We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills, just good food”

Fish House Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 22 Restaurants in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, View
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Cambridge, Ohio
Level Contributor
97 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“No frills, just good food”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Interesting place! Paper plates but very good food. Homemade desserts. Yum! The shrimp sauce is really tasty. Excellent service too! The staff is attentive and friendly.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amyjsloan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    35
    18
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
79 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The food was good. Our waitress was not so good. We had to wait so long for a drink we were finished with dinner before it came. Outside patio had a nice view. Good place to sit and have a drink before dinner.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank CPhT01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“No frills but good food”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

If I'm not mistaken, this little restaurant has changed ownership a few times over the years but each time we've been back, we've found good seafood, nothing fancy but good stuff. It's right on the sound with a sloped floor that dates back to the days when it was, quite literally, a fish house, and they hosed down the floors at the end of the day.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 11doglegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Meal Ever on a Paper Plate (Part II)”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Three years ago my wife and I discovered this restaurant on a trip to Buxton/Cape Hatteras and I reviewed it as the "Best Meal Ever on a Paper Plate," because, unless you order a steak, everything is served on paper/styro plates; so it's not a fancy place. In fact, it sits on a channel where boats are docked (which is actually kinda cool), and across the way sits an unkempt property with a bunch of junk on it. Regardless, the food here is EXCELLENT - especially the daily "fresh catch" specials. Pick any one of them. Can't go wrong. Last trip we had the swordfish provencal and blackened cajun tuna. Both simply outstanding. Desserts are also very good. Prices are very reasonable for the quality of food. Our tuna plates included 2 (not one) tuna steaks for about $17 per plate with 2 sides. When traveling, my wife and I like to research and eat at the best of the local restaurants (not necessarily the most expensive ones, but we don't exclude pricier options); and on our trip to Ocracoke, Hatteras/Buxton this year, we ate at numerous restaurants - the Fish House was, in our opinion, the best of all. A close second is the Lone Cedar Cafe up in Nag's Head.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan50226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
88 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Paper plates??”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

An odd experience. The food was fairly good, but the atmosphere strange. The place was half empty upon our arrival. Two staff members saw us. Despite this, no one seated us or even smiled to acknowledge us. When we were eventually seated, the mood did not improve. The staff were distant and did not seem to engage with one another. Our meal consisted of grilled fish, baked potato and sides. The food was good, just good. The meal cost over $50.00 and was served on paper plates, with plastic knives and forks. We will not be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fish House Restaurant also viewed

Buxton, Hatteras Island
Buxton, Hatteras Island
 
Buxton, Hatteras Island
 

Been to Fish House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing