We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Here all alone”
Review of Cape Pines Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cape Pines Motel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We arrived just two days before hurricane Arthur and decided to stay, since the locals were filling the rooms of this solid brick motel, known as the safest haven in Buxton in a storm. Now that the storm has passed, with no damage and no power or Internet interruptions,we are virtually the lone tourists in the town and on the gorgeous beach. Our hosts have been wonderfully kind. I feel bad that they have lost their customers. Otherwise, this is a magical time to be in such a beautiful spot.

Room Tip: Kitchen suites worth it since restaurants are just OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happytraveller840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie R, Owner at Cape Pines Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Happy to hear we could conjure up some magic during Hurricane Arthur. We're here whenever you need us!

Take care,
Angie & Bill R.- Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 315 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

We were here for a wedding and the location was perfect so based on the great reviews we picked it. The rooms were clean but the bathroom was so small it was difficult to sit on the toilet.
The staff were very nice and attentive. The high lite was the pool, which was lovely and had comfy seating so we spent time there and not the room.
If you are traveling with your dog this is a great spot.
If I ever have to go to Hatteras again I will pay more for a modern motel.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NewEnglandUncleDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie R, Owner at Cape Pines Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2015

Glad we could give you give you an old-fashioned good time, Dave. If you have any suggestions on what we can do to improve, we're all ears!

Take care,
Angie & Bill R.- Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This motel was at a great location had a lovely pool and the staff was friendly.We did have some issues with the room,,the sink leaked profusely into the trash can,the bathroom was extremely small and the dressers were worthless,,as the drawers when pulled out,,fell out onto the floor.in addition we found a cockroach on the bathroom wall.I loved the fact that I was able to bring my cat along at an extra fee.When .I`d like to add that I didn't report these issues till we were ready to leave because I had the cat in the room and didn`t want to risk him getting out with repair men coming in and out.When these issues were reported the owner stated you should of called the sink was a 5 min. fix and that the cockroaches are on the island and part of beach life,nothing was ever mentioned about the drawers falling out onto your feet just below.overall I wasn't happy with this motel and will not return.Their recession buster prices really aren't that great either if you check other hotels in the near vicinity you will find better prices.In closing wanted to say the rooms pictured on the`r website donot resemble what we had.

Room Tip: room 9 is old very small and pet friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Candace W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie R, Owner at Cape Pines Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

We appreciate guest comments and value timely comments and concerns. Our goal is to make you and your pets welcome, comfortable, and safe during your visit to the island. Considering the fact that you wished no housekeeping service during your seven night stay, and concerns were mentioned only on the evening of your 6th night, we regret not being able to rectify the situation immediately for your comfort. The leak from the sink stopper assembly (forced open) and the drawer slides on the dresser (forced open) would only take a minute for remounting. We appreciate your concern for the safety of your cat, but please note we are experienced with pet handling, and shortfalls could have been resolved quickly for your comfort. With regard to the bug, as I explained on night six, the (BIG) palmetto bugs are extremely common on the island, and a rain storm will frequently encourage them to leave the woods adjacent to the hotel grounds despite maintenance and care of the grounds and buildings.

With regard to the room size, pet friendly accommodations are all in the courtyard buildings around the pool. The rooms are from the 1950's with considerable updates which most people find charming, clean and comfortable. Since our tenure at the property, we have reconfigured and replaced more than half of the original bathrooms; size of the bathrooms is unfortunately limited within space constraints of rooms from that era. Courtyard rooms versus the Main Building rooms, which are considerably larger and non pet-friendly, are both clearly represented on our web pages under the Accommodations tab. We do our best to effectively communicate the room configuration, size, and appointments of the Courtyard pet-friendly rooms to all of our guests with special consideration that most rooms are unique in or way or another.

Bill recalls greeting you while on property during your stay in addition to numerous visits to the office with no mention of issues of any sort. The 66% discount for the 5-Night Special, plus two nights at standard rate remains an attractive option to other area hotels. Regardless, we regret having lost a customer, but remain satisfied that the inferred claim of a refund was not appropriate under the circumstances.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This is an excellent place to stay for a very reasonable price. My room was clean and nicely decorated. The staff were polite and helpful with any questions I had. Room service made my bed and provided fresh towels daily. There's wifi and cable tv. The wifi was a good way to keep in touch with family as I had no cell phone sevice on the islands. A waitress told me that Verizon is the only service provider there. I had a small refrigerator in my room and access to a microwave downstairs. There's also a coin operated washer and dryer on site which I found to be conveniant. The pool is well maintained and clean. I loved having the grocery store across the street and I was pleasantly surprised that their prices are not sky high. The Cape Hatteras lighthouse is only a few minutes drive down the road. The beach there is a good place to watch surfers. The Frisco beach is a better place to swim because they have a bath house. When you visit I recommend having coffee at The Ugly Mug in Avon, lunch at Diamond Shoals (fried crab cake sandwich is great), and a late dinner at the Sandbar and Grill to watch the sunset. I will definately be going back to the Outer Banks and staying at Cape Pines!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SarahTSparta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie R, Owner at Cape Pines Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

We're so thrilled to hear you had an excellent stay here! Thank you so much for letting us know how much you enjoyed everything from the pool to location.

Can't wait to welcome you back -- maybe for the whole summer?
Angie & Bill R.- Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We are avid fishermen and find Buxton to be central to all the great fishing locations on Hatteras Island. For the past 4 fishing trips to OBX, we have enjoyed staying at Cape Pines Motel which offers clean, comfortable rooms and friendly staff. Relative to other accommodations in this small village, the motel is located in a quieter section and we have never had issues with noise. Our room (two queen beds) was equipped with a small refrigerator and microwave and small TV with an amazing selection of channels. Fresh, delicious coffee is available in the office throughout the day. There is a large fish-cleaning station at the back of the property. The pool area looked very nice, although we were too busy fishing to check it out. Connor's Grocery is across the street and restaurants are nearby, including Rusty's Surf and Turf, Papanino's (good pizza and subs), and Diamond Shoals where you can get a hearty breakfast to start your day.

If you are visiting Buxton to fish, remember to check out http://www.nps.gov/caha/planyourvisit/off-road-vehicle-use.htm. ORV permits are now required and certain ramps (including Ramp 44 - the Point) were closed while we were there due to Piping Plover nesting (I could comment further - but I'll refrain). Red Drum Tackle Shop is always up to date on what folks are catching, so you may want to call them when planning your visit.

Whether you're visiting Buxton to fish or just enjoy the beautiful beaches with your family or friends, Cape Pines Motel is a winner. Check it out!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shen_Valley_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie R, Owner at Cape Pines Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

We're glad you've enjoyed your last four stays with us. There's just not much better than to have earned your seal of approval! Hope to see you again soon -- and that the fish are always biting!

All the best,
Angie & Bill R.- Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We loved our stay at Cape Pines! Very clean, well decorated rooms! The owner and staff are very friendly and helpful with any questions about the area and local attractions. We only stayed two nights, but wished we could have stay a week! The motel is in close driving distance to many yummy restaurants and most important for us... close to Cape Hatteras Lighthouse and beach.
We enjoyed the comfortable bed, mini microwave, mini refrigerator and wifi.
This motel is pet friendly, but we had no issues with loud dogs or messes left behind on the property. We would highly recommend this motel to anyone open to the charm and friendliness of a locally owned business. I work at a similar family-owned motel and know personally the time, energy, and attention to details that it requires to successfully operate a motel.
We can't wait to go back next year!!!

Room Tip: They do have no pet, non smoking rooms in the main building if you are traveling without your pets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank butterfly1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie R, Owner at Cape Pines Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Happy you had such a wonderful time with us. It's really great to hear how welcomed you felt here. Thanks for sharing this with us.

Can't wait to welcome you back next year,
Angie & Bill R., Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Over the last 10 or 12 years, we've stayed in Buxton at least once and often twice per year. We've tried 4 of the available 7 motels and rank the Cape Pines as the best.

We travel in the "shoulder seasons" of spring and fall, either as a couple, with family or meeting friends. Cape Pines is always meticulously clean and comfortable. They frequently run off-season specials that let you extend your stay at a real bargain rate. Our most recent stay was with family in April 2014.

We always stay in a room, not a suite. Those rooms come with coffee maker, microwave and a dorm-sized refrigerator. Each room has a wired internet connection as well as a wireless connection that works if you can't leave work at home or want to research your day's activities. The fixtures/accessories are frequently updated and the beds are comfortable. The owners and staff are friendly and efficient. As has been mentioned by others, location is great being near the Gray House, across from the supermarket, easy walking distance to several eateries of all types. Each room is differently decorated, so you won't be waking up wondering which town you're in since this room doesn't look like the last 7 rooms you've stayed in. Each room has opening windows so you can enjoy the breezes or use the installed AC or heat as appropriate.

They've got gas grills, a pool, a dog play area and a table for cleaning fish if that's your thing.

My only caution is not waiting until the last minute to book your reservation as they are popular with those who know the area and can fill up with fishing tournaments, parasailing weekends or other events that bring in the visitors.

The owners have dogs of their own so you can say "hi" to them and maybe Heidi will entertain you with a ride on her skateboard!

Cape Pines is more than meets the eye!

Room Tip: The courtyard rooms are best for those with pets. There is no elevator so you need to let them know...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie R, Owner at Cape Pines Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Happy to hear you think we're the best, Keith. There's just not much better compliment to receive than that. Can't wait to welcome you back soon.

All the best,
Angie & Bill R.- Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.7 mi away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
2.1 mi away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
9.7 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#7 of 11 in Hatteras Island
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#10 of 11 in Hatteras Island
53 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lighthouse View Oceanfront Lodging
0.8 mi away
Cape Hatteras Motel
Cape Hatteras Motel
#4 of 6 in Buxton
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Pines Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Pines Motel

Address: 47497 NC Highway 12, Buxton, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Buxton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range: £61 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cape Pines Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Pines Motel on Hatteras is in the beautiful Outer Banks of North Carolina. We are a small family owned and operated establishment, offering clean, comfortable rooms at a moderate price. Our rooms are so clean you would think your mother works here! Nestled in the heart of the quiet village of Buxton and situated in the midst of Cape Hatteras National Seashore, our guests are able to enjoy over 100 miles of clean, white sand beach as well as easy access to shopping, sightseeing, and the wide variety of activities offered by the Outer Banks, such as OBX charter fishing in the Gulf Stream, surf fishing, OBX windsurfing at Canadian Hole, board surfing, kite-surfing, swimming, birding, shelling and kite flying.Bring the whole family - we offer a complete range of accommodations from motel rooms to suites with living rooms. And there is no need to leave Fido home alone! Pets are welcome in designated rooms (advance reservations necessary), limit 2 pets per room with applicable pet fee. We look forward to welcoming you to Cape Pine Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Cape Pines Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Pines Hotel Buxton
Cape Pines Buxton
Cape Pines Motel Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing