We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, Peaceful and a Great Value”
Review of Cape Pines Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cape Pines Motel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2009

We are spending a week in the Cape Hatteras and chose the Cape Pines as our "base of operation" for our Outer Banks explorations. Our room is large and roomy, the inn is quiet and charming. It has a 1950s feel to it, very charming and peaceful. We have found the staff to be gracious and accommodating.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobbybetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2009

We stayed here over Memorial Day weekend with our dog. We needed a pet friendly room, and this was one of the few places we could find in the area. The price was so low that we expected only the basics, but we were pleasantly surprised. The room was incredibly clean and though most people in the courtyard rooms are there with pets, you couldn't smell anything in the room. The owners are very nice and love animals--we could not have felt more welcome. The rates were terrific, especially for a holiday weekend, and it's just a short drive to a beautiful dog-friendly beach. (All the beaches are dog-friendly on leash, but the one closest to the hotel was the nicest we saw on our stay.) Be sure to check out the Orange Blossom Bakery, which is just 5 minutes away. Outstanding and also very dog-friendly for a leisurely breakfast on the porch: our pooch was treated to lots of cuddles and free bacon from the staff. We will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quinn77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2009

I had booked a room for a few days at the Cape Pines Motel but could not make my reservation due to family obligation. I thought I had cancelled the reservation but to my surprise I got a call at 10:30 at night from the motel telling me that I was going to be charged a night for not cancelling. I understand policies but I also understand you can bend the rules. Keep in mind it was out of season when I booked the room. I asked not to be charged and was told “sorry I can’t do that” then hung up on. For me that’s when it turned. When you count on word of mouth business you don’t hang up on potential customers. I called back to explain my situation and wanted to work out a deal on the cancellation charge. I was told NO and AGAIN hung up on. I felt I was polite and wanted them to know I was aware of a cancellation policy but I felt he could have waived it or worked with me on it, it wasn’t even season. I’m not even upset about the cancellation fee; I’m upset that I was hung up on. Beware if you stay here that you might get a little attitude from the staff. Since this all went down I have made it to Buxton and stayed on the beach at the most wonderful motel. “OUTER BANKS MOTEL” I would highly recommend this place because of a few reasons. It’s on the beach, very clean, and most of all, a great staff.

Stayed: April 2009
1  Thank mspin24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2009

Extremely clean and well maintained Motel. Two minutes from Lighthouse and Beach. Excellent amenities! Across from Supermarket. Very, very clean and comfortable. The owners are visible and very accomodating. They love Dogs! They love their Motel! I would go back again and again!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sixteen-Squid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2009

My wife and I exchanged our usual sc beach destination for the obx in 2003. Ocracoke is not a secret anymore. The northern end of obx is too stuffy. Hatteras Island is perfect. A lot of the properties in buxton area are D- in service and C- in cleanlinesss. We were tolerating these grades in exchange for oceanfront location. All of a sudden price gouging started,especially on Memorial Day time frame. We waited until two weeks before Memorial Day to try and book a slot in Buxton at a better price. We selected Cape Pines Motel on Trip Advisor rating. I called Angie several times to try and put together Memorial Day weekend slot with pet. We booked two different rooms to make it happen. One of the rooms was suite #12.I would guess a 800-900 sf. All rooms were 5star clean Service to match. Gave price concessions for suite without our asking.The location is not oceanfront or oceanside. The bathroom was somewhat cramped in one room. On a scale of 1-10. A solid 8.5. p.s.- We're booked for this year 2009. We are both in our mid 50's with a schnoodle dog.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank palmettosojourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2008

We stayed in a one bedroom suite at the Cape Pines motel (with our dog).

We found front desk personnel to be friendly. It was really cold and the suite's heaters were already humming by the time we got to the suite. We had a brand new fridge and microwave. The suite was very clean. Yes, the walls are thin and we could hear our neighbor's TV a bit, but with the air conditioner/heater on, you really couldn't hear much.

The Cape Pines is an older motel, so I wasn't surprised that the walls were a bit thin. But it has a lot of charm and you can walk to the local restaurants.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RLTNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2008

Cape Pines was neither good or bad. We stayed here in October in the King suite. These suites were located in the main building over the office. Bad things first: many parts around the upstairs were quite shabby/sad looking. The main hallway smelled bad. The walls were PAPER thin (you could hear every neighboors convo and TV). Good things: the king bed was HUGE. Biggest bed I've ever stayed in. The bathroom and living room were quite clean. Management was nice enough.

Although I wasn't impressed with Cape Pines I've read many other reviewers who were. I can only assume most of them stayed in the side by side apartments down on the ground floor. From what I saw they were very cute and quaint.

For the price (90 some dollars) I was a little underwhelmed by Cape Pines. I do not recomend staying in the rooms above the office.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ncswimmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.7 mi away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
2.1 mi away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
8.8 mi away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#10 of 11 in Hatteras Island
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#7 of 11 in Hatteras Island
136 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cape Hatteras Motel
Cape Hatteras Motel
#4 of 6 in Buxton
287 reviews
0.8 mi away
Outer Banks Motel
Outer Banks Motel
#6 of 6 in Buxton
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Pines Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Pines Motel

Address: 47497 NC Highway 12, Buxton, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Buxton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range: £64 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cape Pines Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Pines Motel on Hatteras is in the beautiful Outer Banks of North Carolina. We are a small family owned and operated establishment, offering clean, comfortable rooms at a moderate price. Our rooms are so clean you would think your mother works here! Nestled in the heart of the quiet village of Buxton and situated in the midst of Cape Hatteras National Seashore, our guests are able to enjoy over 100 miles of clean, white sand beach as well as easy access to shopping, sightseeing, and the wide variety of activities offered by the Outer Banks, such as OBX charter fishing in the Gulf Stream, surf fishing, OBX windsurfing at Canadian Hole, board surfing, kite-surfing, swimming, birding, shelling and kite flying.Bring the whole family - we offer a complete range of accommodations from motel rooms to suites with living rooms. And there is no need to leave Fido home alone! Pets are welcome in designated rooms (advance reservations necessary), limit 2 pets per room with applicable pet fee. We look forward to welcoming you to Cape Pine Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Cape Pines Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Pines Hotel Buxton
Cape Pines Buxton
Cape Pines Motel Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing