We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite the local find for lunch”

Buxton Munch Company
Ranked #1 of 22 Restaurants in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$14
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Description: Serving Locals & Visitors since 1999. We specialize in over 30 Gourmet Wraps & Quesadillas. Oven-Toasted Subs & Sammies. Big Salads in Edible Tortilla Bowls. Fresh-daily-hand-pressed Angus Burgers & Freakingood Fries! They say we have the Best Fish Tacos and Shrimp Tacos on the Beach! And our Crabby Pattie Crabcake has been a best-seller for over 19 years! And the Blackened Fish Wrap or Sub/Sandwich is killer-good! Lots of Apps & Sides. Fresh French Roast Coffee. Nice selection of Hot Teas. Daily-brewed Sweet Tea and Unsweet Tea. Bottled beverages & Sodas. Beer & Wine. But please realize one thing - We are NOT a fast food joint. And if we are busy, then of course there will be a wait, as in any restaurant. We make it Real. We make it Fresh. Feed your body real stuff. "A Groovy Little Place With A Whole Lotta Taste!" PEACE.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Family owned - generous portions of Blackened fish Mahi Mahi tacos and Mermaid Quesadiillas were delicious! A must for sure with friendly staff!

Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M and M M, Owner at Buxton Munch Company, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Stephen, Thank you so much for your nice 4-Star Review of Buxton Munch! We're so glad you enjoyed our Fish Tacos and the Mermaid Quesadillas. And thank you for the shout-out to our wonderful, friendly staff! We think they are pretty awesome, too! From our family to yours, we certainly hope to serve you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (640)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 640 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The shrimp and/or fish tacos are the best that I have ever tasted in almost sixty years. Extremely friendly atmosphere and great waitstaff. You must be very patient because they are very busy, but this is because the food is out of this world. Well worth any wait and an excellent value.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M and M M, Owner at Buxton Munch Company, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Kenny, Thank you so much for your 5-Star Review!
We're so happy that you liked our Shrimp Tacos and Fish Tacos,
and that they are the best you have ever tasted! THANK YOU!!!
Thank you for stating that we have an EXTREMELY FRIENDLY ATMOSPHERE
and GREAT WAIT STAFF! That is so important to us and to guests!
And thank you for telling others to be very patient as we are super busy.
It drives us crazy when people think we are rude just because we cannot seat them
in a timely manner when we are incredibly busy in such a small place.
(We serve 150 - 200 people everyday in a hole-in-the-wall.)
So THANK YOU for your kindness and understanding for what we do.
And thank you for saying we are worth the wait! GOD BLESS YOU!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We are vacationing in The Outer Banks with two of our grandchildren. While planning a visit to the Cape Hatteras Lighthouse we were told by recc to stop first for lunch at this restaurant. Obviously crowded we knew we might have a wait. What we did not expect was the rudeness with which we were “told” how many people were ahead of us, and that IF we got seated we would have to wait “a really long time to get our food!! Quite the friendly NOT sales pitch!! Then we’re told “you REALLY NEED to get here at 11 when we open!!” Oh wow shame on us!!! I never write a bad review but just couldn’t help myself this time. Watch out all you vacationers!! Hope you all get a nice seat and some good food!! I say good luck with that!!!

3  Thank deewilliford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M and M M, Owner at Buxton Munch Company, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Seriously, folks, no one is EVER rude to customers in my restaurant.
Been doing this for 19 years, and we can only serve so many people from 11-4.
WE ARE VERY VERY BUSY EVERYDAY. - (like crazy-chaos-busy, OK?)
And our place is way too small for the number of people who try to get in each day.
Yes, there most certainly IS a wait time and a long wait list nearly everyday.
That is the norm in high season on this tourist island.
Since you had small children with you, we make sure you know there will be an extended wait
during these extra hectic times, for which you may not be prepared for. (That's only fair, right?)
And since it is only my husband and his assistant making all this food in one tiny kitchen,
we feel we should make you aware of just how long the wait will be to get your food once you are seated.
And yes, we recommend, if that's too long for you to wait, and if you still wish to join us another day,
that you should try to get here around 11:00-11:30am when we open,
or you will just go through the same waiting process the next day, too.
We do not consider this rude behavior at all, but we are sorry that you took it that way.
We have over 508 EXCELLENT REVIEWS that state how much we are loved for our
Friendliness and Food and Great Service since 1999.
We hope all potential guests will certainly consider our great reviews and
ignore this type of misunderstanding with this guest.
Sincerely, The Owners of The Buxton Munch Company

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

There are not enough good things that can be said about this restaurant!!! The service, the ambiance, and most of all, the FOOD are second to none. I never leave reviews but this place is so good I felt compelled to let you know! If your looking for a “beachy” hometown fun place to eat with your family anywhere near Buxton, NC, you have found it! PS....their blackened Mahi is to die for.

Thank Joshua L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M and M M, Owner at Buxton Munch Company, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Joshua, Thank you so much for your wonderful 5-Star Review! Your kind words really made our day! We're thrilled you were happy with the service and the atmosphere and, of course, the food! And we thank you for taking the time to leave us such a nice review, especially since you said you never leave reviews - THANK YOU! - We are quite grateful for your shining recommendation. Please join us soon so we can do this all over again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

They have several signs telling you to be happy, be mellow and be patient. They were pretty busy and told us up front to be patient. We had a Jamaican jerk crab sandwich, crab avocado wrap and a crab patty sandwich. All 3 were some of the best crab dishes we have ever had. Would definitely go again!

Thank Pricem36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M and M M, Owner at Buxton Munch Company, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your 5-Star Review! Yes, we do have signs around the restaurant telling folks to be nice, be happy, be patient and be mellow. Because it seems like these things are forgotten, and we think a little reminder here and there helps keep our atmosphere happy and laid-back the way we like it. When you serve 150-200 people per day in our little hole-in-the-wall place, you need a lot of mellow just to keep you sane! We're so happy you were diggin' our selection of Crabby Patties! And we LOVE hearing they were the best you have ever had! THANK YOU! Most of all, we are so grateful you said you would definitely be back again! See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buxton Munch Company also viewed

Buxton, Hatteras Island
 
Buxton, Hatteras Island
 
Avon, Hatteras Island
Buxton, Hatteras Island
 

Been to Buxton Munch Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing