We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long Standing Best Bet on the Beach!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cape Hatteras Motel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Morris County, NJ
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Long Standing Best Bet on the Beach!”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Will preface this review by saying that we have been staying at the Cape Hatteras Motel for 40 years. Where once the father was the owner, the son now owns the property. I absolutely love the environment! Where some complain about price, I feel exactly the opposite! The weekly rate is amazing for ANY establishment on the beach! The four people in my family (myself, my husband, and my two children) rent one soundside apartment. My brother and his family of four rent an an adjacent soundside apartment. The kids run back and forth across the shared porch which is a great place for the adults to hang in a rocking chair with a cocktail and a great view of the lighthouse! It's togetherness without being TOO together, if you know what I mean. Each family has their own privacy in a 2 bedroom, full kitchen, full bathroom, and full living room unit. Plus, the price is certainly right! Wouldn't change a thins!

Pros:
Very private beach. No buildings for miles west of this motel!
Price
Proximity to the ocean and sound (its at the narrowest point of the island) (Thus the "storm hazard"!)
Roominess of apartments
Pool and hot tub open late and fun to go to with a refreshing "adult beverage"
Friendliness of staff
Love the idea that there is absolutely nothing for the kids to "nickel and dime me to death" over...
(Daily routine: beach, lunch, pool, dinner, pool or ice cream)
Free ice
Beach house experience without having to bring your own towels, sheets, etc.


Response to other reviewers "cons":
Housekeeping is not daily, if you need something, you will have to walk into the friendly office and ask for it...They will go OUT OF THEIR WAY to assist you!
(There is very little you will need as the kitchens are very well stocked.)
When your towels are dirty, you walk over, say hello to the staff and trade them in for a pile of warm, freshly washed ones. No big deal!
If you do not tell the management about a problem that you may have, how can they be expected to fix it!
Cups are normal hotel grade...smh!
It is a beach place that gets stung by storms every year...I have seen what Dave and crew go through after each one, and they are doing their best.
(My family actually lost 3 cars there during Hurricane Alex and even without power, Dave's concern for us was obvious and he comped us the us days without power and helped us find a room with power for our two small babies).

Stick with the family run businesses and enjoy yourself while supporting them!

Room Tip: If you have young kids, stick to soundside...They love to run back and forth to the pool, and we hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TeachNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
A long over due and much appreciated thank you! Cape Hatteras is not for the spoiled or high maintenance folks. For those who appreciate nature and everything her raw power can bring, it doesn't get much better than the Cape. Over the years your family has enjoyed the fun and the sun as well as running from approaching hurricanes. We owe the success of our business to people like you and will continue to strive to make your visits here comfortable and stress free. See you in August ! Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    87
    40
    18
    8
See reviews for
97
117
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Lovely quiet motel on the sea, literally: you do not even need flip flop to get on the beach.
Breakfast is on the other side of the road, walking distance.
Price is a bit high, but it may worth the location.
WIFI is a bit overloaded, but works.

Room Tip: there is a good explanation on the website, all room face the ocean. from there see if you prefer u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gioalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We had an ocean front king room. Location was great, bed was comfortable, shower was good, a/c was excellent. However, for $185/night we expected a little more. The room was shabby, the inside of the door was dirty, they provided one mini-bar of soap to be shared between the shower and the sink, coffee-maker with no filters (had to go to the office across the highway to get a few,) cheap thin plastic and styrofoam cups, no kleenex (had to go across the highway and get a box,) lightbulb missing over sink, bottom of iron too dirty to use, one ice machine across the highway (again!) and the wifi which they claim to provide worked once in 96 hours (tried all times of day and different locations!) One hand towel provided for 2 guests - got a second one when I asked housekeeping, but never got a second one on the other days. The one time we turned on the TV, the remote didn't work. Would not stay here again or recommend this motel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Momcat60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Nice quiet little motel which had a comfortable, safe atmosphere. Took four teenagers to the beach for the 4th of July week and this was a wonderful little motel. I have stayed in many 5 star luxury hotels around the world, but have never stayed so very close to the ocean. It was beautiful. Be warned, if you want to do anything other than sit and play at the beach all day, Buxton, NC is not the place for you. It is very quiet and simple- very few dining choices or activities. But if all you want is to wake up, take a walk on the beach, body-surf, sit under an umbrella and read or nap, well, you will be happy here. The room itself could use with an carpet change, but other than that it was spotless. We stayed second floor- ocean front. Perfect view and the rockers on the porch were a nice touch.Our in-room air conditioner unit went out on our first night, but the staff installed a window unit that kept us cool all week long. The bathroom was clean and large, but not much water pressure to the shower. The pool area was well kept and clean, but we spent the week in the sand. If I ever go back to Buxton, I would happily stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kokimole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballwin, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This motel had a lot of positives. We stayed in the 2 queen beds oceanfront efficiency room. You can not be any closer to the beach! It was great to just walk outside my door and be at the beach. The only thing that was a little annoying was that since we were on the first floor the dune obstructed the view a little if you wanted to see the beach while you were sitting on the porch outside the room, but it didn't really bother me as much as I thought it would. The rooms were nice, very spacious (especially the bathroom, it was huge) and the little kitchenette area was nice to have. The linens were pretty dated but everything was very clean. The staff were all very nice and courteous. My only real complaint about the motel was the noise level. It seems like you can hear everything. The people upstairs, the neighbors next door, and anyone who walks past. I stayed there 5 nights and had multiple different "neighbors", the amount of noise did vary on who was staying, but even the quietest people we could still occasionally hear. Otherwise, it was a great place to stay and I would probably stay there again despite the noise problem.

Room Tip: I would recommend a second floor room to have a better view and to help reduce some of the noise lev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willow Spring, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

My wife and I just got back from a 3 day stay. We took our 2-month old daughter with us as well. It was her first trip to the beach!
We enjoyed the motel and have already recommended it to friends. No, it isn't a 5 star resort, but it is exactly what we needed.
We had an ocean-front king room. The room was spacious and the bathroom was great. The best part were the rocking chairs right outside the room. We LOVED sitting out there at night.
You can hear the waves crashing even with the windows and door closed. I slept like a baby every night listening to the sound of the ocean.
The motel itself was very quiet and we were not disturbed by anyone at any time. There are plenty of nearby places to eat and grab dessert if you want.
The bed was very comfortable, the TV was fine (even though we didn't watch much). The wifi is spotty, but I had a full 4G signal the whole time on my phone, so I really didn't need the wifi.
We will definitely be staying here in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bdubls1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed at the Cape Hatteras Motel twice (June16-21 & June30-July5), and enjoyed it immensely both times. The first stay was in a townhouse unit, the second in 2 rooms with 2 queen beds each. Both times we loved the location. Yes, the furnishings are simple and dated, but hey - they were clean and worked just fine! The beds in the queens room had new down comforters on them and were very comfy. Appreciated the flat screen TVs with cable - especially the Disney and Nick channels for the kiddos. WiFi was in-and-out, but was handy to have when it did work. The location cannot be beat! Since it's the last hotel in Buxton before an empty stretch of miles of highway/shore to Avon, you have some unbeatable views and it's very uncrowded. Also loved having the connivence of Avon Food Lion being 5 minutes away (especially when we stayed in the townhouse with a full kitchen). One of the best parts also was the Shipwreck Grill across the street. We ate there almost every day. But - back to the hotel. Very, very friendly and helpful staff as well. *Only* critique would be that there was no housekeeping service in the townhouse unit, meaning we had to walk our dirty towels across the street to the office every day when we wanted new ones. Not that big a deal, but would have been nice to have them delivered to our unit. In conclusion, the best thing I can say is that YES we recommend this to friends, and we'll be back next year for sure!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K8ln0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.2 mi away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
10.4 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#7 of 11 in Hatteras Island
133 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cape Pines Motel
Cape Pines Motel
#2 of 6 in Buxton
305 reviews
0.0 mi away
Outer Banks Motel
Outer Banks Motel
#5 of 6 in Buxton
151 reviews
10.5 mi away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#4 of 5 in Hatteras Island
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Hatteras Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Hatteras Motel

Property: Cape Hatteras Motel
Address: 46556 Hwy 12, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Cape Hatteras Motel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Hatteras Motel is located on the oceanfront in Buxton North Carolina. We are located about a mile down the beach from the famous Cape Hatteras Lighthouse. The motel is bordered by the Cape Hatteras National Seashore and the Atlantic Ocean. The motel has a fresh water pool with a hot tub. When conditions are safe, our beach is great for swimming and surfing. It is also one of the best places in the country to surf fish. We are about ten miles from the marinas at Hatteras Inlet. Boats out of Hatteras have the shortest run to the gulf stream north of Florida. There is also a fishing pier five miles north of Cape Hatteras Motel. We offer oceanfront rooms with either one king or two queen beds. We also offer two bedroom suites, complete with full kitchens.These units are complete with linens and dishes. All units have access to free Wi-Fi, flat screen TVs and air conditioning. Whether you are coming to Cape Hatteras to surf or kite board, windsurf or fish, or maybe to just walk our miles of National Seashore beaches; the Cape Hatteras Motel is the place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cape Hatteras Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Hatteras Motel Hotel Buxton
Cape Hatteras Hotel
Cape Hatteras Motel Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing