We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Already booked a week reservation for April”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cape Hatteras Motel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Buxton
mcmullen828
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Already booked a week reservation for April”
Reviewed 17 February 2009

Very friendly staff! BEAUTIFUL surrounding and awesome ocean view! (rented townhome). Our first morning waking up there, looked out the window to see about 30 dolphins out in the water!!! Our 14 month old had a blast! Very nice place to just relax and unwind! When we left, we booked Easter week in April and I am already on countdown! We also left our digital camera by accident, they offered to mail it back to us (shipping paid). Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcmullen828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    83
    40
    18
    8
See reviews for
96
114
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lumberton
Level Contributor
122 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2008

If you want a great location directly on the beach for a great off season rate, this is the place. You will want a beach side 2nd or 3rd floor room. It looks directly over the beach and ocean. In the off season there are many mild days great for fishing, walking, getting away, and not seeing many people. It is quiet and the rooms are nice with frigs and stuff. It is Carolina so there will be many smoking rooms.

  • Liked — Location on the Beach
  • Disliked — Smoking Rooms
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gonefishing85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2008

I've visited the Outer Banks many times but never stayed south of Nags Head. We took a long weekend trip stopping in Corolla and then heading on to Buxton to spend two nights. This hotel was a great find and I have nothing but positive comments. The staff was very friendly, accomodations were surprisingly large and the location -- FABULOUS! We could see the Cape Hatteras lighthouse from our front porch! The hotel, like most others in the area, is older but definitely met our needs. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and will most certainly plan to next year, if not sooner!

  • Liked — The location was wonderful and the room (soundfront apartment) was huge!
  • Disliked — No free continental breakfast, which seems standard these days.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DizTravelMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mebane, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2008

I have been staying at this location since the late 1970s when it was then called Cape Hatteras Court. The owners are wonderful and their pride of the property shows.

The location is at the north end of Buxton, right at the edge of the Cape Hatteras National Seashore. With rooms on both the ocean and sound side of the highway, there is something for everyone. The ocean side rooms and apartments are newer and are regularly renovated (thanks to the sometimes violent ocean lapping on the foundations). These give the vacationer the best view of the ocean anywhere on Hatteras due to the low dune and forward decks. The apartments on the sound side are showing their age, but are a great value for the growing family or group of friends. This is especially true for younger children as the pool is on this side of the busy highway 12. Sunset views are good from this side, but would be better if there were a back porch or wider windows in the bedrooms.

All-in-all, this property is very nice though a bit pricey for what you are getting. This is simply a matter of supply and demand b/c they are booked pretty much all summer long. If you can save up some coin, go here and stay in the oceanfront apartments or oceanfront efficiencies... before a big storm decides to take back the beach!

  • Liked — Beachfront location and Hot tub
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank LeebytheSea35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cape may, n.j.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2007

My wife and I took our 14 yr. old son and two of his buddies to the Outter Banks this past week to celebrate his birthday. We stayed at the Cape Hatteras Motel for four nights. We had a three story town house with two bedrooms, two baths, a full kitchen and living room. The balconies from the master bedroom and the third floor living room faced directly onto the ocean. The beach was only a stone's throw away and we could actually watch the boys surf from the balconies. The rooms were very clean and well furnished. On the second day, the a.c. went out in our unit and could not be quickly repaired. The management promptly relocated us to another ocean front unit and deleted a full night's charge from our bill for our inconvenience. We felt that this was extremely generous and was totally unsolicited. The staff could not have been more friendly or helpful. Overall, we were more than satishied and would most definitely return for a future stay.

  • Liked — location and service
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank betty729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROCHESTER, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2007

The Cape Hatteras Motal was a wonderful surprise. I was looking for some untouched beachfront, some seagrass, and miles of sand without a lot of tourists. I stayed at the end of May and enjoyed rocking on the porch outside my room. I lwatched surfers playing with the waves by day, and I slept with the waves lappying at the shore just over the dune. I could walk up the untouched coastline, follow the sandcrabs back to their holes, and snap pictures of the seabirds.
The rooms are right on the Atlantic Beach as you enter Buxton. There are no neighbors to the north, just miles of sand and ocean. It was a beautiful rejuvenating place with a fine accomodation and friendly service. I will return as often as I can.

  • Liked — lOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION!!!
  • Disliked — SANDY FEET?
  • Stayed May 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CHAPMAN575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2007

A great time was had by all. My husband, me and our two children stayed at this hotel for a 3 day weekend in May 2007. We had an oceanfront hotel room. It was large and very clean. The rooms look like they were recently updated. The staff was friendly and accommodating. I can't complain about a thing.The kids had a great time crabbing in the sound behind the hotel.

  • Liked — Clean Room, Nice View
  • Disliked — Pool was cold
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smparker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.2 mi away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
2.9 mi away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
10.4 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#6 of 11 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#9 of 11 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cape Pines Motel
Cape Pines Motel
#2 of 6 in Buxton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Outer Banks Motel
Outer Banks Motel
#5 of 6 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Hatteras Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Hatteras Motel

Property: Cape Hatteras Motel
Address: 46556 Hwy 12, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Cape Hatteras Motel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Hatteras Motel is located on the oceanfront in Buxton North Carolina. We are located about a mile down the beach from the famous Cape Hatteras Lighthouse. The motel is bordered by the Cape Hatteras National Seashore and the Atlantic Ocean. The motel has a fresh water pool with a hot tub. When conditions are safe, our beach is great for swimming and surfing. It is also one of the best places in the country to surf fish. We are about ten miles from the marinas at Hatteras Inlet. Boats out of Hatteras have the shortest run to the gulf stream north of Florida. There is also a fishing pier five miles north of Cape Hatteras Motel. We offer oceanfront rooms with either one king or two queen beds. We also offer two bedroom suites, complete with full kitchens.These units are complete with linens and dishes. All units have access to free Wi-Fi, flat screen TVs and air conditioning. Whether you are coming to Cape Hatteras to surf or kite board, windsurf or fish, or maybe to just walk our miles of National Seashore beaches; the Cape Hatteras Motel is the place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cape Hatteras Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Hatteras Motel Hotel Buxton
Cape Hatteras Hotel
Cape Hatteras Motel Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing