We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Pamlico

Cafe Pamlico
Ranked #2 of 21 Restaurants in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$35 - US$50
Cuisines: American, Seafood, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Cafe Pamlico provides a world class casual fine dining experience through exceptional food, outstanding detail oriented service, an inspired wine and cocktail program, and gracious attentive Southern hospitality. Our contemporary coastal cuisine is driven by locally sourced seafood, meats, and produce. Our menu changes frequently in accordance with the fresh ingredients our chefs discover on the island, most notably the fresh local seafood we feature. We are committed to supporting local farmers and artisan food producers first, sustainable resources second, and organic third. Reservations are highly recommended.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

I had dinner at this lovely restaurant, the food was delicous, the atmosphere so romantic and I loved the musician in the background. It was a perfect evening and the staff was so nice!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pasares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    479
    67
    36
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Overpriced average food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We went to Café Pimlico while we were staying down in Hatteras, NC in July. We had a party of 14 and called ahead earlier that day with our reservation. We were told there were two other large parties that evening of 20+, but they still took our reservation. We arrived at 6:30 and the place was full, but we were seated right away. Our waitress told us the specials, but by the time we ordered a few minutes later, they were out of most of the specials so we had to change our order.

Several of us wanted to order the scallop appetizer and my nephew asked how large it was. The waitress told us it would be 4-5 scallops. When our appetizers came, we each received two scallops. Both of my scallops had sand in them. I also ordered the Blueberry and Pecan Salad. Mine was very bland and I couldn't taste the citrus vinaigrette. Some family members had problems with their tuna being overcooked. When the dessert orders were taken, our party ordered five crème brulees. The waitress came back a few minutes later and said they only had two left. We got the impression that the restaurant was not equipped to deal with the large number of customers that evening and had spread the food to make it go further. Portions were very small. I am okay with paying higher prices if the food quality is also high. Unfortunately, it was not.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank EAGarner78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBX_Innkeeper, Owner at Cafe Pamlico, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Regular readers of our reviews know that, while we strive for 100% satisfaction, we also strive to acknowledge where and when we fall short. When, however, statements are made which are demonstrably untrue, we feel the need to respond to such statements with empirical fact.

It is true that this party of 14 was seated at 6:30PM on 8/14/14. Their reservation, however, was for 5:30PM. The reviewer comments that their waitress told them the specials, but by the time they ordered a few minutes later, we were out of most of the specials, forcing them to change their order. They further note their impression that the restaurant was not equipped to deal with the large number of customers that evening and had spread the food to make it go further, that their scallop appetizer had only two scallops, and that their scallops contained sand.

Our restaurant does not have, nor ever has had, specials. As our website demonstrates, we have a regularly changing menu to accommodate the over 80% of hotel guests who dine with us each evening. We were full to capacity by reservation on the night this party dined with us, and had more than sufficient food supply to accommodate our reservations. There was no stretching of food.

Several in the party ordered Black Pepper Seared Sea Scallops. We use two types of local sea scallops for this dish. The large come under 10 scallops per pound, the small 18 - 22 per pound. We serve the appetizer with 3 large or 5 small. On the evening of 8/14, we served 3 large scallops per appetizer. There is no truth to the statement that only 2 scallops were served per appetizer. It is not possible for scallops to have had sand in them. The small granules are cracked black pepper, as described on our menu.

We are sorry the reviewer felt the Blueberry and Pecan Salad bland. We did run out of Creme Brulee, which we make fresh each evening. The party was seated late and ordered dessert late after a long dinner. According our records, no one in the party reported an over done tuna. As there are demonstrable and material errors in statements made by the reviewer, we invite the reader to question whether the report of tuna not done to order, contrary to records for the party, may be of questionable validity.

Steve Nelson
Owner and General Manager
The Inn on Pamlico Sound and Cafe Pamlico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
216 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Very very Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Our first night in Buxton so everything is relative right? Yes the atmosphere is nice and servers were friendly but the food was average at best. Not what I expect for a $100 dinner with my wife. This included a couple of appetizers, a main course and a glass of wine each. "lump" Crab cakes were breaded, scallops were small, salad was boring, Mashed potatoes were cold. Soup was very good though.

New server did not know the wine list.

Looks like we will cooking in our condo this week if this is really the number two restaurant in Buxton. Hmmm...makes me question the previous reviews. The reason why I'm more critical.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBX_Innkeeper, Owner at Cafe Pamlico, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
While we're glad this reviewer liked our atmosphere and staff, we were sorry to read their thoughts that our food was no more than average. We strive for freshest possible ingredients prepared by a trained master chef.

We ask that any patron who does not find each aspect of their experience to the high standards we set for our selves speak with one of our managers. While we strive for 100% satisfaction, we realize that we do not achieve it without exception. Our publicly stated policy is that it is right, we will make it right, or it is with our compliments. We ask this reviewer to contact me to provide feedback, and to permit us to follow through on our customer satisfaction policy.

Steve Nelson
CEO and General Manager
The Inn on Pamlico Sound and Cafe Pamlico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“delicious food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

newlyweds - my wife and I honeymooned at The Inn and had four dinners at the Cafe through the course of our stay. between us we tried everything on the menu - the duck, the tuna, the filet, shrimp scampi, and each of the appetizers along with each of the three desserts. as the old saying goes, do what you do and do it well, and the staff of Cafe Pamlico does exactly that.

the food was delicious - every single item was cooked to perfection and presented in a beautiful manner. especially recommend the duck, the scampi, and the crème brûlée.

it's not cheap, but you're not going to a place like this for a cheap meal. servers were attentive but not overbearing, drinks were excellent, live music was just right.

five stars, and I'm hard to please. don't miss out on the killer sunset views - check the time for sundown and make your reservation accordingly.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Virginia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

My fiancé and I wanted to spend our last night at the beach by going to a nice dinner. He found this restaurant on trip advisor and invited my sister and brother in law along. The atmosphere was perfect, the sunset was beautiful, the food was outstanding, and the staff was wonderful. Mandy (our fantastic waitress) recommended a few different wines and let us try each of them. We will definitely be visiting this restaurant again on our next trip.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Pamlico also viewed

Buxton, Hatteras Island
Avon, Hatteras Island
 
Buxton, Hatteras Island
Avon, Hatteras Island
 
Buxton, Hatteras Island
Hatteras Island, Outer Banks
 

Been to Cafe Pamlico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing