We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Built our trip around this visit!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Hatteras Lighthouse

Cape Hatteras Lighthouse
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The nation's tallest lighthouse was moved to a different location to preserve it.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
524 reviews
211 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Built our trip around this visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

I had not been back to Hatteras since I was a teenager and my wife had never been here. We were eager to come back, and today we enjoyed the pleasure of visiting. the lighthouse is beautiful, the paint job is incredible. we climbed to the top and thoroughly enjoyed being buffeted by 35+ MPH winds, it was quite fun. Seeing how the lighthouse had been moved, and just how far it was moved, was incredible. We gladly paid the $8 fee to climb, and we visited the gift shop as well. Highly recommend. Make time for the museum, the gift shop, and exploring where the lighthouse used to sit. The rangers told us that 2 weeks ago they removed the granite blocks that used to mark the site where the lighthouse used to sit, it is uncertain what will mark the spot now.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,800 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,364
    377
    52
    7
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
91 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice attraction.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We always stop here when we are in the Outer Banks. Nice site. It is also dog friendly. Beautiful grounds. Wonderful history about Hatteras Lighthouse.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank bubby2six
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
206 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Preserving a piece of history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

It's nice to see that they're keeping up on maintenance on these lights. Also good to see no damage from Sandy 2 years ago! No fee to get on the grounds, there is a fee to climb. Grounds upkeep is good.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JohnandJana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linwood, Michigan
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Can't believe they moved it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Hatteras Tours - with Danny driving - brought us to this beautiful lighthouse - as one of the stops on our day trip of OBX and the National Seashore. For the younger and stronger the climb would probably fun. Get your National Parks seashore passport stamped at the office.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Grant713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
110 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Fascinating history and amazing how the lighthouse was moved further inland a few years ago. I would have loved to have climbed to the top...we'll do that next time. The surrounding beach and countryside are very beautiful as well. This is a great place to visit and spend some time. Recommended!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cape Hatteras Lighthouse also viewed

 

Been to Cape Hatteras Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing