We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cape Hatteras Motel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Sea Gull Motel(Hatteras Island)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Village Marina Motel(Hatteras Island)
View Hotel
The Breakwater Inn(Hatteras Island)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Reviews (288)
Filter reviews
288 results
Traveller rating
133
86
41
19
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
133
86
41
19
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrocking chairsoceanfront roombuilding cthe outer bankssound of the wavessaw dolphinsocean sidebeach loverscoffee makertop floora great place to stayfell asleepevery morningice machinebed was very comfortablesmall fridgefour nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
161 - 166 of 288 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Good and bad. I booked a 2 bedroom suite in Feb. I was told I was in C209. I didn't want to be on the 3rd floor with no elevator due too bad knee's. My wife called 10 days before arrival and a lady told her we were in 209 which was good because the floors were new and the laundry was just downstairs. At arrival I was told by a man that I was in 307 and there was no record of a request of 2nd floor and no notes. Weird since I was assured at booking by him 209 and 10 days prior a lady told my wife 209. How would she have known ? MAYBE THE NOTES???? The man told me it was the last room, basically take it or turn around and drive 6 hours. Obviously somebody checked in before me and saw the 3rd floor with no elevator and got them to switch them. I had 2 ligaments in my knee redone in April and every time I went up that 3rd flight I was pissed all over again. I should have been offered something or at least an apology. Instead the man at checkout would not look me in the eye and LIED to me. Shame on you. The other bad is the walls,floors, are thin and you will hear everything. On the positive it was clean, the pool was clean, you can't get any closer to the beach. Overall a good stay except for the surrounding noise of my fellow travelers. The clothesline was a bonus. Robbie Anderson

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank RobbieAnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

The floors in all of the oceanfront suites were changed to tile at the same time a couple of years ago. The top floor(307) is generally quieter as no one is walking above you as it is the top floor. We try to accommodate our guests request for special rooms. Now that we are able to accept reservations from on line travel agents it is much more difficult to grant these requests. The computer yells them we have open nights in a particular room type and the reservation is accepted. What the computer can't tell them is that the openings were not all in the same room so we have to make adjustments so our guests don't have to move from room to room. You were originally booked in 209 but we had to adjust the reservations so another guest could stay consecutive nights and not have to move. There were no notes about your bad knee and that was probably my fault and I apologize for that. I also apologized when you checked in and even offered you a full refund as the motel was full and I had no other room to offer but you decided to stay. You said nothing about it at check out and quite frankly, after a week I had totally forgotten about it. I can sympathize with your bad knee, but you crossed the line when you questioned my character. That is unacceptable and counter productive. The readers of these reviews deserve better. Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This place has two big groups of units; one is right on the beach (almost in the water) which undoubtedly is a great experience, the other is across the road. The latter has essentially no view; it is where we stayed in a kitchen unit on the ground floor. Elderly unit and sparsely furnished, especially for a place that in principle can house 5 people; but ok for a basic beach holiday if you plan to spend minimal time inside. Bathroom needs some attention. Top of fridge was filthy, and only 3 drinking glasses in the cabinet. The price is right if you actually have 5 folks in there and have modest expectations, but it is a bit marginal.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank trinhard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

I am sorry you had a less than expected experience. Many times multiple families traveling together stay in our sound side suites and end up dining in one unit, thus all the dishes end up there as well. That is no excuse however as housekeeping should have caught that. If that situation occurs again, please call the office and you will quickly receive glasses or any other items we may have overlooked. Thank you. Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

i hesitate to write a review because this place is still unspoiled. We were able to walk for miles, exploring, gathering shells, and enjoying the waves and healing salt air. If you want the ocean, you will love this location. Evidently the folks who stay at this location feel the same way I do. It was quiet, and I was able to totally unwind and relax during a short stay. I'm going back, God willing, and praying Hurricane Arthur will spare this landmark motel.

Room Tip: A lot of stairs to climb if you are on second floor. No problems with parking, and I loved this place.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank angelic_prescription
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Plan was to only spend one night but ended up staying 2 nights ! Right on the ocean!! The first night was with the Ocean view ....Right out the front door ! Second night we changed rooms ( last minute we stayed an extra night ) We stayed on the other side of the road . Nice big rooms kitchen, etc . Would recomend if staying for a few days !

Room Tip: I would choose the Ocean front rooms !!!! What a GREAT VIEW !
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank redtracker3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

So glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This was our first trip to The Outer Banks. We looked for a place to stay for myself, my husband and our 3 children. I had heard all the motels/hotels there were outdated and kind of "smelly". However, Cape Hatteras Motel was a little of both but it didn't discourage us at all. We had a great stay and the manager/owner of the property was extremely nice and personable. We stayed in a sound side suite which was perfect for our family of 5. We had always vacationed where there was alot to do with children but this trip we wanted something more laid back and not as busy. There was still plenty to do and it was very nice to go to the beach without seeing all the commercialism with high rise hotels. Our children LOVED where we stayed and said they had a great time! We had a great vacation and we will be going back there again! :) If you want "fancy" and shoulder to shoulder people then this is not the place for you. If you want laid back and reserved and quiet then this is place to go!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wendy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews