We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cape Pines Motel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Gull Motel(Hatteras Island)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Village Marina Motel(Hatteras Island)
View Hotel
The Breakwater Inn(Hatteras Island)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Reviews (319)
Filter reviews
319 results
Traveller rating
186
92
27
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
186
92
27
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrocery storethe outer bankshatteras islandhardwood floorsice machinepet friendly roomshort driveroom was largeking bedorange blossomfridge and microwavepicnic tablesa great place to staycoffee makerangiebulldogdogs
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
171 - 176 of 319 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We spent only one night in this motel and enjoyed it very much. It is an older place that was probably built in the late 1950's but it was very clean and well maintained and unlike most of the franchise motels now is family owned and operated. The owners were very friendly and helpful and very pleasant to be around and deal with. This is a place we could enjoy spending several days in. We highly recommend it to anyone traveling and staying in this area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saber9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie R, Owner at Cape Pines Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

We're thrilled you enjoyed staying with us -- it was a pleasure to have you, as well! We hope to see you back on Hatteras soon.

All the best,
Angie & Bill R.- Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We were down March 20 - 21 for fishing and shelling before the point had any closings. We had booked an efficiency but were upgraded to a suite. We had never stayed in one of the suites before, but we would consider booking one now. It was very convenient and comfortable. As usual, everyone was very friendly and they recognized us from previous visits when we checked in. The suite was ready in the morning and we checked in before heading to the beach even though it was well before the check in time. No fish this time but lots of shells!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

My wife and I travel allot and usually have pretty much the same opinion of places, but that was not the case here. This motel is like a step back in time, it reminded me of SO many small family owned and run motels that existed before the chains came in. It is like a step back into the 70's with the really big exception that the owners clearly are taking care of the place and maintaining it. Most of this style motel can best be described as run down these days, but not the Cape Pines. That old style tile in the bathrooms that you will remember is not dirty, but nice and clean, new windows and many other little things that show that the owner really cares. Still in the end it is a motel, so the heating and air conditioning is done by a room unit through the wall just like in the old days. Yes the walls are thin and if you are unlucky to get a loud neighbor you probably won't be happy, but I am just happy that there is one good example of Motels from the past that is clean and can provide a great example of how it all used to be. The owner at the front desk could not have been nicer and recommended a great place to eat. While my wife did like remembering the old motel rooms she prefers things the way they are now, and I can't argue with that, this place is what it is, but I really liked it allot. Not for a week, but for a night or two it is more then fine and the price is excellent.

Room Tip: This is a clean version of so many motels of the past. It is what it is, if you are expecting Hampton Inn you will not be happy, if you are expecting motel run down you will be ecstatic because you have the old motel "ambience" but not the run down.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T00ManyAirMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie R, Owner at Cape Pines Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

You hit the nail on the head -- we are a small family-owned and -run motel! We're really glad you appreciate our retro vibes and commitment to timeless customer service.

Thanks for the amazing feedback. We're always looking for ways to make our guests feel more at home when they stay with us, and comments like this really help.

Take care,
Angie & Bill R.- Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

The ferry to our rental in Ocracoke was cancelled due to bad weather, and we stumbled across this motel while searching for a place to sleep for the night. It was the first place we found that was open late at night during the off-season, and we were pleasantly surprised! The man behind the counter was friendly and helpful (even checked the next day's weather forecast for us). Our room was cleaner and nicer than we could have expected. It was very clean, the heater kept us warm, and the beds were comfy. A nice little outdoor area in the back, too.

Room Tip: Room 14 is on the end, so there's an extra window.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank conniek680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie R, Owner at Cape Pines Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

We're glad we could help turn around a potentially crummy night, Connie. We bet it was stressful to have your plans thrown out of whack because of the weather, and we're glad we could be friendly faces in the storm. There's not much better than to hear you felt welcomed as our guest. Hope to see you in the future, perhaps under better circumstances!

All the best,
Angie & Bill R. - Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Great Winter Deal! The room was nicely decorated and comfortable (I had a non-pet room). Loved the convenience of the fridge and microwave (Off season there are not as many restaurants available for meals). Hotel staff was friendly, efficient, and knowledgeable about the area. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews