We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful B & B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buxton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Buxton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
MA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful B & B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

My mom and I just returned from a wonderful trip to the Outer Banks with perfect accommodations at the Cape Hatteras B & B. Jed & Virginia were such inviting hosts that made us feel welcomed and pampered. The accommodations were perfect...beautiful rooms w/ all the amenities we needed (i.e., clean wine glasses every day so we could enjoy our cocktail hour). The highlight of every morning was the scrumptious breakfasts that Virginia prepared - each day a different specialty and all so delicious. And the highlight every evening were the lovely cocktails enjoyed on the "crow's nest" deck on the 2nd floor. This was a perfect spot to enjoy the sunsets, ocean views and cool breezes. I would love to return back w/ my husband to enjoy your beautiful inn once again.
Julie

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jsuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper46223, General Manager at Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Thank you Jsuth for taking the time to post a review. We are so happy you and your mother enjoyed your stay here. We look forward to seeing the rest of the family in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    24
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
27
195
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed at 4 different B&B's on the OBX during this trip. Cape Hatteras B&B was our favorite. It is run by Jed and Virginia. They were extremely helpful with all types of information about the area, always ready to please and satisfy. The breakfasts were awesome, with different selections each day. The rooms were roomy, comfortable and clean. There were bikes, beach chairs, coolers available for taking to the beach or for a ride. Coffee and tes available all day, fresh made snack each afternoon. It is very close walking distance to the beach, thought the beach is somewhat washed out at the closest access. We went to the beach by the old lighthouse, very close by, and the beach was amazing...wide, flat, beach, beautiful ocean.
We'll definitely go back when we pass through Buxton again.

Room Tip: We were in Agnes room and we had no complaints.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper46223, General Manager at Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Thank you Ray C for your positive review. We were glad you enjoyed you stay with us on your first visit to the Outer Banks. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

My wife and I have used B&B facilities extensively in the US, UK and Europe, and found Cape Hatteras B&B to be one of the very best. It was immaculately clean, freshly painted, extremely well appointed and the breakfasts nothing short of sinful. We particularly appreciated having a room essentially at ground level with a chair lift to the second floor breakfast and sitting room areas. This was a wonderful accommodation to aging legs. Jed and Virginia are a delightful couple who have taken great pains to provide for every need and to make visitors feel completely at home. We will certainly be back in the future and recommend Cape Hatteras B&B to anyone for a long or short stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in Gloria, but I feel certain every room is equally nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper46223, General Manager at Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thank you Frank R for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

Wonderful hosts, good food and clean rooms but more motel than B&B.
Big room, wall air conditioning, two chairs,TV and basic bathroom.
They provide all necessities for the beach including beach bike but still feels like a motel.
Check out the pictures and see for yourself

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scalez50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper46223, General Manager at Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Thank you scalez50 for taking the time to post a review. Virginia and I are glad you enjoyed your room and breakfast with us during your stay. Our B&B was built as a motel in the 1960's and converted into a B&B in the early 1990's. Our B&B's description on our website describes the property, it's history and transformation; http://capehatterasbandb.com/welcome-to-cape-hatteras/. So certain features such as private entrances to each room are different from typical old Victorian homes that were converted into a B&B's. We feel it is not just the building that makes a great B&B but all the extras. Our guests receive award winning customer service, chef prepared breakfasts, welcoming dining areas, porches, a deck, a beautiful living room in which to gather, local library, games, and all the extra amenities such as bikes and beach supplies. Our goal is to provide a relaxing experience with great food while just steps from the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

My husband and I chose the Cape Hatteras B&B for our first visit to the Outer Banks, and it was delightful. Yes, it's pretty, clean, and full of every amenity you could need...including beach hats, bikes, beach bags to borrow. But the best part was the breakfasts. They were among the best I've at a B and B. Virginia is an accomplished French cook, witnessed by the delicious Croque Madame, perfect Eggs Benedict and flaky, creamy quiches. I'd go back just for the food...and the friendly and accommodating inn keepers!

Room Tip: Andrew Mitch are on the second floor off the great room and the deck. I would choose one of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper46223, General Manager at Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you Sally C for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your breakfast while you stayed here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reisterstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 7 days over the Labor Day weekend. This is the perfect beach B&B as all beach equipment is provided and the beach is a short walk away. There are no crowds to contend with and warm waves to play in unlike the midAtlantic area. The hosts, Jed and Virginia, are the best! Virginia makes the best breakfast every morning. We're not generally breakfast people but they were so good we made it a point not to miss it! I'm still trying to lose the weight I gained as a result! The room was more than adequate and very clean. Finally, the upper deck is perfect to sit and relax at sunset!
Do your self a favor and stay here if in the area!!

Room Tip: All rooms are good but try to get on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandBetweenMyToes60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper46223, General Manager at Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thank you SandBetweenMyTo... for leaving a review. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here 3 nights and couldn't have asked for a better overall experience. We stayed in "Charlie" and it was clean and comfortable. Both Jed and Virginia were excellent hosts. The breakfast was amazing! We were a short walk away from the beautiful beach and have already started to plan our next trip back! Thank you for such a wonderful weekend getaway!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomasitaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper46223, General Manager at Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you TomasitaB for taking the time to post a review. We enjoyed getting to know you guys and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
2.7 mi away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
0.1 mi away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
10.2 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#6 of 11 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#10 of 11 in Hatteras Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cape Hatteras Motel
Cape Hatteras Motel
#4 of 6 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cape Pines Motel
Cape Pines Motel
#2 of 6 in Buxton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast

Property: Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast
Address: 46223 Old Lighthouse Road, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Buxton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amenities: wireless internet, fresh made breakfasts, filtered drinking water, homemade mint tea, and an afternoon snack. Relax on our sundeck with a beautiful view of the ocean, comfortable seating, and a gas grill. Enjoy using our enclosed outdoor H/C showers, lockable surfboard and sailboard storage, bicycles, beach chairs, coolers, and beach bags. Travel light and keep us in mind for quick escapes, sanity breaks, and relaxing vacations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cape Hatteras Hotel Buxton
Cape Hatteras b&b
Cape Hatteras Bed Breakfast
Cape Hatteras Bed And Breakfast Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing