We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't let the picture deceive you”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cape Hatteras Motel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Buxton
Albany, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“don't let the picture deceive you”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I am disappointed that the picture of the Cape Hatteras Motel on the Ocean is not the way it looks at all. The owner needs to change this. We could not stay there last week because the Ocean was under the building and it had been condemned. My dream vacation of being on the Ocean never came to pass. We had to stay in another motel. We were never able to do anything outdoors that had been planned because of the wind and weather. I understand that's "mother nature" so be it, but the Motel is not what the pictures show,that can be changed before others are disppointed as well.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
Helpful?
2 Thank Teri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
I'm sorry the weather spoiled your vacation. None of our buildings were condemned. We relocated you to another hotel because the storm damaged the heat pumps to one of our buildings. Because it was Easter week we had full occupancy and had to relocate some of the guests staying in this building. The heat pumps have been repaired, the storm is over and the water has receded. People once again are enjoying the beach and catching fish right behind the hotel. I understand you were disappointed, we were too. Storms are a part of life on the Outer Banks. They wash beach away only to put it back days later. This is the dynamics of a barrier Island. I hope you will come back to Hatteras and experience our wonderful beaches and hopefully calmer seas. Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    84
    40
    18
    8
See reviews for
96
115
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

My husband and I came for our honeymoon and were AMAZED at how clean, hospitable, and friendly everyone was. The location of the room was right on the beach, board games to borrow, and free coffee in the room :) It is the best example of how a family-owned business should operate. All staff were willing to go the extra mile to accommodate our desires.

Room Tip: I am not sure if there is a fitness center - rated it 'excellent' on accident. Room service...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 718lelder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Your response to your stay with us is what makes me look forward to coming to work in the morning! Thank you. Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Kent, Virginia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This may not be a fair review because we didn't actually stay on the property, but good customer service is a rare thing today and when I experience it, I want to share it. We had reservations for an oceanfront room for two nights here..... taking Flat Stanley on adventures for our granddaughter. When we arrived at approximately 3PM, a storm was brewing. The manager (could be owner too, from other posts I've read here) told us straight up that the rooms on the ocean side could flood and we should consider staying on the sound side instead. He offered to upgrade us to an efficiency if we opted to stay on the sound side and added, if we'd like to stay across the street at the Lighthouse View Motel, he'd call and see if they had oceanfront rooms, which they did. He explained that the Lighthouse View Property is not as vulnerable to storms, since it sits a little further back from the ocean and has dune protection. He stressed that our protection was his priority and as I mentioned, HE called the Lighthouse View Property to make sure they had an oceanfront room before we came over here. We thanked him kindly and told him that we would return at a later date and stay in his motel. Of course it's "off season" so most things are closed, but we knew that before we came. We plan to take the ferry to Ocracoke Island tomorrow if it's running. I'll probably write a separate review for the Lighthouse View Hotel later. We walked over to the Cape Hatteras Motel buildings on the oceanside and can see why they might have issues with extreme high tides. They're trying their best to keep the ocean at bay, but it's creeping in on them. The view from there would be fabulous. I saw rocking chairs on the front porches (decks) which would be perfect to watch and listen to the ocean. We can do that here too of course, just not quite as close, but I can here it roar and crash even with the windows closed. Should make for a great night's sleep.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ettavau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We have had quite a battle with storms this winter, as most of the country has. Thank you for understanding our plight. Being the closest hotel to the ocean has it's issues during bad storms. Best ocean views in the world until Mother Nature gets upset. Come see us next time you are on the Outer Banks and thank you again. Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDU
Level Contributor
106 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

What a great place to stay, especially during off season when it's quiet! Anytime actually! Owners are great and location is perfect. Sound and Sea are at their closest here. Opt for a room on ocean side of road. The Townhouses are perfect for a family with full kitchens and outstanding views. Ask for the Townhouse on end for more privacy and on top floor. No elevators. Grocery Store not far North in Avon.

Room Tip: Top floor on Ocean side of road. Townhouse on end of building is great with more privacy. Possibly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JayBoRdu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you. The townhouses are the most private as no one is above or below you as the unit occupies both floors. Hope to see you again soon! Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Va Marion
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

The room was clean it was peace and quit the view of the ocean was nice every friend people down there they family had a blast down there we stayed a couple more days the beds were really soft the bath room was nice to have

Room Tip: The beds are really soft
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cheyenne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilbolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Wow what a perfect location! We travelled here from the UK and heading south from Rodanthe, this motel is the first building you come across on your way into Buxton. This is our 3rd hotel on our trip and whilst the other 2 were very good indeed and slightly more up-market, this is the Motel/Hotel we would love to return to.

Its location is so stunning, it's unbelievable...! It's a series of old buildings. We were lucky enough to ask for, and 'get' a room on the top floor where the view over the ocean is awesome!! Sleeping to the sound of crashing waves has been on my bucket list for many years and I can now tick this off as one of my most amazing experiences. You don't mind waking often through the night when it’s to enjoy the sounds of the ocean's crashing waves. Block 'C' room 312 and 310 seem to us to be the perfect rooms, however if you're ocean front, it's going to be a delight anyway.

The motel is good, and perfectly adequate and we have no complaints, other than the fact that WiFi was a non-event. Not the Motel's fault, they tell us, but not enough band width is available and, over our 3 day stay, we didn't manage to get connected once but, hey...... in a location like this.... forget the rest of the world and just enjoy the ocean's view and sounds; and, you can get connected across the road at the poolside.

I say 3 day stay because, we enjoyed this motel and its location so much, we stayed an extra day as it was too good to leave.

Note that no breakfast is offered but, there's a plentiful supply of coffee and the rooms have a coffee maker, toaster, fridge and hairdryer, so reasonably well equipped.

We both highly recommend this motel. GREAT value!!!! and very friendly and helpful staff and owners too. It seems it's probably a family run business as we met the father and his delightful daughter. I hope we make it back there some day as we enjoyed it so much.

Room Tip: Choose Block 'C' rooms 310 or 312, they are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sofisticat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed our week at Cape Hatteras Motel. We mainly come to the OBX to fish so this place looked perfect. We were not disappointed when we arrived. The room was large and the bed comfortable. We had a kitchen that was stocked with everything we needed. Front desk was friendly and very helpful. My only worry is that the place is losing its beach. I really hope that it can be stopped before it does damage to the motel.
I would highly recommend this hotel who wants a truly beautiful ocean view room.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vicfin66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.2 mi away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
2.9 mi away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
10.4 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#6 of 11 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#9 of 11 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cape Pines Motel
Cape Pines Motel
#2 of 6 in Buxton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Outer Banks Motel
Outer Banks Motel
#5 of 6 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Hatteras Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Hatteras Motel

Property: Cape Hatteras Motel
Address: 46556 Hwy 12, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Cape Hatteras Motel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Hatteras Motel is located on the oceanfront in Buxton North Carolina. We are located about a mile down the beach from the famous Cape Hatteras Lighthouse. The motel is bordered by the Cape Hatteras National Seashore and the Atlantic Ocean. The motel has a fresh water pool with a hot tub. When conditions are safe, our beach is great for swimming and surfing. It is also one of the best places in the country to surf fish. We are about ten miles from the marinas at Hatteras Inlet. Boats out of Hatteras have the shortest run to the gulf stream north of Florida. There is also a fishing pier five miles north of Cape Hatteras Motel. We offer oceanfront rooms with either one king or two queen beds. We also offer two bedroom suites, complete with full kitchens.These units are complete with linens and dishes. All units have access to free Wi-Fi, flat screen TVs and air conditioning. Whether you are coming to Cape Hatteras to surf or kite board, windsurf or fish, or maybe to just walk our miles of National Seashore beaches; the Cape Hatteras Motel is the place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cape Hatteras Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Hatteras Motel Hotel Buxton
Cape Hatteras Hotel
Cape Hatteras Motel Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing