We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over 60, was able to climb the lighthouse”

Cape Hatteras Lighthouse
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The nation's tallest lighthouse was moved to a different location to preserve it.
North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Over 60, was able to climb the lighthouse”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I was really intimidated by all the stairs. I was able to stop on each landing as needed to rest. The rangers are helpful and watchful. The day after my climb, I was surprised to find my knees actually felt better than they had before the climb. I will definitely do it again!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank angelic_prescription
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,005 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,528
    410
    59
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dover, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“treasured beauty”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

beautiful historic site worth the time and money to go up into,,bring your sneakers its a long climb

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Candace W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, MA
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Cape Hatteras Light House”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

It is worth the trip through the beautiful national seashore. You may be surprised as I was that the lighthouse is rather far from the ocean. Nonetheless as the tallest brick lighthouse it is a site to see. You can climb to the top if you want. The location for the original lighthouse is down the street.

Helpful?
1 Thank PWDGolfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“So beautiful.”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Beautiful lighthouse on a gorgeous island. Well worth the effort to get there to see it. We went from Harkers Island park by ferry and it was only a short ferry trip from there.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank mad4nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, IN
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“First Visit to the Relocated Lighthouse”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This was a special trip for my husband and I to visit the Lighthouse after its relocation many years ago. We had taken our children to the Outer Banks during a Spring Break and got to see the early days of the move of the lighthouse inland. The lighthouse was undergoing new painting while we were there and I even saved some paint chippings for a photobox.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank kesbas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cape Hatteras Lighthouse also viewed

 

Been to Cape Hatteras Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing