We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Seafood Platter with a Sushi Bar Chef with a potty mouth.”
Review of Diamond Shoals

Diamond Shoals
Ranked #4 of 22 Restaurants in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Sushi, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located adjacent to the Cape Hatteras Lighthouse, Diamond Shoals Restaurant has been serving up the finest local fare for decades. Known for its friendly atmosphere, fresh seafood and southern hospitality, folks have been coming back to Diamond Shoals, year after year, for its award winning clam chowder and crab bisque, homemade crab cakes, and Hatteras Island's only sushi bar. Enjoy a selection of steaks, sandwiches, the island's largest salad bar, an extensive kids menu, and fresh seafood caught by local fishermen.
Charles Town, West Virginia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Very Good Seafood Platter with a Sushi Bar Chef with a potty mouth.”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I passed through Buxton as part of a return trip from Morehead City last Wednesday. (A word of advice, NEVER go that way. The ferry, particularly from Ocracoke to Hatteras took way too long to get on. Take the land route.) I arrived at about 9 at night, and they were still open. I ordered the mates platter which consisted of a crabcake, flounder, shrimp, and scallops, and for sides I got green beans and hushpuppies.

I ate on the road on the way out, and the seafood was fantastic. The shrimp, while there were only four, were excellent. The scallops, while there were only three, were succulent. The crabcake was fantastic, and the broiled fish, which can be very boring, was actually quite good. On another bright note, the hushpuppies were really good, and the green beans were tasty, and surprisingly spicy.

I would probably give this restaurant 5 stars, if it weren't for the sushi bar chef. I was waiting for my food, and something had obviously upset him about one of the waitresses, and he was constantly going on about "F this, and F that". One of the waitresses was clearly embarrased by his behavior. Being a public school teacher, this is not a good thing for a family restaurant. So I would suggest that if you go here and have children, at the very least, don't let the waitress seat you near the sushi bar, which is by the cash register near the front. The main dining area is separated, so you don't have to deal with that. But aside from that the food was good so if you can put up with the sushi chef, you should go.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank booshkie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith G, Owner at Diamond Shoals, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thrilled to hear you found the seafood fantastic! Thanks for letting me know you enjoyed everything from the scallops to green beans. As for the sushi bar chef, thanks for letting me know about that behavior. I'll make sure it was just a one-time thing!

Take care,
Keith Gray, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    210
    86
    31
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
330 reviews
265 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Just an average breakfast. ”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Had the regular breakfast and it was just fairly regular. Coffee was ok. Hard to get a refill. Wouldn't be overly inspired by it. Was going to have lunch there but decided against it.

Helpful?
Thank SimonJRex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith G, Owner at Diamond Shoals, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
You should have been inspired by both your breakfast and coffee, Martin. We would have love to have had a chance to change your impression of us at lunch. If you're willing to give us another shot, let me know if anything isn't up to par on your next visit.

All the best,
Keith Gray, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
193 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Takeout dinner was really disappointing”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

It may not be fair to judge a restaurant by its takeout dinner, but we were sorely disappointed at Diamond Shoals. The hostess said our order would be ready in about 15 minutes, probably quicker than we could be seated and served. It took 25 minutes. We were staying very close, so the dinner was on the table in our motel room quickly. Both the mahi and the flounder were badly overcooked, ruining the meal. The rice, fries and veggies were ok but could not make up for the poorly cooked fish. Eating in the restaurant may be different, but I cannot recommend taking your meal home.

Helpful?
Thank Gay O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith G, Owner at Diamond Shoals, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Sorry to hear you were disappointing by the Mahi Mahi and Flounder. In the future, call us and let us know if it's isn't cooked to your liking. I know it's a little inconvenient, but we always want you to have a great meal from us!

Take care,
Keith Gray, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troutville, Virginia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great options for everyone ”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We stopped here for lunch right after they stopped serving breakfast so the wait for our food was long, but we had 7 adults and 4 kids, so getting seated and served drinks fast helped! There was plenty on the menu for the kids, fish lovers, and even burgers or chicken. Try the sweet potato fries-awesome! Glad we stopped!

Helpful?
Thank Cindylou60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith G, Owner at Diamond Shoals, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Glad to hear all 7 adults and 4 kids found something awesome! Thanks so much for letting us know how much you enjoyed lunch here.

Hope to see you again soon,
Keith Gray, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice, fresh and tasty”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Ate here a few times this week. Good menu of fish, with other options. Wait staff generally good - try and get Katie. French fries a little over salted, but the blackened spice is delicious. Try the blackened Mahi - beautiful. They also give you hush puppies to start. Would visit again, but closes around 9.30.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith G, Owner at Diamond Shoals, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
We couldn't think of a better compliment than "nice, fresh, and tasty," Mike. Happy you enjoyed a few meals here. In the future, if the fries aren't salted to your like, let us know so we can take care of them!

All the best,
Keith Gray, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Diamond Shoals also viewed

Buxton, Hatteras Island
Buxton, Hatteras Island
 
Buxton, Hatteras Island
Avon, Hatteras Island
 

Been to Diamond Shoals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing