We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mr” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rusty's Surf & Turf

Rusty's Surf & Turf
Ranked #7 of 21 Restaurants in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Rusty's Surf and Turf is an eclectic beach restaurant focusing on local sourced fish, seafood, vegetarian and steaks using styles ranging form local to global. If you are looking for fun, interesting and delicious or simple and strait forward, we have something for everyone! Now serving lunch and dinner
1 review
“Mr”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Best restaurant on Hatteras Island! .Staff is most personable. Food is Top Chef. Reasonable prices and the service is outstanding. We're always made to feel welcome as if we are family/best friends. Food and service is top shelf...Can't say enough great things about Rusty's Surf Turf. Love from your favorite fans....Bloody Mary patrons : )

Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    127
    53
    26
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Buxton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Birthday Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Very year I eat here for my birthday, in part because my 12 year old LOVES the tuna steak! This year I came in and had one of the best dinners on Hatteras Island, this place gets better every year!!! Everything was excellent :)

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kristen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, Vermont
Level Contributor
87 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

After vacationing in Avon many years, we found Rusty's to be a nice change in dining. Not a your typical fried or broiled fish place. We liked the menu and overall all our meals were tasty. I gave a lower than expected rating because I feel that the dining room was cramped and noisy. Also we waited for a table very pleasantly on the deck; however, the drinks were rather small and very pricey. I would give it 3 1/2.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilbolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

We had an excellent dinner here and would be very happy to recommend it to other travellers. It was very good food with friendly staff and a nice ambience. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sofisticat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Point, North Carolina
Level Contributor
298 reviews
253 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

The staff was friendly and the service was fast. I got the fish tacos since the waitress said the fish was flounder and that it was caught that day. It did not taste fresh. My wife got shrimp tacos and said it was excellent. The meal was overpriced for what we got.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rusty's Surf & Turf also viewed

Buxton, Hatteras Island
Buxton, Hatteras Island
 
Buxton, Hatteras Island
Buxton, Hatteras Island
 

Been to Rusty's Surf & Turf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing