We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING breakfast!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buxton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Buxton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING breakfast!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed her for a weekend for our anniversary! Loved it! Decided we were B&B people after all! The breakfast was spot on genius and great sized portions. I know one lady asked specifically for smaller portions and she was given that. Virginia really paid attention to what you said. I would wish to see the comments from 2009 and 2005 removed from this site. They do not reflect at all the experience my husband and I had and its been over 5 years so many things have changed since then. We stayed in Gilbert and that was just a wonderful room for us. It had a sort of sitting area which gave us space and a place to play cards. We had forgotten our beach chairs and didn't realize till we got our little tour they had some provided to use which was excellent! (And an umbrella!) the entire place was charming and if we both made more money we would go once a month if we could! It was worth the money and the 7 hr drive! Such a warm home feel! I can't say enough how fantastic this place is!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whitney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    24
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
27
195
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We reserved a weekend night stay because of a wedding. Virginia was so wonderful to work with and made our quick stay wonderful! The breakfast was delicious and so was the availabilty of tea and coffee during the afternoon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank April H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We absolutely loved Cape Hatteras B&B. We decided to go to the Outer Banks for "part 2" of our honeymoon and booked them about a week out. We were going to be a little late for check in and called ahead and they said they'd absolutely accommodate us. When we arrived, they pointed out areas of interest on the island and offered sun screen, beach towels, and bikes to ride as a complimentary part of our stay. The room was extremely spacious, spotlessly clean, and had every amenity we needed including wifi, a coffee maker, mini fridge, and big screen tv. My husband requested chocolate covered strawberries and wine in the room and they granted it! Breakfast in the morning was sensational - all fresh ingredients and fantastic selections. We will definitely be back, probably every year for our anniversary!

Room Tip: We loved staying in "Mitch!"
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mysteria1884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Virginia and Jed are excellent hosts. If you are ever in Hatteras, this is a must place to stay! We had a great time. They provide everything you need and then some. I know I ate too many cookies! Breakfast was always great! Thank you, Jed and Virginia!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jfstasulli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We booked last minute and were so pleased we did. A great location, beautiful decor and the friendliest and most helpful hosts. After a walk on the beach ,watching dolphins play, we tucked into a delicious breakfast, particularly the grits ! Virginia and Jed thought of everything that we could possibly need to make our stay perfect.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldsboro, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Perfect place to stay! Very friendly owners, clean, AWESOME breakfast, and had everything we needed to make it our "home" for a few days. Could not have asked for a better vacation at the Cape Hatteras Bed & Breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We were looking for a nice place to take a weekend retreat on the Outer Banks and were lucky to find Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast. A reasonable drive from the Triangle, with clean rooms and delicious food. Virginia and Jed were thoughtful and helpful. Easily accessible to the free ferry to Ocracoke for a day trip. Found early May to be a great time to visit this area - not deserted, but not too crowded, and not too many bugs! The B&B had many amenities in addition to WiFi, a refrigerator, etc. There were bikes, towels, sunscreen, bug spray, coolers, and beach chairs available for use. Wonderful trip. Thanks!

Room Tip: We stayed in Gilbert, which had a kind of sitting room separate from the bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACR0406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
2.7 mi away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
0.1 mi away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
10.2 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#6 of 11 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cape Pines Motel
Cape Pines Motel
#2 of 6 in Buxton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cape Hatteras Motel
Cape Hatteras Motel
#4 of 6 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
10.3 mi away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#4 of 5 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast

Property: Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast
Address: 46223 Old Lighthouse Road, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Buxton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amenities: wireless internet, fresh made breakfasts, filtered drinking water, homemade mint tea, and an afternoon snack. Relax on our sundeck with a beautiful view of the ocean, comfortable seating, and a gas grill. Enjoy using our enclosed outdoor H/C showers, lockable surfboard and sailboard storage, bicycles, beach chairs, coolers, and beach bags. Travel light and keep us in mind for quick escapes, sanity breaks, and relaxing vacations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cape Hatteras Hotel Buxton
Cape Hatteras b&b
Cape Hatteras Bed Breakfast
Cape Hatteras Bed And Breakfast Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing