We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Clean and well taken care of”
Review of Cape Pines Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cape Pines Motel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This is a Very Clean and well taken care of motel. They are pet friendly and in a great area very covenant to the outer-banks and the Cape Hatteras National Seashore and Cape Hatteras Lighthouse. I would definitely stay here again if in the area. I always try yo give bussines to locally run establishments.

Room Tip: We liked the rooms in the courtyard.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JhShMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie R, Owner at Cape Pines Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

It means a lot to hear you found our motel clean and well taken care of! Thanks for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your stay here. We can't wait to welcome you back next time you're in the OBX.

All the best,
Angie & Bill R.- Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
There are newer reviews for Cape Pines Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

Facts are:
Owners are rude.
A/C doesn't work - room too hot.
Shower water is either hot or mostly cold.
Bugs in room - I have pics.
TV is tiny & you couldn't hear it.
Wi-fi doesn't work well.
Not accessible to the Beach or Sound.
Grill & picnic table are located where the dogs poop!!!
2nd floor balcony looks like it's going to fall down - dangerous.
Everything is old & outdated. My husband was ready to leave the moment we walked in!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RTLSDHancock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie R, Owner at Cape Pines Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

It's unfortunate when a family is having a wonderful vacation until the parents are held liable for actually paying the hotel bill, then everything is "just awful". As explained at length, when a 5-Night Special rate for 2 persons is booked, it is not acceptable to bring a family of 5 (FIVE) for the same discounted price. You were clearly aware that the reservation was a special rate for 2 occupants and that additional persons would be $50/each for 5 nights inclusive of tax. When the reservation was made, this was clearly communicated, along with the advertisement on our website, and our reservation notes comments from you that "an additional 2 persons may come, with payment due upon check in". Much to our surprise, you thought it appropriate to bring a total of 5 persons, to a room booked for two at no additional cost, with a complete failure to claim such persons upon check in. When you made a mistake of asking what you probably thought was a handyman in the yard for additional 2 towels, he discovered that you had more than 2 people in the room. When the owner asked for the payment for the additional occupants and you told him you "had no money". It's unfortunate when an Innkeeper has to require proper payment of the bill, or to vacate the room one night early to compensate for the additional fees. It's even more unfortunate that we had to mention "defrauding an innkeeper in the presence of the local sheriff" when you refused to either pay the bill or leave one night earlier than planned due to additional occupants in the room.

Your plan to 1) have no room service with a DO NOT DISTURB (thus hiding additional occupants) and 2) purposely conceal unregistered guests is both unethical and unacceptable to management. I can only hope the "hidden" guests enjoyed their vacation from the darkness of a shuttered room. Please do not confuse our reaction to your fraudulent attempts with "bad customer service" on our part. The empty Maid Gratuity envelope with threatening notes regarding a pending Trip Advisor review is to be expected from our interaction with you. We receive rave reviews from frequent return guests who enjoy our hotel and service and respect hotel policies and procedures.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I chose this place based on other trip advisor reviews, and I am so glad that I did. Everyone working here, from front desk to cleaning staff, was very welcoming. Room was extremely clean, and location was great for exploring all of lower outer banks.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie R, Owner at Cape Pines Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Happy to hear you felt welcomed here, Lori. We're really glad that you chose us! Can't wait to see you the next time you want to explore the OBX.

Take care,
Angie & Bill R.- Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We had a great trip to the OBX, and we are so glad we stayed at Cape Pines. We wanted to take our dog with us, and it's really hard to find places that allow that. Cape Pines was extremely pet friendly, and it was nice to chat with other vacationers and their pups. The room was clean and large, and the AC worked well to keep us nice and cool. The pool area was really nice, and the pool itself was clean and larger than I thought it would be. The price was super reasonable. Thanks for a nice stay!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Katydid364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie R, Owner at Cape Pines Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Happy to hear you and your pup had a nice stay with us! Thanks for letting us know how much you enjoyed your time here.

See you again soon,
Angie & Bill R.- Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We have been visiting Buxton for many years. We always passed by the Cape Pines Motel. This time we decided to give it a try. The rooms were very clean and perfect for a weekend getaway! The staff was more than pleasant!! Reasonably priced. The beds were comfortable. I enjoyed the little bench on the front stoop!! We tried to book a room for this coming weekend much to my dismay they were booked. =( We will be back to stay again!!

Heather Byrum
Gloucester, Virginia

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie R, Owner at Cape Pines Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thanks for giving us a try, Heather. Happy to hear we could help give you a perfect weekend giveaway. Sorry we were booked up this weekend, but can't wait to see you again soon!

All the best,
Angie & Bill R.- Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We had a large room with a queen and a futon. More than enough for just the two of us. The room was very clean and even a dog park for our puppy. Because the area is best known for great fishing, they offer a freezer, ice machine and washer and dryer for the use of the guest. The freezer and ice machine came in handy but the washer & dryer were not needed because we were just staying three nights. When we return to Hatteras to go fishing, we will stay at the Cape Pines Motes.

Room Tip: The rooms are divided into pet and non pet area and some are larger for families.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank furbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie R, Owner at Cape Pines Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thrilled to hear you and your puppy felt taken care of when you stayed with us! It was a pleasure having you and can't wait to see you back for next year's fishing adventure.

All the best,
Angie & Bill R.- Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Cape pines motel receives an excellent rating from me because it far exceeded my expectations of a typical motel stay. I can't think of anything that could have made our stay more pleasant. The staff I encountered was friendly and offered up information about the area, the room was much larger than expected with comfortable beds and so clean! We enjoyed the pool and had a wonderful stay at this motel. I highly recommend a stay here!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank travelgirl315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie R, Owner at Cape Pines Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

It means to hear you had a wonderful stay here! thanks so much for the excellent rating. Can't wait to welcome you back next year!

All the best,
Angie & Bill R.- Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.7 mi away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
2.1 mi away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
8.8 mi away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#10 of 11 in Hatteras Island
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#7 of 11 in Hatteras Island
133 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cape Hatteras Motel
Cape Hatteras Motel
#4 of 6 in Buxton
283 reviews
0.8 mi away
Outer Banks Motel
Outer Banks Motel
#5 of 6 in Buxton
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Pines Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Pines Motel

Address: 47497 NC Highway 12, Buxton, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Buxton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range: £68 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cape Pines Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Pines Motel on Hatteras is in the beautiful Outer Banks of North Carolina. We are a small family owned and operated establishment, offering clean, comfortable rooms at a moderate price. Our rooms are so clean you would think your mother works here! Nestled in the heart of the quiet village of Buxton and situated in the midst of Cape Hatteras National Seashore, our guests are able to enjoy over 100 miles of clean, white sand beach as well as easy access to shopping, sightseeing, and the wide variety of activities offered by the Outer Banks, such as OBX charter fishing in the Gulf Stream, surf fishing, OBX windsurfing at Canadian Hole, board surfing, kite-surfing, swimming, birding, shelling and kite flying.Bring the whole family - we offer a complete range of accommodations from motel rooms to suites with living rooms. And there is no need to leave Fido home alone! Pets are welcome in designated rooms (advance reservations necessary), limit 2 pets per room with applicable pet fee. We look forward to welcoming you to Cape Pine Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Cape Pines Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Pines Hotel Buxton
Cape Pines Buxton
Cape Pines Motel Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing