We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PLENTY OF SMOKE AND NOT FROM CAMPFIRES”
Review of Cape Pines Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cape Pines Motel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
323 reviews
250 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“PLENTY OF SMOKE AND NOT FROM CAMPFIRES”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

In the spirit of full disclosure -- we can't stand smokers. We probably should have turned around when we approached our room along an outdoor bank of No Smoking rooms on the first floor and smelled nothing but smoke (coming from the bank of rooms on the second floor). But nooooo. Consequently, we had to keep our windows closed at night -- which was a drag, because this is one of the few locations with windows that open AND had screens. Then, at the crack of dawn, our next door neighbor sat outside his No Smoking room and smoked his brains out. The pool was great and the owner gave us towels to take to the beach. That was nice. So was the convenient laundry room and ice machine. The long and short is: if you are used to the chain hotels, this place will make you shudder. If you're there to rough it in terms of creature comforts, you'll probably be just fine.

Room Tip: Make it known you don't smoke and don't want to (second-hand) smoke for your 89 bucks for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MMPJMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie R, Anna, at Cape Pines Motel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
We're sorry to hear another guest's habit interfered with your stay. In the future, please let us know if someone is smoking in a Non-Smoking room -- we'll want to take care of that right away.

That said, we're glad you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us. Hope we'll see you back again soon.

All the best,
Angie & Bill R.- Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    88
    24
    7
    7
See reviews for
105
127
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Rooms 11 and 12 are the best. Room 11 has a couch and a nice kitchenette. Room 12 is even better, with a full kitchen, fully equipped, and a back door that leads to the dog park and the gate to Grays Garden and gift shop, They have several grills on the property, gassed up and ready to use. A dog park out back, swings and a lovely path that leads thru a wooded area(I call it the secret garden) that leads to a marvelous, family owned gift shop with some very nice and unusual gifts. The Gray Garden and gift shop is owned by one of the oldest families on the island. Cape Pines has a nice clean pool, and a supermarket right across he street. Close to Beach access. Been going to the OBX for many years and I consider this place to be a well kept secret!

Room Tip: room II and room 12 were the best, but we also enjoyed the room on the end, room 14, Have never stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie R, Owner at Cape Pines Motel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
We appreciate the marvelous, Carolyn! It means a lot to hear Rooms 11 and 12 always provide you with a home-away-from-home when you're here in the OBX. Can't wait to welcome you and your family back for another great visit.

Take care,
Angie & Bill R.- Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, NH
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I'm always a little leery booking at a non-chain hotel for many reasons. I took a chance, based upon tripadvisor reviews of this motel. I stayed for one week during bike week. This motel is a terrific value. The room was very clean, well-appointed, and well-maintained by the daily housekeeping service. While the sheets were not changed, the bed was made, which was a surprise, since it was noted on the website that the sheets would not be changed. Towels and toiletries were replaced daily. The owners were pleasant, helpful and flexible. I stayed in room 23, which was above the office, and therefore right on the road. With the fan running all night on the AC unit I did not notice the street noise, or noise from other rooms (if there was any). There is a supermarket right across the street, which was convenient. I would definitely return to this motel again if in the area, and I would highly recommend to others.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NCHS80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie R, Owner at Cape Pines Motel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Glad you took a chance on us! We're thrilled you had such a terrific time staying in room 23. It means a lot that you would recommend us to your friends and family, too.

Can't wait to welcome you back,
Angie & Bill R.- Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We spent only one night in this motel and enjoyed it very much. It is an older place that was probably built in the late 1950's but it was very clean and well maintained and unlike most of the franchise motels now is family owned and operated. The owners were very friendly and helpful and very pleasant to be around and deal with. This is a place we could enjoy spending several days in. We highly recommend it to anyone traveling and staying in this area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saber9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie R, Owner at Cape Pines Motel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
We're thrilled you enjoyed staying with us -- it was a pleasure to have you, as well! We hope to see you back on Hatteras soon.

All the best,
Angie & Bill R.- Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We were down March 20 - 21 for fishing and shelling before the point had any closings. We had booked an efficiency but were upgraded to a suite. We had never stayed in one of the suites before, but we would consider booking one now. It was very convenient and comfortable. As usual, everyone was very friendly and they recognized us from previous visits when we checked in. The suite was ready in the morning and we checked in before heading to the beach even though it was well before the check in time. No fish this time but lots of shells!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

My wife and I travel allot and usually have pretty much the same opinion of places, but that was not the case here. This motel is like a step back in time, it reminded me of SO many small family owned and run motels that existed before the chains came in. It is like a step back into the 70's with the really big exception that the owners clearly are taking care of the place and maintaining it. Most of this style motel can best be described as run down these days, but not the Cape Pines. That old style tile in the bathrooms that you will remember is not dirty, but nice and clean, new windows and many other little things that show that the owner really cares. Still in the end it is a motel, so the heating and air conditioning is done by a room unit through the wall just like in the old days. Yes the walls are thin and if you are unlucky to get a loud neighbor you probably won't be happy, but I am just happy that there is one good example of Motels from the past that is clean and can provide a great example of how it all used to be. The owner at the front desk could not have been nicer and recommended a great place to eat. While my wife did like remembering the old motel rooms she prefers things the way they are now, and I can't argue with that, this place is what it is, but I really liked it allot. Not for a week, but for a night or two it is more then fine and the price is excellent.

Room Tip: This is a clean version of so many motels of the past. It is what it is, if you are expecting Hampto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T00ManyAirMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie R, Owner at Cape Pines Motel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
You hit the nail on the head -- we are a small family-owned and -run motel! We're really glad you appreciate our retro vibes and commitment to timeless customer service.

Thanks for the amazing feedback. We're always looking for ways to make our guests feel more at home when they stay with us, and comments like this really help.

Take care,
Angie & Bill R.- Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

The ferry to our rental in Ocracoke was cancelled due to bad weather, and we stumbled across this motel while searching for a place to sleep for the night. It was the first place we found that was open late at night during the off-season, and we were pleasantly surprised! The man behind the counter was friendly and helpful (even checked the next day's weather forecast for us). Our room was cleaner and nicer than we could have expected. It was very clean, the heater kept us warm, and the beds were comfy. A nice little outdoor area in the back, too.

Room Tip: Room 14 is on the end, so there's an extra window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank conniek680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie R, Owner at Cape Pines Motel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
We're glad we could help turn around a potentially crummy night, Connie. We bet it was stressful to have your plans thrown out of whack because of the weather, and we're glad we could be friendly faces in the storm. There's not much better than to hear you felt welcomed as our guest. Hope to see you in the future, perhaps under better circumstances!

All the best,
Angie & Bill R. - Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.7 mi away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
2.1 mi away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
9.7 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#7 of 11 in Hatteras Island
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Outer Banks Motel
Outer Banks Motel
#5 of 6 in Buxton
151 reviews
9.8 mi away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#4 of 5 in Hatteras Island
3 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hatteras Harbor Marina and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Pines Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Pines Motel

Property: Cape Pines Motel
Address: 47497 NC Highway 12, Buxton, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Buxton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Cape Pines Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Pines Motel on Hatteras is in the beautiful Outer Banks of North Carolina. We are a small family owned and operated establishment, offering clean, comfortable rooms at a moderate price. Our rooms are so clean you would think your mother works here! Nestled in the heart of the quiet village of Buxton and situated in the midst of Cape Hatteras National Seashore, our guests are able to enjoy over 100 miles of clean, white sand beach as well as easy access to shopping, sightseeing, and the wide variety of activities offered by the Outer Banks, such as OBX charter fishing in the Gulf Stream, surf fishing, OBX windsurfing at Canadian Hole, board surfing, kite-surfing, swimming, birding, shelling and kite flying.Bring the whole family - we offer a complete range of accommodations from motel rooms to suites with living rooms. And there is no need to leave Fido home alone! Pets are welcome in designated rooms (advance reservations necessary), limit 2 pets per room with applicable pet fee. We look forward to welcoming you to Cape Pine Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Cape Pines Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Pines Hotel Buxton
Cape Pines Buxton
Cape Pines Motel Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing