We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy, spotless, very very nice.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Pines Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cape Pines Motel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Smithfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cozy, spotless, very very nice.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2010

We were pleasantly surprised. This is an older hotel that has undergone renovations with tender loving care. Our room was cozy, comfortable and spotless. It could not have been any better. The owners are very gracious hosts, along with Heidi who greated us with her skateboard. When we go back to Hatteras this will be the first place we call.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    85
    23
    7
    7
See reviews for
95
121
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southern Germany
Level Contributor
168 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2010

This is a lovely hotel with spacious rooms, well maintained and tastefully decorated. On the second floor is a lovely porch to enjoy the evening, while the days has been too hot therefore. The opening hours of the office are a little bit restrictive, so if you leave early (that is prior to 9 a.m.), check out the day before. The light house and the beaches are in close reach by car as well as plentiful choices of restaurants.

It has its price but the equivalent, you get for it, justifies it at all.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daydreamer58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2010

Our rooms were large and clean and we had everything we needed. My mom and aunt could sit outside their room with no fuss. A grocery store was right across the street and there's a shell shop behind the motel that is definitely worth the very short walk. My mother was very pleased and that's no small task! We would definitely stay again.

Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank kkb068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinsville, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2010

as usual I had a great time. The owners and guests are like family. I met lots of nice people and lots of nice dogs.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank milliondollarblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

Upon our arrival, we had a fuss about Expedia sending the motel 2 different reservations for the same night, under my name, and none of them corresponding to my real reservation, when checking the itinary numbers. The lady at the front desk said that it was not her first fuss with Expedia, and that she had to send them the bill for the extra reservation.

We paid $132 for the night, on a Sunday of June 2010. From outside, the motel seemed to be a hidden gem. It was so beautiful! But we had a room in the old-style motel, behind the new-style one.

The room was the usual one. Nothing fancy, nothing cheap, just an ordinary room on the upper floor. It was very clean, the A/C was started when we got in, to our pleasure since it was a scorcher outside, and the location was fantastic, a few minutes away from the lighthouse and the beach.

The beds were a little squeaky, but the rest was OK. The people working there were very nice.

In the morning, we wondered where to leave the keys when we checked out, since there was nobody at the front desk. We knew someone must have been somewhere since the coffee maker was started and the coffee free of charge for the guests. I was about to leave the keys in my room when a man arrived outside and told us to leave them in the "keys box", next to the entrance door... Thanks a bunch :) !

The stay was pleasant, but with no breakfast included, the squeaky beds, and an ordinary room, for $132, I can't give more than 3 stars on the rating.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steff68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2010

We have stayed at this motel several times and were quite impressed. The service was excellent and the rooms are very nice and extremely clean. We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wolfpackfan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
114 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2010

We stayed in a wonderful one bed apartment with full kitchen and living area, comfortable furniture and hard wood floors throughout and pine ceiling. Lots of outside areas - from benches to picnic tables to outdoor pool to grills. Ideally located next to Cape Hatteras lighthouse and beach (4 minutes away by car) and other beach choices within 10 minutes.

Extremely friendly staff that allowed me to use their own laundry facilities. All this and a skateboarding dog - who could ask for more?!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglishViv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.7 mi away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
2.1 mi away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
9.7 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#6 of 11 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cape Hatteras Motel
Cape Hatteras Motel
#4 of 6 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
9.8 mi away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#4 of 5 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hatteras Harbor Marina and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Pines Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Pines Motel

Property: Cape Pines Motel
Address: 47497 NC Highway 12, Buxton, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Buxton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cape Pines Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Pines Motel on Hatteras is in the beautiful Outer Banks of North Carolina. We are a small family owned and operated establishment, offering clean, comfortable rooms at a moderate price. Our rooms are so clean you would think your mother works here! Nestled in the heart of the quiet village of Buxton and situated in the midst of Cape Hatteras National Seashore, our guests are able to enjoy over 100 miles of clean, white sand beach as well as easy access to shopping, sightseeing, and the wide variety of activities offered by the Outer Banks, such as OBX charter fishing in the Gulf Stream, surf fishing, OBX windsurfing at Canadian Hole, board surfing, kite-surfing, swimming, birding, shelling and kite flying.Bring the whole family - we offer a complete range of accommodations from motel rooms to suites with living rooms. And there is no need to leave Fido home alone! Pets are welcome in designated rooms (advance reservations necessary), limit 2 pets per room with applicable pet fee. We look forward to welcoming you to Cape Pine Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Cape Pines Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Pines Hotel Buxton
Cape Pines Buxton
Cape Pines Motel Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing