We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Sea Gull Motel(Hatteras Island)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Village Marina Motel(Hatteras Island)
View Hotel
The Breakwater Inn(Hatteras Island)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Reviews (202)
Filter reviews
202 results
Traveller rating
54
66
41
21
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
66
41
21
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was cleanobservation deckcrew membersjuice and coffeeplace to stayshort strollfront desk staff was very friendlypleasant staywithin walking distanceone night staydesk clerkconvenience storethe outer banksenjoyed our stayputt puttconvenient locationrestaurants and shops
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
187 - 192 of 202 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Nice clean rooms and the staff is just very, very friendly and helpful! Can't praise the staff enough, seems that small Inn keepers have better business sense than big hotel chains. Carpet in room was very clean, the beds are comfortable and even it is on the main road very quite. Would stay there again.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We just stayed one night before checking in to our vacation home. It was clean and convenient and the staff was friendly. The kids enjoyed the pool. Manager and service mgr. talked and answered questions about the area, history, hurricanes etc. and made the stay very interesting.Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms were fresher and brighter.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cynthia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

My husband and I stayed here only one night before catching an early ferry to Ocracoke. We walked in with no reservation to find out the price. Price was what you would expect for a beach area hotel. The room was extremely dated. As others have stated, the room a/c units are loud. The hotel was okay for what we needed it for - basically just a place to rest before starting the next portion of a long drive.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stacey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Don't be fooled by the friendly-sounding "Inn" - this is a 70s-style very average American motel charging very high prices in the high season. With taxes, $170 for a room that you could get for $49 maximum in many parts of the States. Everything is very basic here - including the incredibly noisy in-wall air-conditioning units that, quite frankly, had a very bad smell. There is a small outside swimming pool, but that's about it - there are no other obvious amenities here, not even a breakfast room. We were very suspicious about whether or not the sheets had been changed - but in the end we gave them the benefit of the doubt. On the plus side, there was free wi-fi (although that was possibly the least I would have expected for that sort of money!)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CastawayKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I'll start with the good on this review, but if you consider this place to stay, please read the rest so you are better informed than I was.

The location of this hotel was nice, it was very close to the Hatteras Lighthouse, and a small beach was within close walking distance of the hotel. The pool was small, but a good size in relation to the size of the hotel. There is a little grocery/supply store right across the street, which is very convenient, and there are a few good eating establishments nearby. The rate we paid for the room was very good compared to other local hotels.

I reserved our stay at this location for one night for our family vacationing in the area. The confirmation email I received said that check-in was at 3PM. When I arrived there at 3:30, my room was not ready because check-in is at 4PM. I showed them the email from their website, and they seemed surprised and uncaring. Even though there were other rooms available, they still wanted us to wait for "OUR" room, most liklely due to the rate we paid. When we finally were able to check in to our room upstairs, the cleaning ladies were loitering around upstairs smoking right next to our non-smoking room. We tried the room key, and apparently for "OUR" room, we needed to swipe the card twice and pull the handle up to get in the room. We unloaded all of our luggage and headed out to the beach. When we returned from the beach and pool, the cleaning ladies were STILL smoking in front of our room (2 hours later?) The reservation was clearly for 4 adults and one child in a room with a king size bed and a pull-out sofa, and we had to ask the housekeepers for the sheets for the sofabed. When we started making the bed, we noticed that they had not given us blankets as well. We picked up the phone to call the front desk, but the phone was broken, so we walked downstairs to the office to pick some up. The staff seemed bothered by our request for blankets. There was no breakfast in the morning, but I don't remember where I read that it was available, so I won't dock them for that, just make sure you are aware before booking this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't get the sleeper sofa... the matress will destroy your back!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews