We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not what we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cape Hatteras Motel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“not what we expected”
Reviewed 9 June 2010

the view was incrediable but the room was dirty. We asked for non-smoking room and got one that smelled horrible. The towels were paper thin and smelled of cigarette smoke. Our sheets did NOT look as if they had been washed. The light fixtures did not have covers on them. The bathroom did not appear clean. We had an oceanfront room - you had to cross the street in the back of the office to get ice (not the best location for ice). I would not stay there again. Pool was also across the street and behind the office. The porch with rocking chairs are wonderful to view the ocean. But, I now know why they do not show you the room online. I don't mind a no-frill room but I do expect it to be clean. The price for the room for high considering the lack of cleanliness.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viviwinchester_TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeHatterasGroup, Owner at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
I am very sorry for the bad experience. All of our rooms are now non smoking and there is a picture of every room type on our web site. Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    86
    40
    18
    8
See reviews for
96
117
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Yorktown, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2010

We stayed for one night with two small children. The room was clean, carpet felt damp. The bathrooms are huge. There was a massive pile of wooden scraps in front of our room, looked to be storm remnants ???? I could hear the people above us snoring and the people beside us doin the dirty. Pillows were rock hard. Not many restaurants in the general vicinity.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeep3144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2010

The best single feature of this excellent motel is its location on the beach. I'd personally recommend asking for a room on the ocean side (as opposed to the sound side, because there are waves on the ocean side) -- and on either the second or third floor, for the view. I happen to be a simple soul who finds it rejuvenating to sit in the sun and watch the surf rolling up on to a quiet beach. Or to read a book with the ocean as background noise. I can do it for hours, and this is an ideal spot for it.

The beach itself was clean, attractive and almost deserted. I walked about a mile in either direction from the motel and saw almost no one.

The motel is functional and unpretentious. The room itself was well-kept and unusually clean for a beachfront place. Including tax, a room with two queen-size beds cost less than $100 -- very reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NameAlreadyTaken75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2009

Cape Hatteras Motel is located directly on the beach. Best rooms are on the second and third floors. It is just outside of Buxton, next to a long, uncrowded beach. We found the accommodations to be very clean, I personally loved the little kitchennette area that had a microwave, fridge and separate sink basin. If you plan to visit Cape Hatteras National Seashore, this would be the place to stay, it is centrally located and uncrowded. The beach was not crowded even though we visited Labor Day weekend. This is truly a hiddgen gem!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaur_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bartlett, NH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2009

Even though there are just two of us, We always stay in one of the two floor suites, ask for the one furthest on the north hand end. Whenever we have been there it's been quiet with no noisy neighbors...We like that. We like the fact that it's on the older side, windows actually open and the ocean is always right there in your face...unlike many of the newer hotels where once inside you hardly know you're at the ocean... Bring a bottle of windex so you can clean your sliding glass door for the view...I don't know why, but all the times we have been there it seems no one washes the windows...but not a big deal. The kitchen is good sized and well equipped. No phones, but we don't go there to blabber on the phone and we sure don't need anyone calling us. Staff has always been friendly and helpful. Have not been able to get back there for the past two years, but hope to go again soon. If you are a chronic griper who needs lots of attention and hand-holding then you should stay at the national chain hotel which is right next door.

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david4821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2009

We loved our stay at this beach-side motel and it met all of our expectations.

It's one of the best - if not THE best - located motel in the Cape Hatteras area of the Outer Banks. It has two sets of buildings -- one on the sound side of the main road through the island and one set on the beach side. We were on the beach side, up on the third floor, which gave us an amazing view over the dunes to the beach and the ocean. The motel has a deck with rocking chairs across the beach side of the building so you can sit and enjoy the sounds of the water and the view.

Also, while the motel has neighbors in the form of rental cottages to the south, there's nothing but beach and dunes to the north, so the beach is a little more private than in some other areas.

The room was fine. It was a fairly typical motel room. It was pretty clean although not perfect. It had a dated bathroom but it served our purposes perfectly. It had a mini-fridge that was in good shape. If your expectations are reasonable - older motel - you'll be fine with this place.

It has easy access to the beach, a little rental place where you can get chairs, etc, and the beach is amazing. The surf really pounds and the sand is very soft.

I can't say enough about this great location. There were plenty of restaurants and shops close by, although you pretty much drive to everything - not walk - in this area.

No Internet access. You have to go to nearby restaurants to get wi-fi. My Sprint wireless card wouldn't even work.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lsted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WI
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2009

Our family was looking for a good value for lodging while vacationing on the Outer Banks. We found it. And in looking at the other options, I'm glad we made this selection.
Location: East; ocean. West: Sound, North: wildlife/seashore, South: Buxton/shopping. The ocean view rooms are on the east side of the highway, while the Sound-side rooms (that we had) were on the west sideof the highway. Theoretically, this could be a problem for those of you with kids; it wasn't for us.

Instead of the motel room style accommodations that provide the ocean view, we opted for the family functional two bedroom with living room and kitchen. The few photos depicting the facility indicate a more modern decor than what we had in our room, but it was just fine, nonetheless. The kitchen was adequately equipped with what we needed, which allowed us to save a little money to spend on other things in the area. There was no luxury, but it was comfortable, functional, and clean. We opted for cooking breakfast and dinner, and enjoying lunch at a restaurant, which is usually a little less expensive.

The young man handling the front desk duties was particularly polite when I called for reservations and during check-in/checkout, and when I had questions.

Access to the beach requried crossing the highway (do a big deal) and walking between the ocean side buildings. The beach was just fine, a little steeper than the beach's edge a few miles south at the public access points near the lighthouse. Again, not an issue, though.

To the north was wild/seashore. While on the shore, I saw dolphins passing early in the morning, just after sunrise. On the Sound-side, I saw herons, Osprey, and other bird life. In the wter, I was entertained by a handful of crabs acquiring their morning meals in the shallow water.

To the south was shopping that Buxton provides and the Cape Hatteras Lighthouse. There is more wildlife and seashore to enjoy around and to the south of the Lighthouse.

One day, we south to Cape Hatteras and took the ferry to Ocracoke. Cape Hatteras offers a fishing area where you can see the morning's fresh catch being cleaned up. Ocracoke offers the same, with a bit more of a touristy feel. The Ocracoke Lighthouse is a brief, pleasant stop; you can't tour the Ocracoke Lighthouse.

We included a little high speed fun by renting a wave runner in Cape Hatteras. That was some exilerating fun for the family.

My wife and I agreed that it would be nice to have an ocean view, but the two bedroom with living room and kitchen was a better family choice.

Oh yes, kitchen and appliances: good & clean. bathroom: good and clean, not large, and counter space is lacking (but there is counter space in the bedrooms. Bedrooms each had a couple and twin bed. Internet access was available. TV: small tube-style with cable choices, but hey, who wastes their time watchign TV when there is other stuff to enjoy in the area.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TDubbDubb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.2 mi away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
2.9 mi away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
10.4 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#7 of 11 in Hatteras Island
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cape Pines Motel
Cape Pines Motel
#2 of 6 in Buxton
300 reviews
0.0 mi away
Outer Banks Motel
Outer Banks Motel
#5 of 6 in Buxton
147 reviews
10.5 mi away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#4 of 5 in Hatteras Island
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Hatteras Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Hatteras Motel

Property: Cape Hatteras Motel
Address: 46556 Hwy 12, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Cape Hatteras Motel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Hatteras Motel is located on the oceanfront in Buxton North Carolina. We are located about a mile down the beach from the famous Cape Hatteras Lighthouse. The motel is bordered by the Cape Hatteras National Seashore and the Atlantic Ocean. The motel has a fresh water pool with a hot tub. When conditions are safe, our beach is great for swimming and surfing. It is also one of the best places in the country to surf fish. We are about ten miles from the marinas at Hatteras Inlet. Boats out of Hatteras have the shortest run to the gulf stream north of Florida. There is also a fishing pier five miles north of Cape Hatteras Motel. We offer oceanfront rooms with either one king or two queen beds. We also offer two bedroom suites, complete with full kitchens.These units are complete with linens and dishes. All units have access to free Wi-Fi, flat screen TVs and air conditioning. Whether you are coming to Cape Hatteras to surf or kite board, windsurf or fish, or maybe to just walk our miles of National Seashore beaches; the Cape Hatteras Motel is the place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Cape Hatteras Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Hatteras Motel Hotel Buxton
Cape Hatteras Hotel
Cape Hatteras Motel Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing