We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a budget trip.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Buxton
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Last minute trip to the beach with a family of 4, Hatteras Island Inn was able to accommodate us all. Just minutes from the beach! Wonderful staff, and great coffee across the street!! We will return for another stay soon.

Room Tip: Call if you want upper level or beach side rooms. Rooms on the street side are closer to ice and ven...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
There are newer reviews for Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

Although the price was higher in the summer than my first visit in the spring, the accommodations were great as good as ever. Everything was inn working order and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful with recommendations. Would go again if given the chance....

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank bobielo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I would definitely try to find another hotel. Room was very bad! Towels were tiny and thin, duvet was slippery and noisy.
Beds was very uncomfortable.
The pool was nice and the hotel was close to the beach. When we walked into our room, it smelled of mildew. I would never stay there again. Very disappointed!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Fitjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

My wife and I spent a week exploring the Outer Banks on motorcycles, using the Hatteras Island Inn as a "jump-off" point. I didn't consider that the hotel had no elevator, and we were put on the second floor, difficult for my wife (arthritis in the knees). The next day I requested a move to the first floor. The staff went out of the way to accommodate us, and we were moved within hours.

The rooms were clean, the microwave worked, the refrigerator worked. Within walking distance of Diamond Shoals Restaurant, great seafood. Convenience Store across the street, easy access to the islands We would go back.

Room Tip: Remember -- two floors, no elevator.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

After taking one look at our hotel room at the hotel across the street, we knew right away there was no way were staying there. In a pinch, we called the Hatteras Island Inn across the street and were able to get right in with a 2 night stay. We were relieved to find the room very clean and cool and just what we were looking for. In the way of the positives: Very Friendly and Helpful Front Desk Staff, Very Nice and Clean Pool, Super Close to the Beach (1-2 blocks away), Walking Distance to the Diamond Shoals Restaurant (good for breakfast, lunch and dinner). The only cons: No Wi-FI, No Breakfast Offerings. Overall, we were pleased with our stay.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
5  Thank Cumberlander2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Average motel, good price for summer at the beach.

Pros: A block away from the beach
Seems clean, safe, and quiet
Friendly staff

Cons: No wifi
No breakfast offerings
Maid made the bed and replaced the towels, but did not replace toiletries nor apparently do any cleaning.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Tyria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Not a high end hotel but served its purpose . Bed was comfy and clean room! The staff was friendly and helpfull. Short walk to beach the pool area was clean . Short drive to the lighthouse and restaurants

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CPhT01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
9.4 mi away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#10 of 11 in Hatteras Island
51 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#7 of 11 in Hatteras Island
133 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cape Hatteras Motel
Cape Hatteras Motel
#4 of 6 in Buxton
283 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cape Pines Motel
Cape Pines Motel
#2 of 6 in Buxton
308 reviews
0.2 mi away
Outer Banks Motel
Outer Banks Motel
#5 of 6 in Buxton
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatteras Island Inn Buxton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatteras Island Inn Buxton

Address: 46745 NC Hwy 12, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920 (Formerly Comfort Inn )
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Buxton
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range: £63 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hatteras Island Inn Buxton 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hatteras Island Inn is on the ocean side of Hatteras Island in the village of Buxton North Carolina. The beach is just a short walk away using the beach access. The Cape Hatteras Lighthouse is just two miles from the Inn and can be plainly seen from our observation tower as well as incredible sunrises and sunsets. Horseback riding, Go-Carts, Bumper Cars, Mini-Golf, Museums, Charter Cruises/Fishing trips, Gift Shops, and Great Dining are just some of the pleasures you can experience during your stay with us. Don't forget to take some time-out and relax at our pool while you are with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Hatteras Island Inn Buxton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Hatteras Island Hotel Buxton
Comfort Inn Buxton
Buxton Comfort Inn
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing