We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice, clean, and functional” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Pines Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cape Pines Motel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
United States
Level Contributor
148 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Very nice, clean, and functional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

Yes. As some of the previous reviewers have noted, this is an older motel. If you absolutely must have all the amenities (most of which you don't even use), go to a brand new place and spend much more money. If you want a unique older motel that has been remodeled very well, this is your place. In fact, I don't know if I should even write this review because I want to make sure the place has room for me next time...and there will be a next time. The place had a real homey feel, close to many things, and a market right across the street. My room was absolutely spotless and functional. No issues at all with the room. Fast WiFi. Even Heidi the skateboarding bulldog every afternoon! Oh yes..the place has a pet-friendly area as well. I'm looking forward to my next stay....just hope this excellent review leaves me a room.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheCosmicTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    85
    23
    7
    7
See reviews for
95
121
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Coatesville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
167 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

This was a nice motel that had all that was advertised. The room was absolutely spotless, not even a speck of sand on the faux wood floors. The pool was well kept, the room was quiet, the AC and the bed were good. I made my reservation online and as I checked in, the 10% or so of tax appeared on my bill. This needs to be handled in a more honest manner to get repeat customers.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 42golf56_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

The Cape Pines Motel is located in a prime spot. Easy to get to all the beach accesses and activities....BUT the hotel itself is somewhere in the area of a 1950's truck stop motel. It has a distinct old, musty and mildew smell. My wife made me go out and buy a candle it was so bad. One of the mattresses was wrapped in plastic...that is never a good sign. Water pressure is suspect at best. The price is WAY too high for what you get. You would be better off spending a couple of hundred extra dollars and rent a house that would be much nicer with the same location advantages. I have never paid so much to get so little.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

Cape Pines Motel is smack dab in the middle of a small beach town, and was good for the one night we stayed there. Don't be surprised if you hear the owners' large dog barking when you step into the motel office. The room was clean, and the bathroom was small, yet functional. The key provided cannot lock the door from the outside: it must be locked from the inside and then shut with some force.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank E T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

Found this place while in panic mode...traveling at night with 2 kids, grammie, and a dog from Ocracoke, and the nearest corporate-confident Holiday Inn Express or equiv. was 3 hours from the Hatteras ferry. My first thought was, "where the HECK is Buxton?!!" but we were tired and just needed somewhere safe and clean to rest before heading back to Raleigh.

Cape Pines looks a little old-school when you pull up. Nothing glitzy or fancy; more kitschy-comfortable. Love that the pet fee was only $10 (as of the date of this review), and that the pet-friendly rooms are separate from the others (in case you aren't a fan of early-AM dog barking). The clean, deep-water pool is open til 9, so we got a quick swim in before bedtime.

The rooms are very clean, modestly yet tastefully decorated, and the bathrooms are vintage: yellow & black tile, white porcelain, etc. REAL Wood paneling on some walls, and in our other room, on the ceiling. Free wireless is always nice, and there is easy access to the vending machines, ice and washer/ dryer if you need it. There is also a store right across the street if you need snacks or other essentials.

This place is more than adequate; it is cute and friendly and hospitable. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShayNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liberty, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

We visited the OBX for the first time this week. We stayed for 3 nights in a suite and the rooms are very well maintained. There is daily maid service for the suites. Loved having the fenced yard where the dog could go and run and chase her ball off-leash after playing at the beach all day. We will definitely stay here again and plan on being back next year.

Room Tip: Rooms near pool are pet friendly so they are close to the fanced yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
129 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

I have stayed here twice, both times when going out on a charter boat from Hatteras. The motel is old, but there is now Wi-Fi, plus a computer in the lobby guests can use. There is no breakfast, but there is fresh coffee starting at 8 am. The rooms are large and there are non-smoking rooms as well as Pet-friendly and no pet rooms. I found my room to be very clean, and there were two bars of soap and shampoo in the room. There is not a hair dryer, but there is a little refrigerator. I was more than satisfied.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thea2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.7 mi away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
2.1 mi away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
9.7 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#6 of 11 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#10 of 11 in Hatteras Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cape Hatteras Motel
Cape Hatteras Motel
#4 of 6 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.8 mi away
Outer Banks Motel
Outer Banks Motel
#5 of 6 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Pines Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Pines Motel

Property: Cape Pines Motel
Address: 47497 NC Highway 12, Buxton, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Buxton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cape Pines Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Pines Motel on Hatteras is in the beautiful Outer Banks of North Carolina. We are a small family owned and operated establishment, offering clean, comfortable rooms at a moderate price. Our rooms are so clean you would think your mother works here! Nestled in the heart of the quiet village of Buxton and situated in the midst of Cape Hatteras National Seashore, our guests are able to enjoy over 100 miles of clean, white sand beach as well as easy access to shopping, sightseeing, and the wide variety of activities offered by the Outer Banks, such as OBX charter fishing in the Gulf Stream, surf fishing, OBX windsurfing at Canadian Hole, board surfing, kite-surfing, swimming, birding, shelling and kite flying.Bring the whole family - we offer a complete range of accommodations from motel rooms to suites with living rooms. And there is no need to leave Fido home alone! Pets are welcome in designated rooms (advance reservations necessary), limit 2 pets per room with applicable pet fee. We look forward to welcoming you to Cape Pine Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Cape Pines Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Pines Hotel Buxton
Cape Pines Buxton
Cape Pines Motel Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing