We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Seafood!!”
Review of Diamond Shoals

Diamond Shoals
Ranked #4 of 22 Restaurants in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$30
Cuisines: Sushi, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Located adjacent to the Cape Hatteras Lighthouse, Diamond Shoals Restaurant has been serving up the finest local fare for decades. Known for its friendly atmosphere, fresh seafood and southern hospitality, folks have been coming back to Diamond Shoals, year after year, for its award winning clam chowder and crab bisque, homemade crab cakes, and Hatteras Island's only sushi bar. Enjoy a selection of steaks, sandwiches, the island's largest salad bar, an extensive kids menu, and fresh seafood caught by local fishermen.
cincinnati, oh
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Seafood!!”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We ate dinner here in the offseason, we actually arrived about 15 minutes before they closed and they welcomed us, and dinner wasn't rushed at all! Staff was very accommodating and the grouper and mahi were fantastic!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cprather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith G, Owner at Diamond Shoals, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for the fantastic review! I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience dining with us. It's really important to us that each guest feels welcomed and accommodated -- even if we're about to close!

How was the atmosphere? Did you enjoy the beer selection? We're always looking for ways we can better serve our customers, so I'd love to hear if you have any suggestions on ways we can improve.

Take care,

Keith Gray, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    211
    87
    32
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manteo, North Carolina
Level Contributor
86 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good Chowder”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We ate here in the off season and it was a cozy place to grab dinner. The chowder was good, beer selection nice, service even better. I imagine it gets crowded in season.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank buckeyebrando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith G, Owner at Diamond Shoals, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write this review, Brandon! I'm thrilled that you found our place cozy, our chowder good, and our service even better.

What could we do better for you next time? We're always looking for ways to improve.

Looking forward to continuing the conversation,

Keith Gray, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Our go to place for lunch!!!!”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

They are known for their award winning clam chowder and rightly so!!!! I could eat it by the tub-full!!! We stop here for lunch atleast one time while staying on the OBX. I usually get the fried clam strips and fries.. NOT the usual frozen clam strips like they serve at some of the local buffets and other restaurants. These are seriously FRESH clams and they are battered and fried to golden perfection!!! I'm drooling as I type this.. And of course, I also have a bowl of creamy clam chowder. For a lunch portion, it's alot of food and so worth it!! My hubby usually gets the mushroom swiss burger and raves about it for months until we come back for lunch again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jaymie z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith G, Owner at Diamond Shoals, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thanks for the glowing review, Jaymie. I'm sure there's a way to start serving clam chowder by the tub full--maybe some additions are in order?

We really do appreciate the praise. There's nothing we love more than hearing just the thought of our food makes your mouth water!

Can't wait to see you again,

Keith Gray, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDU
Level Contributor
114 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Seafood!”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Enjoyed this restaurant very much. A little pricey but the food was excellent. Open during Winter months. Very little else open until Summer. Salad Bar OK but menu items great.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank JayBoRdu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, Virginia 24574
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AWESOME !!!”
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

One cannot go to the outer banks without dining here, believe me, you will go back each year!!! Wonderful fresh catch!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith G, Owner at Diamond Shoals, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
We appreciate such a wonderful review, Sharon. Thanks for writing it back in February. We're thrilled to hear that you'll be back here each year for our fresh fish!

See you soon,

Keith Gray, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Diamond Shoals also viewed

Buxton, Hatteras Island
Buxton, Hatteras Island
 
Avon, Hatteras Island
Buxton, Hatteras Island
 

Been to Diamond Shoals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing