer a breakfast....the location is great very easy walk to the beach....Average roadside hotel.... Word of caution, call the hotel directly to make reservations, we lucked out that they had a room ready.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank TravelingKnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

It was easy to get there. Our Birthday Vacation was short we have lots of wonderful memories. Friendly staff who go out of their way to accommodate you and answer your questions. Delicious food everywhere you go and the restaurants are very close to the inn. Walking distance. We enjoyed the Hatteras Lighthouse and all the surrounding locations. We enjoyed our stay and will stay there again. We wish to thank the entire staff for their wonderful accommodating customer service. The rooms were great and the ocean view from the tower was very beautiful. Easy to book on line.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Gregory T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Took girl at front desk a Very long time to check us in, even though we had made reservations. Dirty washclothe in shower. Cracked and shattered over mirror. No cover on facet handle. No cover on Remote for TV. and then had to get a new remote 3x. No WiFi. Stained and rusty tub and area. Room card didn't work one day. Had to have staff open.Don't know exactly what happened with name change...ugg....Stair wells were dirty.....Nasty ...Personel was friendly, that is a plus....We could smell smokers from somewhere....probably around the door, as there was a fairly large gap....

Room Tip: Try another location on the island.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Awesome. My son and I got a room during the off season on the spur of the moment and had a view of the ocean. Rooms were great. Amenities were great. And service was great. We stayed here years ago with my family during the season and were glad to see nothing's changed.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank peter w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

I needed to find a last minute place to stay before taking the ferry off of Hatteras. I booked this online based on what I could find online. The staff was excellent and the rooms were good. Nothing fancy, but a good rate, solid room and great staff that was close to everything in Buxton.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Laurie and Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
2.7 mi away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
10.3 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#7 of 11 in Hatteras Island
136 reviews
9.4 mi away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#10 of 11 in Hatteras Island
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cape Hatteras Motel
Cape Hatteras Motel
#4 of 6 in Buxton
287 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cape Pines Motel
Cape Pines Motel
#2 of 6 in Buxton
311 reviews
0.2 mi away
Outer Banks Motel
Outer Banks Motel
#6 of 6 in Buxton
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatteras Island Inn Buxton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatteras Island Inn Buxton

Address: 46745 NC Hwy 12, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920 (Formerly Comfort Inn )
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Buxton
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range: £57 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hatteras Island Inn Buxton 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hatteras Island Inn is on the ocean side of Hatteras Island in the village of Buxton North Carolina. The beach is just a short walk away using the beach access. The Cape Hatteras Lighthouse is just two miles from the Inn and can be plainly seen from our observation tower as well as incredible sunrises and sunsets. Horseback riding, Go-Carts, Bumper Cars, Mini-Golf, Museums, Charter Cruises/Fishing trips, Gift Shops, and Great Dining are just some of the pleasures you can experience during your stay with us. Don't forget to take some time-out and relax at our pool while you are with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Hatteras Island Inn Buxton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Hatteras Island Hotel Buxton
Comfort Inn Buxton
Buxton Comfort Inn
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing