We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Buxton
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Not a high end hotel but served its purpose . Bed was comfy and clean room! The staff was friendly and helpfull. Short walk to beach the pool area was clean . Short drive to the lighthouse and restaurants

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CPhT01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

This place seemed very nice when making the reservation. I brought my 84 year old mother to see the ocean for the first time in about 20 years or so. The front desk help wasn't overly "helpful". This place is as plain Jane as can be. It should be called Motel 6 instead of an Inn. There is no breakfast option, no comfortable chairs in the room and no WIFI! Really? No internet in a so called Island Inn? Wanted some ice and guess what? The ice machine was broken! Went to the beach for the day and came back around 4 and the room still wasn't made up! Never again. If you want to pay $150 a night for this, be my guest. I will never come back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank railman2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We selected this "Inn" for a short term stay during the OBX high season so we could attend a nearby wedding. Knowing we wouldn't be at the "inn" that much of the time, we went for an economical choice, that looked clean and had the right type of room for our needs (king bed/sleeper sofa/microwave/refrigerator).

First of all, calling this an Inn is a misnomer - an Inn usually has breakfast foods/coffee service in the lobby - this place didn't even have Wifi in the rooms (who these days goes to the lobby/general areas to use Wifi??) We must have missed this in the fine print. Also, the description said the rooms were upgraded. Ours was not (the upgraded rooms had new carpeting and new, white, down pillow top comforters!) and when we arrived, we were told that all the upgraded rooms were sold out (we paid over $150/night for our room!) Not only did we have the old bed linens, but the carpet was so moldy and damp feeling, you didn't want to walk barefooted on it. The pillows and towels were the bare minimum in terms of size and comfort. While the shower was ok (enough hot water and pressure) and the sheets were clean/soft, the bathroom caulking had some mold. The refrigerator did work fine, so that was a plus...however, both of the ice/vending machines were barely working or out of order. Lastly, the two chairs in our room had very old/ripped vinyl covers in serious need of repair.

The front desk attendant was friendly enough, but that doesn't really make up for the dingy, moldy room we stayed in for what we felt was a very high price. Plus, when we arrived, our door was ajar (the cleaners must not have pulled the door completely shut - nice!)

Room Tip: Choose the top floor and ask specifically for an upgraded room. If you need WiFi, don't stay her...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SGMLeesburg_Virginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

If you are looking for a friendly, convenient place to stay, this is it. Clean room, comfortable bed, and a wonderful helpful staff. Ryan was as helpful as ever in helping us. We were able to have a last minute two night get away with his help. The hotel is walking distance to the beach, shops and places to eat.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank blueiis_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights for a wedding nearby. We were so disappointed in the room. It did not smell clean, and no one ever came to clean it or change our sheets or towels. We called the office, but still no one ever came to clean. There is no wi fi in the rooms, only in the lobby.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jnwr51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Had a really bad trip from the North to get to Hatteras, When we arrived at this Inn, could not believe the wonderful and warm welcome when we walked into the office, the manager was very in touch with our needs, especially there was a young man named Ryan working the desk who could not do enough for us, Will be staying here again. p.s. I think Ryan deserves a raise.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Greatfuninhatteras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We booked our anniversary getaway at Hatteras Island Inn the weekend before the 4th of July. We had never been to the Outer Banks and were not at all sure what to expect, but we LOVED it. The staff were very friendly, the room was clean, and the beach was literally a short stroll outside of the room. My husband fished off the beach, and it was a very family friendly environment. We plan to go back again, and have recommended Hatteras Island Inn to our friends and family.

Room Tip: We had a king size bed which also included a pull out couch in the room as well as a fridge, coffee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gabrielle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
2.7 mi away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
10.3 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#7 of 11 in Hatteras Island
136 reviews
9.4 mi away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#10 of 11 in Hatteras Island
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cape Pines Motel
Cape Pines Motel
#2 of 6 in Buxton
314 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Hatteras Motel
Cape Hatteras Motel
#4 of 6 in Buxton
288 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lighthouse View Oceanfront Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatteras Island Inn Buxton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatteras Island Inn Buxton

Address: 46745 NC Hwy 12, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920 (Formerly Comfort Inn )
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Buxton
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range: £47 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hatteras Island Inn Buxton 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hatteras Island Inn is on the ocean side of Hatteras Island in the village of Buxton North Carolina. The beach is just a short walk away using the beach access. The Cape Hatteras Lighthouse is just two miles from the Inn and can be plainly seen from our observation tower as well as incredible sunrises and sunsets. Horseback riding, Go-Carts, Bumper Cars, Mini-Golf, Museums, Charter Cruises/Fishing trips, Gift Shops, and Great Dining are just some of the pleasures you can experience during your stay with us. Don't forget to take some time-out and relax at our pool while you are with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Hatteras Island Inn Buxton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Hatteras Island Hotel Buxton
Comfort Inn Buxton
Buxton Comfort Inn
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing